(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

Knightrider3K

FAQs

Where chiu buy one?
Highlander Coffee. Local distributer for Vibiemme.

-font-b-Owl-b-font-font-b-owl-b-font-font-b-traditional-b-font.jpg

Jus curious, if use this owl coffee powder or buy coffee powder from ntuc? the taste ok?

kenshinz

If you really want to purchase an espresso machine and don't wish to spend too much.

At below $1000, the best option is still Nespresso.
If you want something decent, you need at least a heat exchanger or a copper single boiler with a decent heat preserving grouphead.

Heat exchanger is more preferred if you do milk recipes too.
Most single boilers will eventually upgrade to Heat Exchangers or double boilers, so as well go straight for the prize.

You need both pressure and temperature regulated else the espresso will simply be awful.

In the long run, it's worth to get a semi professional machine if you are a regular drinker. They can outlive you by replacing just a few components every few years and are very hard to breakdown completely.

Thanks everyone for your comments, I already have a nespresso at home, and while its convenient, I do find the output "lacking" (for lack of a better description) compared to that from CSH/Highlander after a while.

Original plan for upgrading from the nespresso (before chancing upon this thread) was to hoot a Gaggia classic and a OE Lido 1 or 2.

My main concerns are:

1) space - anything that takes up much more space than a nespresso citz and aeroccino together would be a problem

2) cost - the usual :s13:

3) time - don't really have time to wait for the machine get up to temperature in the morning, that means I only get to make coffee on weekends and essentially the machine will probably be used to make 4-6 cups of coffee max a week

The_King

my death wish coffee bean arrival today

20140320_IMG_0760_zps77800d10.jpg

20140320_IMG_0757_zps3e35c8e9.jpg

20140320_IMG_0759_zpsfb6118c3.jpg

surprisingly it not bitter at all, instead my first slip, it was deep, rich and the intensity, the complex notes the smoothness.

in short, I love it.

sorry picture a bit blur, wanted to take again, but it taste so good i did not care to take another picture, instead i drink 3 shot. but the caffeine does nothing to me. maybe cause i a coffee drinker .

relacker

surprisingly it not bitter at all, instead my first slip, it was deep, rich and the intensity, the complex notes the smoothness.

in short, I love it.

sorry picture a bit blur, wanted to take again, but it taste so good i did not care to take another picture, instead i drink 3 shot. but the caffeine does nothing to me. maybe cause i a coffee drinker .

wah la pavoni europiccola , mai siao siao

Lazy_Tiger

Heh heh not so fast...after tonight then talk. See whether can sleep or not...

chikyblink

Thanks everyone for your comments, I already have a nespresso at home, and while its convenient, I do find the output "lacking" (for lack of a better description) compared to that from CSH/Highlander after a while.

Original plan for upgrading from the nespresso (before chancing upon this thread) was to hoot a Gaggia classic and a OE Lido 1 or 2.

My main concerns are:

1) space - anything that takes up much more space than a nespresso citz and aeroccino together would be a problem

3) time - don't really have time to wait for the machine get up to temperature in the morning, that means I only get to make coffee on weekends and essentially the machine will probably be used to make 4-6 cups of coffee max a week

Your original plan was actually very viable. I suggest seriously looking into it rather than the Little Guy. The Pharos would be better for espresso though.

As for the time issue, I suggest getting a digital timer plug. I got something like this. Qoo10 - Energy Saving Timer Programmable Electronic Timer Socket Digital Timer... : Home Electronics
I set my machine to turn on 1hr b4 i wake up.

derazor

My main concerns are:

1) confirm need more space, for i.e just check the footprint of a gaggia classic and a grinder and besides this you need also a workspace. Nespresso you don't need one.

2) you know

3) of course you need more time. for me I already got used to it, wake up 30 more mins to eat my BF and drink my espresso at home, save $ and eat better food rather than always go to kpt or hooker center.

derazor

in short, I love it.

how much is the shipping? next time if you're importing maybe can SiC with us, we can chip in to reduce shipping costs.

Lazy_Tiger

My main concerns are:

I think a Pharos might be more forgiving for espresso. 68mm conical. Large burr users claim it's easier to dial in large conical burr. I dunno if orphan espresso is still making them but I'm sure pre orders will be snapped up quickly. Seems good value for money.

