[GPGT] Baking my first loaf of bread

Lchlch

Tat's why i have less interest in making bread. Coz it takes too long to see the final product :ROFLMAO:

My current kenwood breadmaker is already 13yrs old.

Going to break down soon. If it die, we gonma juz get a dough kneading machine, instead of a bread maker. Coz we dun juz do loaf, we do diff styles of bread and we use oven to bake
Sound a good idea..

Not.banned.yet

I read not browning could be due to not enough fat. I'm using organic non-fat dry milk powder and Buttercup spread. Buttercup spread is said good for making bread like SCS butter and both having about the same total fat leh
A simple guide to butter.

Apparatus

A simple guide to butter.

I tell you what. That guy was recommending Olive oil once here in EDMW posted by someone and he recommended one that's not on the good list. I commented on that in the post.

Regarding the butter above the 3 so call high quality butter Westgold has some trans fat. Good meh? And for most French butter no indication of cholesterol and trans fat. High in saturated fat 5.xg out of 8.xg total fat for the 2 French butter

If you were to ask me my guidelines for a healthy butter should be per serving

Saturated Fat - up to 2g
Cholesterol - 0g
Trans Fat - 0g
Added Sugar - 0g
Sodium - 0mg

Some nut butter will have the above in their nutrition label

Apparatus

Just completed eating my 1st loaf of bread this morning. Now preceeding to my 2nd loaf of bread. Using less water of 190ml as advised by PRIMA

Using quick bake and expected time of completion is 1.05pm. Waiting for my perfect loaf of bread. Sibeh excited leh :D

Not.banned.yet

I tell you what. That guy was recommending Olive oil once here in EDMW posted by someone and he recommended one that's not on the good list. I commented on that in the post.

Regarding the butter above the 3 so call high quality butter Westgold has high cholesterol and some trans fat. Good meh? And for French butter no indication of cholesterol and trans fat
The debate about oil, butter, good or no good, really depend on which angle and what one believes

for me, natural food, as unhealthy as it can be, it’s natural to the body, body Shld have a better way of coping

after all, fatty oil usually more stable under heat, thus less carcinogens forming during its degradation process.

Apparatus

The debate about oil, butter, good or no good, really depend on which angle and what one believes

for me, natural food, as unhealthy as it can be, it’s natural to the body, body Shld have a better way of coping

after all, fatty oil usually more stable under heat, thus less carcinogens forming during its degradation process.

From what I found,

Dairy butter has highest saturated fat and some trans fat and cholesterol
Grass-fed butter has less of the above
Plant-based butter (aka vegan butter) needs other oil like palm/canola/sunflower/rapeseed/coconut etc + olive oil to make it feel, look and taste like dairy butter. Almost all contain traces of cholesterol and trans fat with unhealthy plant oil
Nut butter has the least of the above. You can get up to 2g saturated fat, 0g for trans fat/cholesterol/added sugar and 0mg for sodium

And not all butter is suitable for spread or baking/bread making. Some are good for spread, some for baking/bread making and others are good for both

If you do not want any butter in your bread can substitute with olive or avocado oil. Use the EVO type

The question is you want to eat healthy butter or you want a creamy, tasty butter? And the ability to do spread/baking/bread making. You can't have all from what I found

magnus

maxresdefault.jpg

yzf6lr1y3jowbgttri89.jpg

can make rainbow bread and wrap with ice cream

tmkedmw

I think wat @wongmwas trying to tell you, was that Prima brand of flour requires less water. He dun mean tat its always 100ml of water when you use Prima flour. He don't even know how much prima flour you gonna use in the 1st place.

Usu in manual bread making, we see wat size of bread we gonna make, i.e. the bread dough is how many gram, to decide how much flour we need to use. From there, then we decide what is the hydration ratio (flour vs water) we wanna use. In other words, how much water/ liquid to use.

My personal experience when using Prima flour to do sourdough bread, it don't do as well for higher hydration ratio of 70% and above.

In your quick baking recipe, it says 290g flour vs 210g water, hydration ratio is about 72%. You can try reducing the hydration ratio to about 65% to 68%. Which means using water amount of 190g to 198/200g.

Any experience with redman bread flour and prima wholegrain flour in 50:50 ratio ?

Also, any recommendations for which Japanese bread flour ( wholemeal type) ?

Thanks

desiresale

Colors just add colourings will do but to create that swirling pattern likely need manual instead of bread maker
You can use the bread maker to do the kneading. After tat layer the bread, round up, put in bread loaf pan, for final proof then bake in oven instead of bread maker.

I did mine this way. The bread maker helped a lot in the kneading, esp when incorporating the butter in. It would be a mess to knead by hand

Used sourdough starter. Added raisins and pine nuts into the loaf. Baked in a bread loaf pan with cover (so tat the top is flat)

♡ Matcha Swirl Sourdough Milk Loaf

H1rK1jj.jpeg

J3QnjLH.jpeg

fjneigY.jpeg

desiresale

Any experience with redman bread flour and prima wholegrain flour in 50:50 ratio ?

Also, any recommendations for which Japanese bread flour ( wholemeal type) ?

Thanks
I dun think the jap bread flour is wholemeal.

So far, i've used jap bread flour (unbleached) fr Tomiz, redman and bake with yen. Oso another one called Murasaki Botan

desiresale

I think so far i've not used 50:50 ratio. I'm referring to artisan sourdough making.

I've baked this sourdough loaf wif the following info.

McxDoRM.jpeg

Ingredients:

• 90% Organic Hi-Protein Bakers Flour (13% Protein)
• 10% Wholemeal flour
• 72% Water
• 2% Salt
• 1 tbsp oliver oil

Method:

• Prep levain
• Autolyse for 1.5hrs
• Add levain (levain tripled + peak at 4.5hrs)
• Add salt and oil
• 1x S&F
• 1x Bench fold
• Lamination + add inclusion
• 3x Coil fold
* Total BF = 4h 45min
• Shape
• CF for 14hrs
• Bake covered @ 230c for 32min (actual oven temp was 260c)
• Bake uncovered @ 210c for 10min

beano

Baking your own bread will save you tons of $ in the long run, especially when you buy the flour in bulk.

Apparatus

My recipe

20250310-063103.jpg

PRIMA unbleached bread flour

Bread-Flour.png

According to the below normal bread flour absorbs more water than unbleached bread flour

3. Water Absorption: Bread flour absorbs more water than unbleached flour due to its higher protein content.

Unquote

https://flavorinsider.com/14731/is-unbleached-flour-bread-flour/

I'm using PRIMA unbleached bread flour and my recipe for quick bake calls for 210ml of water which resulted in a sunken crust. Then PRIMA advised me to reduce the water to 190ml

So, if using normal bread flour the water of 210ml in my recipe should be correct, right? Any comment?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.