Gt 640 3gb

WillieTan

I hear about the specs.. I nua alr.. Can't blame a layman but I am not v please about those overzealous salesman.. Maybe I shld pay that guy a visit and thrashtalk him

WillieTan

I think my gf might be happy about all these.. Now I'm just gonna stick to Dota2.. Lesser games = more time with her.. Conspiracy la..

MoneyFace =p

Omg! Didnt realize it was so bad till I read the comments here. Oh well! :( should have done more research before buying! :(

Willie Tan's gf
Nah it's alright maybe this could be a good lesson for you and good info for your gal cliques who are also keen to choose gaming PC for their bfs. :o

MoneyFace =p

Looking at the brochure.. I wonder which hardware part is the "Liquid Cooling System" on the $1499 model going to cool... :s22:

hp-it-show-flyers-2.jpg

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
It's cooling the cpu only. Using a OEM AIO cooler with vent.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Planned to DIY a desktop for surfing n casual gaming but gf went to buy a hp desktop at $1500!! (inclusive of a samsung monitor) Not aware bout exact specs but it is roughly as follows

Intel i5 (exact model unsure)
8gb ram
NvdiA gt640
E rest not critical..

I know it's more expensive den DIY n all.. But she bought alr...
Main game I play is Dota 2 and I know it is well overkill for dota 2.. But anyone knows if e gfx can support battlefield 3? If can't play bf3 well... Really a waste of money

You can throw the warranty away by cutting the warranty seal or if you could, try to remove the warranty seal carefully and keep it somewhere. Screw out the side pattern, take out that horrible GT640 and replace it with a more powerful card like GTX660 or something. IIRC, the PSU is a 500W or so, i can't remember, but the 1380d i had, had no problem on a GTX670.

Oh by the way, if you swap anything and your PC refuse to boot up... no scare... you didn't damage anything... just go into bios and disable their secure boot, and you are good to go. :)

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
The specs are all crapped up. Anyhow de.

PCs like these have horrible specs... not just on HP. One thing they can offer is warranty and support and nothing else.

Of cos, there are markets for DiY and Pre-configuration setup like this, so people will still buy this, hundreds and millions of them. It is still a bigger market than DiY.

BlitzStryker

I hear about the specs.. I nua alr.. Can't blame a layman but I am not v please about those overzealous salesman.. Maybe I shld pay that guy a visit and thrashtalk him

If my gf did smth like this,I sure sian but after that will be v grateful cos she buying this for me as a gift,esp yours is $1.5k gift leh :s13:

I believe your gf shd done her hwk and do some research ard,my gf also choose things everything also wan to make sure its good and ok,even for those cheap items.

So I believe your gf shd have done tons of research when getting such an expensive gift. But sometimes,IT stuffs not that easy to understand for those layman.

Even for those enthu abt IT stuffs,it takes many months to know sufficient knowledge abt it,needless to mention the weeks or days that your gf have. Plus IT stuffs are like another alien planet to girls. Same as how masacra blushers and etc is to guys.

If want blame,blame it on the saleman. Cfm he smoke and say gaming pc,can game v well. He also wanna earn commission and make a living. Wont honestly tell your gf this com suck,go for DIY better or the card cant game or etc haha.

Anyway that card can play dota 2, dun worry :s13:

If not secretly change the card. Dun let her know,cos ltr she knows you dun like the gift,she will feel even more guilty. Just enjoy the rig and feel the love for your gf,not the rig! :s13:

WillieTan

Exactly. Haha anyway gt640 3gb shld be able to run battlefield on medium settings.. Not like I am going to play crysis 2 or something so gfx intensive haha..

WillieTan

I should have just seeked help here before buying..you guys are genius in this area. Will just take it as a lesson learned this time round! Hopefully my bf will be able to make full use it though. Haha anyway thanks guys for all the knowledgeable advices given! Much appreciated :)

Willie Tan's gf

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
And WD also. :crazy:

But their SSDs are Micron and Intel. Heng.

watzup_ken

Prob is most manufacturers will like to inflate the specs to make it look better. By including more memory, there is a good chance that people will take it as a better product. But as in any advice, best to do some homework before buying anything. ;)

watzup_ken

The specs are all crapped up. Anyhow de.

That's normal bro. Most pre-assembled PC segregate the markets. Most people will buy coms south of 1.5K typically. And those com in this price segment will have reasonable processor, but specs like graphic card tend to be low end. That's where for example Dell, will try to sell you their ultra overpriced Alienware. :s13:

Ark Law

That's normal bro. Most pre-assembled PC segregate the markets. Most people will buy coms south of 1.5K typically. And those com in this price segment will have reasonable processor, but specs like graphic card tend to be low end. That's where for example Dell, will try to sell you their ultra overpriced Alienware. :s13:

Some charts I did about a month ago
17fuxw.jpg

2n99u6f.jpg

coyote

Just swap out the GT640 with something more powerful without telling her. Then show to your girl friend how much you are enjoying the gift she gave you.

Btw, any more such girlfriend to recommend?

rarenick

Cannot compare apple to orange. We are talking about products for noobs vs geeks. Those with knowledge n skills of cos get an upper hand. Those who dunno have to pay more lor. That's how the brands sell you their service in terms of putting everything into the pc including software n onsite service.

Later the noobs pcs go bonker, will curse n swear that they got cheated by repair man, own self dunno how to troubleshoot thus waste time, or their geek friend ignored them when they need help. Then they regretted buying DIY.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.