HDB Aircon additional compressor.

guitarunited

Hello all home owners,

I am a new home owner with my house just newly renovated.
My house is a 5 room flat. I have a 24k btu unit in my living, 10k btu unit x2 in my 2 common bedroom and a 13k btu is my master bedroom.
Upon the recommendation of a gain city salesman, I only got 1x system 4 compressor.
I deeply regret that decision as all my Aircons are so underpowered.

Is it possible to add an additional dedicated compressor for the 24k btu unit in my living room? Or is it too late to do anything?

GBC

Why don't you go back ask the gain city salesman again ?

Chua Zhiming

Hello all home owners,

My house is a 5 room flat. I have a 24k btu unit in my living, 10k btu unit x2 in my 2 common bedroom and a 13k btu is my master bedroom.
Upon the recommendation of a gain city salesman, I only got 1x system 4 compressor.

Is it possible to add an additional dedicated compressor for the 24k btu unit in my living room? Or is it too late to do anything?
What is the compressor you got from GC? What is it's maximum capacity (20+kw?)

zzzzzzz

Hello all home owners,

u turn on all the aircons together?
:frown:

guitarunited

u turn on all the aircons together?
My compressor is MXY4G33VA2. Googled it and it’s maximum BTU is 36k.
I usually will turn on my living and master at night because my wife is sleeping while I watch football.

13k + 24k is more than the maximum BTU.
Secondly, the 24k Aircon in my living room is not strong enough for my living room. Sigh.

so the most impt question is, can I buy another compressor to dedicate my 24k BTU to it?

zzzzzzz

I usually will turn on my living and master at night because my wife is sleeping while I watch football.

Secondly, the 24k Aircon in my living room is not strong enough for my living room. Sigh.

so the most impt question is, can I buy another compressor to dedicate my 24k BTU to it?
yours is it newer flat with 40amps?

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/.../guidelines/airconditioner-installation-works
if yes can install a 2nd compressor if you have space for it
maybe can add a system 1 for your living room

GBC

Normal rating of MXY-4G33VA2 is only 22,500 btu so if you run it at its maximum btu all the way, you will just shorten its lifespan.

guitarunited

yours is it newer flat with 40amps?

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/.../guidelines/airconditioner-installation-works
if yes can install a 2nd compressor if you have space for it
maybe can add a system 1 for your living room
How do I check the amps?my flat is 6 years old. I bought resale.
Normal rating of MXY-4G33VA2 is only 22,500 btu so if you run it at its maximum btu all the way, you will just shorten its lifespan.
I guess no choice right? I have a 5 room flat. Once I on the living, 24k BTU alrdy used.

zzzzzzz

How do I check the amps?my flat is 6 years old. I bought resale.

I guess no choice right? I have a 5 room flat. Once I on the living, 24k BTU alrdy used.
the link i shared got a link to an e-service page for checking
anyway 6 year old flat should be 40 amps, a maximum of 2 split-type air-conditioner condensing units can be installed...only the older type flats got lower amps

• The running current of air-conditioner should be restricted by a 20 amps double pole (DP) isolator or 15 amps power point

• A maximum of 2 split-type air-conditioner condensing units can be installed

• The maximum weight allowed is 110kg per wall panel regardless of whether the installation is on the external wall or air-conditioner ledge

• For wall mounted air-conditioner condensing units, each wall panel is allowed to have only 1 air-conditioner condensing unit

light84

Hello all home owners,

Yes you can. Install another compressor at the aircon ledge, unhook the copper tubings of the 24k and join to the new compressor lor.

Depending on the location of the new compressor, may need to braze the 24k tubing to extend it.

But everything need to vaccum all the pipes again and charge refrigerant.

If your living room is 24k BTU which is 7.1kW, you need to get at least the system 4G33 compressor which is 6.6kW to maximise the blower capacity though still short of 0.5kW but is quite close.

Easily 2k job cos compressor is expensive

Yes a system 4 compressor can power just 1 blower. It will be like North Pole I promise.

guitarunited

Yes you can. Install another compressor at the aircon ledge, unhook the copper tubings of the 24k and join to the new compressor lor.

Depending on the location of the new compressor, may need to braze the 24k tubing to extend it.

But everything need to vaccum all the pipes again and charge refrigerant.

If your living room is 24k BTU which is 7.1kW, you need to get at least the system 4G33 compressor which is 6.6kW to maximise the blower capacity though still short of 0.5kW but is quite close.

