[GVGT] Singapore: Investigating exploitation and abuse of young domestic workers

Geminiboy

15 comes in as 23. why agent not charged?

can make documentary some more. who’s sleeping at MOM?

drkcynic

Don't get it... is this about underaged worker or abusive employers?

The 17 yo said the employer hit her and and threw a chair at her. Then it has got nothing to do with her being 17. Even if she is 27 the employer is wrong.

2 separate issues.

zephxion

open secret but government not doing anything because it is a profitable industry

vespaguy

Any industry where celebrities and samseng and workshop owners invest in is questionable. They just want huge and fast profits.

UptheToon

because to fake their age is very easy. they just need to pay someone in their land to do it.

Apparatus

Don't get it... is this about underaged worker or abusive employers?

The 17 yo said the employer hit her and and threw a chair at her. Then it has got nothing to do with her being 17. Even if she is 27 the employer is wrong.

2 separate issues.

Gal too young don't know how to do housework sure kena scolded. Your sis at that age 17 knows how to do housework? Your parents got kan her or not?

drkcynic

Gal too young don't know how to do housework sure kena scolded. Your sis at that age 17 knows how to do housework? Your parents got kan her or not?
Did you watch the documentary? There was another underaged girl who said her SG family was good to her.

So it has nothing to do with age, it differs from maid to maid and whether the employer is siao lang or not.

Apparatus

Bluffing her age is already wrong.

Employer can only take her age in her passport as genuine since there's no way to authenticate it. If your passport says you are 45 yrs old but in actual fact you are 33 yrs old who's to challenge the passport, which is issued by the country, if you don't reveal your true age?

Apparatus

Did you watch the documentary? There was another underaged girl who said her SG family was good to her.

So it has nothing to do with age, it differs from maid to maid and whether the employer is siao lang or not.

Good to her or not not only depends on the employer but also the maturity of the gal. If the gal is immature and does all things wrong you'll also get tulan with her and ultimately will scold her.

drkcynic

Good to her or not not only depends on the employer but also the maturity of the gal. If the gal is immature and does all things wrong you'll also get tulan with her and ultimately will scold her.
Some older helpers also cannot work.

At the end of the day, age is just a number. If they are sufficiently trained, with the right attitude and go to the right family, they will probably be ok.

Apparatus

Some older helpers also cannot work.

At the end of the day, age is just a number. If they are sufficiently trained, with the right attitude and go to the right family, they will probably be ok.

Age is not just a number. Ask yourself a gal at 17 yrs old is mature or not? Can she do housework? If you have a younger sister that age just look at her behavior and attitude lah. Train her and ask her to do housework and see for yourself

drkcynic

Age is not just a number. Ask yourself a gal at 17 yrs old is mature or not? Can she do housework? If you have a younger sister that age just look at her behavior and attitude lah. Train her and ask her to do housework and see for yourself
We are talking about Myanmar girls, not SG girls duh.

If they have no money, no food no house, 17 so? Come SG be maid and do normal work very bad? Not asking them to sell body or what. If they think bad they can jolly well stay at home and stay hungry. You think they won't be exploited back in their home? Naive.

HushiePuppies

now domestic helpers come SG very relax one. everyday can do tik tok and play handphone.

Apparatus

We are talking about Myanmar girls, not SG girls duh.

If they have no money, no food no house, 17 so? Come SG be maid and do normal work very bad? Not asking them to sell body or what. If they think bad they can jolly well stay at home and stay hungry. You think they won't be exploited back in their home? Naive.
That one you have to ask them liao.

All gals same same. At 17 what does she know? Ask your young sis lah

HushiePuppies

15 comes in as 23. why agent not charged?

can make documentary some more. who’s sleeping at MOM?
more like Myanmar side can make "fake documents legally" since they got civil war.. sg can only accept what is legal from Myanmar.

e.g. i see your comment i think you 15. but edmw is for above 18.. so hwz sleeping?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.