Guaranteed vs. Non-Guaranteed COE

batniss

Just to share some recent experience. Deposit made to Tan Chong for 8 bids non guaranteed, COE rebate at 29k during Motorshow on 11 Jan. AD successfully got my 35k COE on 22 Jan (dropped by maybe $300 from earlier round). Collected my car on 1 Feb. This is my first new car purchase. The whole process was rather smooth.

Not one, not two but 8!!?

ke3bbs

Does that mean we can negotiate the COE rebate price with the AD?

So if it is Non-guaranteed COE, the total price and COE rebate price will be lower?

giraffey

Does that mean we can negotiate the COE rebate price with the AD?

So if it is Non-guaranteed COE, the total price and COE rebate price will be lower?

Guarantee means you will definitely get the coe by the last committed bid regardless of the cow price. In non-guaranteed, it is possible you might not get it. But, it is rare you wont get it as dealers want to clear the stock

myviowner

Guarantee means you will definitely get the coe by the last committed bid regardless of the cow price. In non-guaranteed, it is possible you might not get it. But, it is rare you wont get it as dealers want to clear the stock

Yes you are correct about the guarantee. Let me add that some PI will churn pattern on this.

To safe guard we the buyer, get them to commit a guarantee with a due date.

ke3bbs

Yes you are correct about the guarantee. Let me add that some PI will churn pattern on this.

To safe guard we the buyer, get them to commit a guarantee with a due date.
Thanks. But can the customer ask for a higher COE rebate amount if we go by guaranteed?

myviowner

Thanks. But can the customer ask for a higher COE rebate amount if we go by guaranteed?

You can try. Personally, i would ask for discount on the final car prices and squeeze them for more freebies or servicing or warranty or upgrades certain freebies like cams, solar films or 3M car mat, or better still 9H coatings.

Don't need to be paiseh or wat with the SE de... Detail down what you want, give SE the list.

Cheers and good luck!

ke3bbs

Thanks. So normally the retail price list in AD is go by non-guaranteed COE prices?

Sorry first time getting a car and have many questions.

terence2112

Thanks. So normally the retail price list in AD is go by non-guaranteed COE prices?

Yes, unless otherwise specifically stated or they having promo. Case in point would be Kia and Mazda, where they will tell you to TOP up 2k for 6 bid guaranteed COE.

Just to share, when I got my car last year. I opted for non guaranteed and I didn’t get it and I had to TOP up.
Let’s just say my AD is AG.

giraffey

Yes. You can also negotiate to get the guaranteed with no topup or ask for more freebies like more servicing with the topup.

myviowner

I guessed you have not visited any AD showroom ya? Usually, they will hand you a price list then explain in details on pricing for g.coe and nc coe.

stylechap

Not everywhere sells such guaranteed coe package.

The more premium brand fineprint states non-guaranteed but most likely you get it on upcoming bid

bh10101

perhaps you would like to visit the car showroom to get more details.

any first time buyer will definitely go down to ask the car sales executives.. :s12::s12:

ke3bbs

perhaps you would like to visit the car showroom to get more details.

any first time buyer will definitely go down to ask the car sales executives.. :s12::s12:

Yea definitely will go visit the showroom with the lower COE now..will want to get some answers to prevent getting chopped in their own backyard.:s13:

zerotoone

always nego for guaranteed and no top up

kenna burnt once when the person say no need top up for guarantee, they sure will get for me by 4 tries.

knn... failed first 4 tries, ask me want top up or not, i say no, failed all 8 tries. end up refund the deposit. like lending them 10k interest free.

myviowner

kenna burnt once when the person say no need top up for guarantee, they sure will get for me by 4 tries.

knn... failed first 4 tries, ask me want top up or not, i say no, failed all 8 tries. end up refund the deposit. like lending them 10k interest free.

You are one patience customer sia. Hopes you had since gotten your dream ride.:D

ke3bbs

But why would they fail 8 times actually? I can't seem to understand...

I thought they factor the COE fluctuating prices in the selling price already....

belgarathc

Appears like I was lucky to get it at first try from Tan Chong but maybe because it is because COE actually dropped by a couple of hundred bucks? At the Motorshow, Kah Motors was even willing to give me Guaranteed COE. This Hyundai SE told me he never seen beyond 3 bids for his sales.

lousydk

Appears like I was lucky to get it at first try from Tan Chong but maybe because it is because COE actually dropped by a couple of hundred bucks? At the Motorshow, Kah Motors was even willing to give me Guaranteed COE. This Hyundai SE told me he never seen beyond 3 bids for his sales.
Normally they will try to get for you if possible de
Got money to earn by closing a sale why would they not want it.

I bought when Coe price was 39k and went for 6 bids non-guaranteed. The 1st bid failed and Coe went up by 4k.
Got it during 2nd bid when Coe was 48k which is already a 9k increase from the time of placing order. Who would have thought the Coe went up by so much but they still secure it and delivered the car without asking for top-up.

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 3 using GAGT

deodorant

Placed order for Cat A Ioniq 5 with komoco and it’s 6 (!!) bid non guaranteed. Today’s bidding went up by 7k from previous sia, hopefully won’t go up too high until and then tio fugged for top-up.

myviowner

Placed order for Cat A Ioniq 5 with komoco and it’s 6 (!!) bid non guaranteed. Today’s bidding went up by 7k from previous sia, hopefully won’t go up too high until and then tio fugged for top-up.
Prepare your PLAN B.
Similarly, mine also 6 bids NC. First time missed by $1. COE also trending upwards. (Same condition as @lousydk )
I kan cheong called up the sales, she told me: If they (AD) want your business, they will give you the new car. 2nd bidding kenna.
What i regret was the sales asked me can get two cars give more discounts. Now I will be more happy to sell away the 2nd unit. lolx

Do not be so foolish to go for the top up, even the sales called you up.

Good luck and enjoy your new ride soon.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.