Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

ongkh2000

MG 1/100 Marasai (Release Date: May 2012, Price; 4200 yen)
MG 1/100 Blitz Gundam (Release Date: Jun 2012, Price: 4200 yen)
HGUC 1/144 Anksha (Release Date: May 2012, Price: 2600 yen)
HG 1/144 M1 Astray (Release Date: Jun 2012, Price: 1400 yen)
RG 1/144 Gundam Mk-II Titan Color (Release Date: Apr 2012, Price; 2500 yen)
RG 1/144 Gundam Mk-II A.E.U.G. Color (Release Date: Apr 2012, Price; 2500 yen)

from gundamguy

:eek:
rg mk2 releasing in 2 colors
and blitz only out in jun :(:(

Like that good what give u more time to save money :)

piecewise

Nice! Anksha hopefully will lead to a Byarlant Custom! Guess the M1 Astray will just be a modification of the astray red frame. :( and YAY for Gundam Mk-II! :) :)

aucheukyan

auc you're in hk now? thought you start in august? o_O

to take this.... huat ah!!!!:s21:
P2230033.JPG

then i bought this from the shop recommended by cyclonic bro at HKD1215:p
P2230043.JPG

they are distributors no wonder so cheap..... thanks for the SIC

Bryson

Do i need to gloss coat before doing a OOTB kit with tamiya panel accent color??
Thanks!

tissuepaper

from gundamguy

and now with pictures

13.jpg

21.jpg

17.jpg

:o

osirisx

anyone here tried those rub on chrome powders?
heard the graphite from pencils can achieve similar/near similar results...

any reviews on either methods?

alexmcqueen

anyone here tried those rub on chrome powders?
heard the graphite from pencils can achieve similar/near similar results...

any reviews on either methods?

chrome powder, yes. bling is unbeatable but most prefer not too use.

reason, u can't touch it after using. else must redo again. cannot top coat.

2nd, application tedious. need wear gloves and be careful with it as the powder is highly hazardous.

3rd, using over white base gives silver chrome but any uneven application will result in yellowish patches when view in certain light and angles.

I haf use them on 1 kit. and that's prolly the last I will ever use.

simwb90

Do i need to gloss coat before doing a OOTB kit with tamiya panel accent color??
Thanks!

generally it is recommended to do a gloss coat before doing panel lines, regardless of OOB or painted.
i may be wrong....this question has been asked quite often....so some bros might be a little sick of answering it =) no worries though if you genuinely do not know....

the reason for gloss coat is to give the paint a smoother surface to flow on. even though OOB usually have a decently smooth surface, it may also have some remnants of oil on some parts....that's why gloss coat makes the surface uniform thruout the kit.....making ur life a little easier....though difference is not that significant since its an OOB....

if painted, especially if the paint is matte, then a gloss coat is very much recommended as if i remember correctly, panel lines dun flow very well on matte surfaces.....

last but not least, even though urs is OOB, if you ever paint ur kits, then do take note of what type of paint ur using for the paint job and panel lines....generally people use lacquer for the paints and enamel for panel lines....in this scenario, having a gloss coat will make it easier for you to clean your panel lines without messing up the paint job....although may not be compulsory since enamel thinner can't rub off lacquer paints....

just based off what i can remember....any bros can check if im correct?

alexmcqueen

enamel thinner makes plastic brittle. dats y there is the warning on the panel line accent on dun apply on bare plastic when there is stress point. cos with the plastic now brittle, the stress point will exert force on it and hence the plastic will break. when u gloss coat it over, the lacquer coat will protect the plastic from the enamel thinner.

to prevent any chance of havoc on ur parts, gloss coat first ( also let the panel wash flows smoother and cleaning off excess easier), den panel line, wait like 1-2 days, den snap them together.

AikiBoy

u use marker? Y don't use enamel wash? Cos ur panel line quite thick n inconsistent..
The blue is nice..

ya lor, must go get matt for enamel wash this saturday for rest of the parts.
but i find that this rg freedom got very thick panel line at some area

Spector1986

ya lor, must go get matt for enamel wash this saturday for rest of the parts.
but i find that this rg freedom got very thick panel line at some area

no pun intended.. But I really don't understand what r u trying to say..

alexmcqueen

what matt? u mean the enamel paint matt? or the parts painted with matt colors before u do enamel panel line?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.