(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

Lazy_Tiger

pure porn for coffee pple. :o

start @ 1.12min

good crema there. sad to see some so-call coffee house...that run fast watery extraction. :(

nice...i think the preinfusion helps with the extraction to allow for the puck to swell evenly before the full pump pressure is applied.

Lazy_Tiger

[/IMG]

Heh heh one more shot for the night. The level of crema is much less compared to one week ago but still excellent stuff. A good daily blend, acidity is there but tamed and well integrated with the chocolaty flavours of the espresso. The slight floral note is still there and add some character to the blend. There is almost no ashy or burnt toast notes that I get with some heavier roasted blends.

My next purchase will be some black cat or hairbender or some full city+ style roast. Have to figure out how does comgateway works first.....

kenshinz

Hmm I don't think I will consider Gaggia.
Sure not easy nor reliable to use.
I suspect the breakdown rate is high cause people smash it on the floor after frustration.

Expobar Pulsar which is a commercial heat exchanger with pre infusion at $1398 plus Bezzera on demand grinder $499. Total $18xx.

Compare Silva which is a simple home single boiler.
Silva. Plus on demand grinder rocky $1600.

I will choose heat exchanger.

Bro where you find the Pulsar at $1398? unwanted's MO is selling at $1598. I'm actually considering the Leva EB61 IF I'm getting the Expobar as it seems a better model overall for an extra $200.

derazor

[/IMG]

Heh heh one more shot for the night. The level of crema is much less compared to one week ago but still excellent stuff. A good daily blend, acidity is there but tamed and well integrated with the chocolaty flavours of the espresso. The slight floral note is still there and add some character to the blend. There is almost no ashy or burnt toast notes that I get with some heavier roasted blends.

My next purchase will be some black cat or hairbender or some full city+ style roast. Have to figure out how does comgateway works first.....

Always have problem defining floral. Most of the time I can only taste sour and bitterness. Is it the same as Hifi? You can listen to the airiness but some ppl can't? sorry for the poor analogy.

CGW better not use, got security issue.

derazor

Bro where you find the Pulsar at $1398? unwanted's MO is selling at $1598. I'm actually considering the Leva EB61 IF I'm getting the Expobar as it seems a better model overall for an extra $200.

Bro already budget the grinder hor?

kenshinz

Bro already budget the grinder hor?

Yup, shortlisted the following in no particular order:

1) Bezzera BB05
2) Baratza Preciso
3) Lelit PL53

As for my space concern, I'm thinking of getting those standalone kitchen island from ikea and placing everything on it, the shelves below can store the rest of the kopi "gei si". Told my wife if can make decent coffee and I lose my job, just need to mount a tentage on the kitchen island then can push to my HDB corridor and start peddling coffee :s13:

Lazy_Tiger

you can do some research to see if the pulsar has some sort of preinfusion. while the group head looks like a e61 it seems lack the preinfusion chamber to see in the leva.

COming from a silvia i think preinfusion machines are more forgiving.

IntelFlash

Pulsar $1398
Control $1598

If you not getting the Bezzera grinder, maybe i tompang i take.

EB61 got the E61 grouphead, and pressure gauge.
I remember i saw one video saying the construction is very solid, metal very thick, until the person cannot resist and gave the machine a punch. haha

Don't know where i saw it.

Lazy_Tiger

Always have problem defining floral. Most of the time I can only taste sour and bitterness. Is it the same as Hifi? You can listen to the airiness but some ppl can't? sorry for the poor analogy.

floral is aroma rather than taste.:)

If it smells like flowers to you (on top of the usual coffee smell) then it has a floral aroma.

Sumatran coffees are herbacous (note: "herb", not plant-like).

ethiopians are generally floral too, brazilians are not that highly aromatic but are often used to add body and chocolatyness to a blend. (Brazilians used to be very poorly regarded as they were a mass producer more than anything else. This is now changing)

All this is generally speaking and there are easily exceptions to the various regions...while I can easily smell something as being floral, ozonic, herbaceous, fruity, leathery, etc I'm not that good at picking out different "notes" eg. violets vs frangipani vs rose vs lily of the valley ......or strawberrys vs lemons vs limes vs oranges vs grape. Maybe I don't have the olfactory vocabulary or maybe coffee is just too complex, we pick up different notes during different nosings or have different interpretations.

some other flavour descriptors are actually interactions between taste (sweet, sour, bitter), aroma (floral, fruity) and mouthfeel (viscous, runny, oily, effervescent). So flavour descriptors like chocolaty or winey do not describe only taste but aroma (A combination of aromas) and mouthfeel as well.

