Grace Fu: "I always think that if you're prepared to pay S$18 or S$20 for a pasta, why are you not prepared to pay S$5 for wonton mee?"

0nePunchm@n

Hawker is this type ok..! Don't so stupid n go compare with angmoh glamorous food lifestyle!!

Late 1960s to 1980s – The first hawker centres​

After Singapore’s independence in 1965, along with the move to turn Singapore into the region’s business hub, the work of licensing hawkers and relocating them into more organised spaces picked up momentum. In 1968 and 1969, the government conducted an islandwide registration of street hawkers, issuing temporary licenses and moving them into back lanes, car parks, and vacant plots of land.

Street hawkers at Trengganu Street

hctawsgs

Why voters are prepared to select a bunch of incompetent & treacherous fools with million $ salaries into gov, when they can vote for competent and singaporean-centric opposition lawmakers at a fraction of the cost?

Tloslm

Wrong logic from Grace.

Pasta is not everyday food. Maybe to Grace it is her everyday food.

mata_hippo

wow she rly high up there

assume everyone prepared to pay $18-20 for pasta...

does that mean those not prepared to pay $18-20 pasta can have cheaper wanton noodles below $5?

sAVaGEmP5

Not really. I know hawker rental have been capped but not the cost of goods and supply chain neither cap on increases.

to not have unintended effect which is why subsidies on supply chain instead of cdc
And why do u think supplies prices hard to cap n limit, and why cdc got a limited effect, can only apply to households n not business ?

No need to reply here, u can get your answers.

Oh ya, n find out the data for hawker center across all sinkies/residents/citizens, same thing, u get ur answers.

appleorange_

where r those who wants to earn more money but also wants hawkers to charge $3 per meal

'only i can up pay, hawkers cannot cos i provide more vAlUe to society'

nasfieldjohn

million dollar minstar stayed in ivory tower and their landlord kakis eat restaurant daily mah

English Teacher

Hawkers

please band together and charge $10 per meal for non aircon

food court $15

people are willing to pay

tuckloong

Aiyo after reading through all these...make lang wanna go get multiple PhDs to survive in EDMW liao :p

Me 5 cent after reading this

We are at the crossroad where its actually more important to ensure the $5 wanton mee survive rather than the $18 pasta....if we lost out all the choices and left with $18/20 Pasta....its really really hard for everyone liao....not just those lower to middle income Singaporeans...

Now all the post grads and PhDs must come together and come out with ideas here how to make sure we have $5 Wonton mee?

McGraw

20 dollars pasta make sure there's a big slab of chicken chop on top

pizza235

This fool thought it is the same ppl eating $20 pasta complaining about wtm price

most of those who eat at hawker seldom go restaurant

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.