Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

timothy

Tools and paints wait for tai seng 25% tamiya discount. Stock up especially on primer and topcoats. Everything else, either carousell and online.

taka prices are not good, not even with 20% off. only the clearance stockpiles items some times have good price. hobby shops prices are better, but still not as good as online.

for hobby shops, u can go Hobby Kulture in Peninsula plaza, Hobby Point in Bras Basah Complex, or M Workshop and Hobby Art Gallery in Sunshine plaza

Even then, take note there are hobby shops that practice pricing the kits 2x of the japan msrp. Its just that they have forever 20%-30% off to make the prices less painful. Take note that in japan is normal to have 10%-30% off the japan msrp.

Carousell is becoming #1 choice for kits when shipping from japan is expensive. These people can do so because no need to open physical shop and often are people who were over-enthusiastic when shopping in japan so are clearing unused kits at retail box price or they have contacts over there to send the kits as gift which they then sell on our side and share the proceeds with the contacts.

You be surprised how popular you become when you say you are staying in korea or japan for a few months/years especially by those who are running blogshops.

Thanks so much guys for your inputs.

Managed to get needed tools at Sunshine M Workshop, will visit the rest of the shops too.

Also bought 2 RG from Carousell :)

AS1

DM's Strike Noir going for $30~$45.

That means taobao price should be around $15-$20 there. Can only think how much the cost price is before factory mark up.

AS1

13433097_686236998190683_3632737821449767369_o.jpg

Wah, its now the Endless Waltz version on sale now. Looks way nicer than Proto in my opinion.

timothy

Will apply Mr hobby top coat flat affect the stickers those glossy type like the one on the eyes and other part?

AS1

Will apply Mr hobby top coat flat affect the stickers those glossy type like the one on the eyes and other part?

If you use misting technique to apply the topcoat, stickers should stil be fine.

AS1

Thanks for ur suggestion :) First time doing it.
If I wanna mask them what tool should I use?

Cheapest way is to use tape but will stick to the sticker. So the trick is to cut another tape that the non sticky side is facing the sticker and enough stretch on the other tape that it covers the sticker. Done.

Tiny potato

Any good deals at Taka left?

Thinking of going down tml. Get the Wing zero?

Btw, I'm looking for this kit. Any lobang or websites?
AEU-09Y812/A Al-Saachez`s AEU Enact Custom Agrissa Type (HG)

10069505.jpg

evilerniex

for those stickers that u want to be glossy, y not just paste them after u finish topcoating?

AS1

Any good deals at Taka left?

Thinking of going down tml. Get the Wing zero?

Btw, I'm looking for this kit. Any lobang or websites?
AEU-09Y812/A Al-Saachez`s AEU Enact Custom Agrissa Type (HG)

10069505.jpg

Havent seen the enact. As for the Wing Zero, someone will get even if you dont get.

AS1

Nothing wrong except that he expect FBM SF to be priced at $45. :s13:

Its less than 6000 yen online now inclusive shipping. $45 might be too much for the organisers to swallow. Maybe $70 would be more reasonable than $105? Can think of it as instant delivery. :D

Errz

hahaa... can just walk over mah. Yau Ma Tei to Mongkok not very far

with family and kids..difficult lah... went to Fook Le and the kids touch the box only, the sales staff there complain and say dont press the box. knn.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.