Easily 2k job cos compressor is expensive

Yes a system 4 compressor can power just 1 blower. It will be like North Pole I promise.
Wow, you sound like a pro, are you in this line? Can I engage you? Haha.
My concern is not so much on the price but because my house is newly renovated, I’m very concern if need to retrunk or do any hacking. Any idea?

light84

My concern is not so much on the price but because my house is newly renovated, I’m very concern if need to retrunk or do any hacking. Any idea?

I am homeowner oso so I only know how to talk and analyse, cannot do the job.

I consperm for the aircon no need retrunk or hack. They just need to open the trunking at the aircon ledge to disconnect the 24k tubing and electrical cable and join to new compressor. Usually the cable they will leave some slack behind so can pull extra length but this one need to double check during site visit. Cos copper tubing can extend by brazing another tubing to it but electrical cable cannot, must be one long piece with no breaks or joints.

I forgot to mention they need to run a electrical wire from the distribution board to the aircon ledge and put a double pole isolator switch. So this one you need to see your house existing electrical trunking can put in one cable or need to run a new electrical trunking but if just one cable, the trunking will be very small one so no worries. The new trunking just stick on the wall or use nail so wun be messy.

pippo20

I realised gain city is very by the law, for my parents hdb, i also asked them to quote additional system 1 to power the living room, they say no space for future servicing lah, hdb dun allow stacking or extra bracket for compressor. In the end, i got 2 quotes easily from other aircon companies who install another bracket for the 2nd compressor on top of the current one. Guess ur aircon ledge space can only stack on top and not side by side thats why gaincity did not suggest 2 split systems?

TheAlphaLion

you better check your aircon gas pressure first. i have almost identical setup as you and my 24k btu for living room + study room is already super cold. unless u are demanding 22 degree or lower

guitarunited

you better check your aircon gas pressure first. i have almost identical setup as you and my 24k btu for living room + study room is already super cold. unless u are demanding 22 degree or lower
hello there, so typically on a weekend when everybody is home, all the aircons would be on.
By simple calculation, 10+10+12+24 = 56k btu.
From what I read online, the compressor can only support 36k.

prior to buying my aircons from gain city, I had no idea what all these BTUs or systems are. I took professional advice from the salesman.

I was told by the salesman that system 3 can add another system 1 but as mine is a system 4, they cannot add another system 1.

GBC

hello there, so typically on a weekend when everybody is home, all the aircons would be on.
By simple calculation, 10+10+12+24 = 56k btu.
From what I read online, the compressor can only support 36k.

prior to buying my aircons from gain city, I had no idea what all these BTUs or systems are. I took professional advice from the salesman.

I was told by the salesman that system 3 can add another system 1 but as mine is a system 4, they cannot add another system 1.
In Singapore, you don't take "professional" advice from aircon salesman, most of them are just salesman trying to sell you a system which pay them the higher commission.

From your comments above, instead of adding another new system 1, maybe it's much simpler to just change your existing underpowered outdoor compressor to 1 that can better support your indoor units. But it also depends on how much your isolator can support too. Adding a new system 1 is as good as installing a totally new aircon system.

RobVanDam

Sorry to dig this thread but any idea if my unit is older and does not support the new power.

HDB says need to submit for approval any experience that it will get approved?

FYI this is for EA unit, planning to put System 3 x 2 sets

Alphas

You just have to wait to get HDB approval, since the max current loading capacity for older HDB needs to be upgraded to 40A for two compressors.
Alternatively consider a system 5 compressor.

Always check the rated BTU not the max BTU on the compressor to determine it is powerful enough to support the FCUs. A misconception that many persons ignored the capacity of the compressor and thought getting the largest BTU on the FCUs. It’s the same as having a motorbike engine to run a double decker bus.

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/living-in-an-hdb-flat/renovation/guidelines/electrical-works

kiatme

Sorry to dig this thread but any idea if my unit is older and does not support the new power.

You take a look at your block and see if any of your neighbors are running on 2 compressors lor, if none, chances are low that it will get approved. Older flats usually do not support 2 compressors.

If got quite a few 2 compressors, then if your application rejected, see if you wanna play the bad guy and sabo, take photo and point out how come got a few with multiple compressors in the house

windwaver

You take a look at your block and see if any of your neighbors are running on 2 compressors lor, if none, chances are low that it will get approved. Older flats usually do not support 2 compressors.

If got quite a few 2 compressors, then if your application rejected, see if you wanna play the bad guy and sabo, take photo and point out how come got a few with multiple compressors in the house
How old is your EA? My unit almost 20 years old can mount 2 compressors, your EA shouldn't be that old right?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.