I survived on a Silvia for years and thoroughly enjoyed my drinks. Just have to make extra effort to be more careful and precise when brewing.

IntelFlash

I just played with my Expobar Brewtus PID, really has a notable difference by tuning 3 degrees down.

Previously the Javanese bean taste a little too bitter, i lowered 3 degrees down. It remains thick yet not bitter, very balanced and smooth. Very woody and nutty. After drinking, the buttery and honey aroma remains in my mouth for some time.

I lowered it even lower to just 82 degrees, and it comes out the aroma of graphfruit. I think that's the aroma from the coffee cherry. It's even less bitter but a little more sour.

The cheap pack of Javanese beans i bought from JB ytd now taste much better than those i bought from the local "Specialty cafes".

Lazy_Tiger

I just played with my Expobar Brewtus PID, really has a notable difference by tuning 3 degrees down.

Previously the Javanese bean taste a little too bitter, i lowered 3 degrees down. It remains thick yet not bitter, very balanced and smooth. Very woody and nutty. After drinking, the buttery and honey aroma remains in my mouth for some time.

I lowered it even lower to just 82 degrees, and it comes out the aroma of graphfruit. I think that's the aroma from the coffee cherry. It's even less bitter but a little more sour.

The cheap pack of Javanese beans i bought from JB ytd now taste much better than those i bought from the local "Specialty cafes".

Yes I use my vbm db pid when I want to fine tune. Updosing, down dosing, adjusting grind size, pulling ristretto, normale or lungo, start dump, centre cut are all ways to fine tune the drink but more leh Cheh compared to just pressing buttons on the pid. Good buy on your brewtus.

If u think it's too intense then can try to down dose and grind finer. If too bitter then updose and grind coarser and cut the shot early.

Heh...I think u need to do more experimenting with beans from local speciality cafés....not all are good (or rather suitable to ones own palate) but most are actually very similar to what is sold in renowned cafés overseas and they do get a good crop.

derazor

currrently using the stocked 14g rancilio silvia basket, friend loaned me his 18g ridgeless?

What is the expectation of this VST?

Normally I measure 15g for my 14g basket, should I measure 20g for the 18g VST? *The additional 2g is for the coffee stucked at the chute?*

Lazy_Tiger

currrently using the stocked 14g rancilio silvia basket, friend loaned me his 18g ridgeless?

What is the expectation of this VST?

Normally I measure 15g for my 14g basket, should I measure 20g for the 18g VST? *The additional 2g is for the coffee stucked at the chute?*

I might be a bit rusty on this but the Vst is designed to get about 20% extraction yield when used properly ie 18g dose in 18g basket, brew ratio of between 1.5 - 2. Some coffee experts Scott rao, James Hoffman and the vst maker himself and a lot of other 3rd wave coffee people think that 19-20% extraction yield is "usually" able to get the best bits out of the bean. While I have not heard of any experiments conducted to verify the claim, these coffee guys claim to have done many informal experiments of their own to support this claim.

Generally not a good idea to put more than the specified amount In the vst because it will lead to under extraction.

Vst not easy to pull. Your distribution have to be good, and tamp must be level. I weigh the dosed basket after grinding to ensure the weight is correct before tamping. One interesting thing I find about the vst is that if you observe the extraction from the bottomless portafiler you can see an almost instantaneous point where suddenly most parts of extraction will suddenly go "transparent". This usually happens at the 25-30 sec mark for normale and just slightly longer for espresso. U can try to separately collect this transparentnish bit to see if u want it In your brew. I have I have found it to be unpleasantly bitter so I usually cut my shot before that.

Another interesting fact is that Originally the designer wanted the different sized vst baskets to be able to use 1 common grind size so that they baskets can be easily interchanged on the fly at cafe without having to change the grinder setting. Apparently he didn't manage to do it. From my own personally testing. 15 and 18g baskets do not need to change grind setting, extraction time and weight is the same. 22g need to grind coarser.

Another advantage is that many 3rd wave cafés use then too and will give u recommended brewing parameters based on the vst baskets.

Have fun and good luck.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.