Govt intends to stop masking NRIC numbers, says there is not 'much value in doing so'

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Should lw step down?

• Total voters

0expzainan

nowadays the army camps i been to for reservist and IPPT use gantry whereby scan the IC barcode to go into camp, so with the IC number, a malicious actor can just make the barcode and then scan to enter into army camps?

like if social media public post for those NSF/ military personnel -> note down name + camp -> bizfile search name + filter by 1st 2 digit to see age range match to get ic number if multiple ppl same name -> generate barcode -> go into camp -> profit?

kmkimlo

any tom dick and harry can buy anyone's profile with $33?

that is very strange to me.. seems like need to tighten up the process.

kleong

Damn bird language leh. If nric number not sensitive, then why membership with retail shops change from nric to mobile number? Then why some like sheng siong lucky draw change from full nric to last 4 characters? Think need to quote someone Liao

All of us will make mistakes. When a mistake is made, just come clean and say so, but don’t cover up.

hmyoth

You are free to prefer to be feeling safe when it's not safe at all.
Yes . Is just my thoughts but then again is user problem most of the time that their account are compromised. Need to use strong unique ID PW. Not something people can think of like DOB, phone number etc.

Mr BBFA

if you realise, banks or anywhere you call in they ask for the last 3 digits of your nric to verify. so anyone can call in and use your nric to verify?

tatsit

any tom dick and harry can buy anyone's profile with $33?

that is very strange to me.. seems like need to tighten up the process.
You are late to the party. MDDI is already saying nirc is no longer private.

hotamp

if they want allow NRIC to be made public then i think gov/companies need to come out with another way of identity verification, now some banks still ask ppl to verify last 5 digits of NRIC when calling in.

TopGun

Having your ID exposed already helped in the first step.
Not everyone uses facial authentication on Singpass... quite a big portion don't

maybe other pranks like the previous thread about some guy kpkb all card got cancelled while he is in japan

What I mean is that the Singpass app requires facial recognition to authenticate and set up the app. Subsequent login can be via password or biometrics.

Like it or not, our NRIC is never safe to begin with. It's has been exposed for years and there's no undoing that.

The way out is to move away from treating and using NRIC as if it's a secured way of authentication.

The way to deal with "pranks" would be for govt and companies to update the verification process.

TopGun

Yes . Is just my thoughts but then again is user problem most of the time that their account are compromised. Need to use strong unique ID PW. Not something people can think of like DOB, phone number etc.

I advocate a strong PW, not ID. Rather than trying to recall two set of information, use a strong PW with 12 characters, upper/lower case, numbers and symbols.

Even if one use DOB or phone, websites would impose an unsuccessful login attempts logo. How many times can you try?

SimpleToo

i am insure if current financial institutions still uses nric as verification method…if they are, it will be disastrous if someone impersonate…

on the other hand… is It still possible to lock others out of their SingPass by using failed login attempts?

joshwong11

income opportunity whats stopping company from selling nric no with address+ phone no data on the market now

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.