I think illy has a book talking about this. can check it out to expand coffee appreciation knowledge...

*disclaimer, i'm no expert or have any formal training. Just sharing some ideas i picked up while doing this as a hobby.

Lazy_Tiger

1) Bezzera BB05
2) Baratza Preciso
3) Lelit PL53

As for my space concern, I'm thinking of getting those standalone kitchen island from ikea and placing everything on it, the shelves below can store the rest of the kopi "gei si". Told my wife if can make decent coffee and I lose my job, just need to mount a tentage on the kitchen island then can push to my HDB corridor and start peddling coffee :s13:

if no rush why not consider a pharos? large conical burr and good work out.

calbay

Sour and bitter with lack of aroma.
What i can think of is the coffee had oxidised and/or under extracted over too high temperature.

Floral notes are the first to disintegrate from high temperature and oxidation.
The high temperature could be from the roasting or brewing.

Thus saying that, when i go around looking at those packaging stating they have floral or fruity notes but dark roasted in a single shade.
I know they are trying to be humorous or kidding me.

derazor

1) Bezzera BB05
2) Baratza Preciso
3) Lelit PL53

Throw in Baratza Vario or my Macap MC4 inside :)
The Macap is stepless

Lazy_Tiger

1) Bezzera BB05
2) Baratza Preciso
3) Lelit PL53

just a suggestion, its quite helpful if your machine is near a sink, esp if you make multiple shots. Not too close or water will splash but near enough to be convenient to quickly wash or dump stuff.

EatSnakeWarrior

Saw a rocket giotto evoluzione at Dutch Colony Coffee

But owner said its not as good as a simonelli or a gaggia.... any inputs here?

calbay

1) Bezzera BB05
2) Baratza Preciso
3) Lelit PL53

I think you can take the Lelit PL53 off the list. It's running on 38mm burr, 150W i think around 1500 rpm, too fast and overheating.

Bezzera is similar to the popular Rancilio Rocky, with an upgraded 48mm conic burr, instead of 50mm flat burr.
Has a timer and a sleeker metal chassis. You use the portafilter to push the button to feed, easier.

Baratza Preciso is 40mm but grinds slower. I think it's a stepless setting. I'm not sure how useful is it for you, but i think you will spend more time in using and figuring out this grinder. User has to press the button to feed.

Baratza is made in Taiwan, Bezzera and Lelit i think in Italy.

If you don't mind waking earlier to do your coffee, you can consider those hand wound grinders. But oxidation will be more prominent, unless you do a lot of preparation work.

Get something with local support.

derazor

just a suggestion, its quite helpful if your machine is near a sink, esp if you make multiple shots. Not too close or water will splash but near enough to be convenient to quickly wash or dump stuff.

Good and Bad also :)

Wetness is the enemy of coffee powder

calbay

Saw a rocket giotto evoluzione at Dutch Colony Coffee

But owner said its not as good as a simonelli or a gaggia.... any inputs here?

I think he is talking about commercial machines.

Gaggia only has manual machines or commercial automatic machines.
I can't figure out how the manual can possibly be better than the a proven and tested commercial E61 which has better pressure and temperature stability.

Simonelli are mostly commercials, and automatics.
Thus i believe, he is probably saying he likes to use automatics. Matter of preference.

EatSnakeWarrior

I think he is talking about commercial machines.

Gaggia only has manual machines or commercial automatic machines.
I can't figure out how the manual can possibly be better than the a proven and tested commercial E61 which has better pressure and temperature stability.

Simonelli are mostly commercials, and automatics.
Thus i believe, he is probably saying he likes to use automatics. Matter of preference.

Oh. But its hard to get Rocket in Singapore, no?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.