Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

wanrong

have you used the gloss top coat? In your experience is it a good choice over titanium finish to bring out the blingness?

sliver0503

have you used the gloss top coat? In your experience is it a good choice over titanium finish to bring out the blingness?

I have not tried gloss coat over titanium finish, usually i use it for panel washing.
Imho, u can try it on a painted plastic spoon first? Else if your titanium finish is those out of e box parts, u can try gloss coating on e unwanted runners.

My 2 cents

wanrong

I have not tried gloss coat over titanium finish, usually i use it for panel washing.
Imho, u can try it on a painted plastic spoon first? Else if your titanium finish is those out of e box parts, u can try gloss coating on e unwanted runners.

My 2 cents

Oh ok thanks :D

by any chance is the top coat call clear lacquer by RJ london?

wanrong

if gt share share where buy..i wanna try also..

depending on where you stay. For me in the west found 2 shop selling RJ london(acutally quite some hardware store sellign them) One is at teck whye market chrome/gold is 7.50 while other color is 5.0 another one is behind cck blk253 market didnt ask for the price :o

top coat is $5 for 400cc

xfiles_wolvie

depending on where you stay. For me in the west found 2 shop selling RJ london(acutally quite some hardware store sellign them) One is at teck whye market chrome/gold is 7.50 while other color is 5.0 another one is behind cck blk253 market didnt ask for the price :o

top coat is $5 for 400cc

thanks bro...m referring to the top coat. nvr see it ard my place...chrome n gold my place have.

wanrong

oh man really pek chek in painting the gold emblem and trim on sinnaju. Until i heard of this reverse washing method...

So currently the spray i hvae on hand.

tamiya acrylic -gold
RJL acrylic epoxy -black
RJL enamel -chrome

what i want to know is that can i use the tamiya gold as the base and get a enamal black to spray over it.

Can i do the reverse washing? (where to get enamal spray can black as well?)

Or i have to die die use lacquer base ?

tuner

Been a while since I last pick up my paint brush, here's my latest work.
8254954614_835c095bc8.jpg

tuner

wow! Macross! My fav anime series. did u handpaint the whole model?
no lah, this kit too much big surface to resist not spray canning it! Only the gun and minor detailing using paintbrush skill. most of my SDs are handpainted though.

Blusttoy

Jialat, with the sales going on, always end up go HAG during the weekends. Recent gunpla related purchases :s22: And next year releases is not helping to curb my desires.

photo-6.jpg

Nevertheless, decided to work on the Byarlant. Quite a relaxing build despite the seemingly technical limbs. Almost as good as the Sazabi in terms of hiding the nubs and seams. However, it's a sticker fest, like the Delta Kai. Thankfully masking this guy is not so bad, so no need to use the stickers.

photo2-1.jpg

photo1.jpg

One of the perks of kits not yet topcoated, can play around with:

photo3.jpg

By the way, is anyone else having problems with the 4th Gunpla Promo? At first the site link was invalid, now that they've fixed that, my codes are all incorrect. And what happened to my old Gundam.info account? Every new promotion must register new one? Lousy website service then, so much for giving "points" for every serial register :(

xfiles_wolvie

After i tink 5-6 months no touch, so abit rusty. Here is my long long long overdue testing of the gold leafing.

Introduced by Heeroyuy bro...or ultimatron bro...old liao...forgetful...sorry.

equipment
IMG_2943.jpg

think apply too much
IMG_2945.jpg

IMG_2948.jpg

after initial brush
IMG_2950.jpg

quite bad for this one
IMG_2951.jpg

cannot breathe too heavy and cant yawn or sneeze. the leaf flies.....easily...

more at Rx-75 Guntank Testing

HeeroYuy

Me! Lol go go go wolvie! Bling bling ftw!

Wahh tuner nice macross! Long time no see!!

Good idea surge007!

tuner

Wahh tuner nice macross! Long time no see!!

Good idea surge007!

Success!! Integrated a LED with magnetic on/off switch in this SD Griffon :D
Space was really tight but managed to fit an led, battery and the REED switch ALL in the Head :D
Thanks HeeroYuy, its been a while indeed
and Surge007, excellent mod! Tks for sharing, giving me ideas to mod mine too. thanks again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.