Msi MAG24C 144hz 1080p monitor
RTX 2060 good enough for u

-Synchronicity-

Hi all bro and sis,

Thinking of upgrading my gpu to either Rtx 2060 or 2070

but not sure which is more worth it in my case, pls kindly

give me some advice. Thanks

Literally fit your PC case or your use case? If the latter, please let us know what games you playing and at what resolution and expected graph5 levels.

Pokerr

Mybad, im mostly playing fps shooters like Apex legends, overwatch and rainbiw six.
Also some open world AAA titles. Normally playing with everything low on shooter and high detail
In single players. Monitor is 1080p

SGTechGamer81

I might upgrade to 1440p in the near future. Thats why im wondering if 2060 will
withstand the upgrade better.

If you're keeping the cpu and going to 1440p I'd recommend the zotac RTX 2060 mini twin fan 6gb.it should do fine as 60fps 1440p if you want higher fps then 60fps.
Sapphire Radeon vii 16gb or Zotac RTX 2080 Twin fan 8gb (for price to performance)

Pokerr

If you're keeping the cpu and going to 1440p I'd recommend the zotac RTX 2060 mini twin fan 6gb.it should do fine as 60fps 1440p if you want higher fps then 60fps.
Sapphire Radeon vii 16gb or Zotac RTX 2080 Twin fan 8gb (for price to performance)

Thanks bro, seeing that you uses vega 56, how is it? Do i have to down volt like
what the internet says? Cause in really not into tinkering with overclocking these sort
of stuff.

narkizy

I might upgrade to 1440p in the near future. Thats why im wondering if 2060 will
withstand the upgrade better.

2060 is not a high-max settings 1440p card. Its a max settings 1080p card. You wont be playing at 60fps 1440p on AAA games with a 2060 within 1-2 years, guranteed.

Go google RTX 2060 benchmarks and see for yourself: https://techgage.com/article/nvidia-geforce-rtx-2060-1080p-1440p-gaming-performance/

The RTX 2060 just barely breaks 60FPS on recent-old AAA games. Gurantee you new/upcoming games will push it hard, below 60fps.

-Synchronicity-

If in the future you upgrade to 1440p, maybe change your gpu then? Chances are, the next gen gpu would be out and you should get better price to performance then.

Unless you confirm chop upgrading within the next 2 years or so.

narkizy

If in the future you upgrade to 1440p, maybe change your gpu then? Chances are, the next gen gpu would be out and you should get better price to performance then.

Unless you confirm chop upgrading within the next 2 years or so.

Not worth the expenditure imo. Better to buy to futureproof. Hence my suggestion to NOT go with a 2060 for 1440p gaming. The 2070 or even a GTX 1080 can easily outlast the 2060 by 1 year or more in sustaining 60 fps at 1440p AAA gaming.

-Synchronicity-

Oh really?

Let's look at some numbers today. Shall use previous gen (10 series) as that's the most recent gen with a replacing gen(the rtx and 16 series) and assuming user is fine 1080p 60fps which was quite the norm in 2016 for mainstream

The 1070 allows you to play 1080p at 144fps/1440p 60fps at around 600 bucks when it was first launched(comparable to gtx 980ti btw)

The 1060 6gb allows you to play 1080p at 60fps at around 400 bucks.

Let's say the 1060 user now wants to upgrade to 1440p 60fps, the comparable gpu would be the 1660 which is currently at around 350-ish. So if you compare, 350 + 400 = 750 vs 600

The 150 can be easily made up for by selling the old 1060 6gb.

The above will obviously happen again for the next gen gpu when it releases. This is true throughout the GPU history.

Hence why it's usually recommended to buy either the best of what you can afford so you can skip a gen or buy just what you need as the new gen gpu would probably come up with something to meet your needs. That is also why there's no such thing as true future proofing for IT parts.

This is why I'm recommending ts to choose the cheaper option now as the upgrade to monitor has not been confirmed. If ts is sure that the upgrade will come before next gen release which is in about 2-3 years time, then sure going your route makes more sense. But if can't commit, the cheaper option makes more sense.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
1060 to 2060 or 2070, don't bother. Save your money for 3XXX series.

xtractor

Siao liao, cannot make up my mind liao. San xin liang yi liao

when is ur in near future that u are going to upgrade ur monitor?

why cannot make up ur mind?
want better performance buy expensive card rtx2080ti
want mid performance buy mid range card rtx 2080/rtx 2070
want least performance buy least expensive card rtx 2060
the only problem here is $$ do u willing to spend it?
if not until cpf come out oso u keep thinking u dont know which one worth ur money spend:s22::s13:
buy and cherish the part and performance thats it

wait scared people say waste a lot of money
wait AMD is better than Nvidia card
wait for next generation card to released
wait card not par with performance
wait cpf come out:s13::s13::D:D

Tan Gee Ming

when is ur in near future that u are going to upgrade ur monitor?

why cannot make up ur mind?
want better performance buy expensive card rtx2080ti
want mid performance buy mid range card rtx 2080/rtx 2070
want least performance buy least expensive card rtx 2060
the only problem here is $$ do u willing to spend it?
if not until cpf come out oso u keep thinking u dont know which one worth ur money spend:s22::s13:
buy and cherish the part and performance thats it

wait scared people say waste a lot of money
wait AMD is better than Nvidia card
wait for next generation card to released
wait card not par with performance
wait cpf come out:s13::s13::D:D

wait for toto ticket number to come out 1st prize. haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.