[GPGT] Moi house going thru HIP, life without a toilet ish hard! :(

1.koln

We selected package B for the toilet tiles' colour: (Image taken from Google search);

IMO, the toilet looks a lot brighter due to the white wall tiles.

Toilet-Upgrading.ashx
White surfaces reflect more light than dark ones

Somemore this one like glossy finish also

Apparatus

How do you all boil water at home? I see that one cannot turn on gas because it's being sealed off from dust. Electricity and water also kena cut off.

ichinisan

We selected package B for the toilet tiles' colour: (Image taken from Google search);

IMO, the toilet looks a lot brighter due to the white wall tiles.

Toilet-Upgrading.ashx

Good choice. Got the marble feels and looks beautiful.

for DB box replacement/upgrade is it optional?
did the contractor ask if you would like to replace or you told them no need?
For mine, they did not ask
I didn't even know it was an option until I went around my neighbours houses to kaypoh or talked to neighbours

So I asked the contractor to change for me. Not subsidised.
It's best to change

Also, many things u can do if u know which worker to approach.
Different workers (I think from different sub contractor companies) do different jobs. Some hacking, some tiling, some electrical, some painting, some ceiling plastering etc....

So when I saw the one doing electrical, I pulled him aside to ask him help me remove my old light in my storeroom and install a new one so I can use a diff type of bulb. Then tell him come when he is free. Gave him my number. Discuss the price privately. Maybe $20 enough liao.
And then the one who did my ceiling spelling, I asked him to do my balcony one. Also private settle.

But diff estates use diff companies. So u see diff workers who may have diff workers and/or prices.

Some openly asked me for kopi lui so they can do a better job. Some solicit me for jobs around the house. Dunno how they found my number. They offered to paint my whole house.

Many things possible. Just keep an eye out.

Tip: buy your own preferred basin and taps if you can afford it. Theirs look ugly.

jialat my DB box insai my kitchen cabinet
open door can access, hope they won't hack my cabinet 😭

Yes. Need to change the wires leading to the DB from outside the house

Mine is also behind the door, and inside my shoe cabinet.

So they managed to cut the back panel of my cabinet (its a thin layer) and avoided hacking my entire cabinet.

Then can change the wire and new DB box.

After that, a thin strip of corner was still at the back of the cabinet. Then I measured the hole, measured where the box is.... draw with measurements swee swee.... I went to a famous carpentry shop to get them to make me a new wooden panel to cover up the hole that they hack
Very cheap only

My tip for everyone:

It's very useful during HIP to go around and make friends with your neighbours, chat and ask those who have completed and ask to take a look what they did or change or do anything extra. Ask for tips
Cos when I did mine, there were some that I didn't know or was not offered by the HIP package. Like changing the DB box.

Another thing, I went to office to change my mind to opt for the SS pipe joints instead of the copper ones. Had to pay extra. It was stated.
But when my neighbour asked the workers to do it, they changed for him without asking for payment. Maybe they lazy and didn't tell their bosses to process at the office below or forgot.

Another tip:
Go downstairs where they store all their extra stuff. You'll see new or open toilet cistern or floor and wall tiles.
I quietly took many floor and wall tiles to keep. Cos you'll never know down the road you need some to replace if you cracked some tiles accidentally or for replacing some installations

Medicated Oil

All the best, bro! Please update us. Moi HIP coming soon too. I am worried coz I have cat and dog and some other small animals....no idea what to do.....🤔
You need to move your pets to some temp location.
The human movement, dust and noise will affect the mental state of your pets.

sunnyisandsingapore

You need to move your pets to some temp location.
The human movement, dust and noise will affect the mental state of your pets.
Thanks for the advice.

while I don't know where to move them, I will look into it. Was planning to lock them in the study room and bed room. Because shifting them to an unfamiliar place might frighten them.

Medicated Oil

Thanks for the advice.

while I don't know where to move them, I will look into it. Was planning to lock them in the study room and bed room. Because shifting them to an unfamiliar place might frighten them.
I dunno what other pets you have beside your cats and dogs.
The huge knocking noise and amount of dust generated on the 1st few days will not be good for them.
Unfortunately, the knocking can carry on with your adjacent units the next few days.
Maybe you can get some of your friends to be their nanny.
Or move to your relative's house if you are planning to stay with them for 2 weeks.

sunnyisandsingapore

I dunno what other pets you have beside your cats and dogs.
The huge knocking noise and amount of dust generated on the 1st few days will not be good for them.
Unfortunately, the knocking can carry on with your adjacent units the next few days.
Maybe you can get some of your friends to be their nanny.
Or move to your relative's house if you are planning to stay with them for 2 weeks.

Thank you, I appreciate your recommendation. Will start to plan this November.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.