HDB Aircon additional compressor.

todomachi

You take a look at your block and see if any of your neighbors are running on 2 compressors lor, if none, chances are low that it will get approved. Older flats usually do not support 2 compressors.

If got quite a few 2 compressors, then if your application rejected, see if you wanna play the bad guy and sabo, take photo and point out how come got a few with multiple compressors in the house
my block previously don't have any units that are running on 2 compressors. But i went ahead to apply for approval and have gotten it and so I am the only unit block that have 2 air con compressor.

My unit is a 5 room HDB that is more than 30 years old.

Most importantly is making sure the electrical loading for the block is upgraded and all necessary approval is obtained with the help of the air con installation company.

RobVanDam

You just have to wait to get HDB approval, since the max current loading capacity for older HDB needs to be upgraded to 40A for two compressors.
Alternatively consider a system 5 compressor.

Always check the rated BTU not the max BTU on the compressor to determine it is powerful enough to support the FCUs. A misconception that many persons ignored the capacity of the compressor and thought getting the largest BTU on the FCUs. It’s the same as having a motorbike engine to run a double decker bus.

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/living-in-an-hdb-flat/renovation/guidelines/electrical-works

Yeah noted on this my alterantive now is a Daikin System 5

You take a look at your block and see if any of your neighbors are running on 2 compressors lor, if none, chances are low that it will get approved. Older flats usually do not support 2 compressors.

If got quite a few 2 compressors, then if your application rejected, see if you wanna play the bad guy and sabo, take photo and point out how come got a few with multiple compressors in the house

That's exactly what happened, saw a few neighbors who installed 2 compressors so the assumption was that it would be possible. Haaizizzz..... but is ok lah to each his own if they want to take the risk go ahead no need sabo them lah :)

How old is your EA? My unit almost 20 years old can mount 2 compressors, your EA shouldn't be that old right?

Its around 25yrs there abouts, anyway i dun think the age is the main thing its still down to the HDB ruling

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/.../guidelines/airconditioner-installation-works
You can check from the link here, problem is that if you Block doesn't have thew new one they ask you to submit, they do not outright say NO YOU CANNOT.

But yet you need to pay the aircon installers to do a submission which involves the electrical engineer to raise all the paper work, however even you go through all this and you pay, from their experience they say may be rejected also. so its pretty much gambling ... haa haa

I rather HDB just outright say CANNOT

RobVanDam

my block previously don't have any units that are running on 2 compressors. But i went ahead to apply for approval and have gotten it and so I am the only unit block that have 2 air con compressor.

My unit is a 5 room HDB that is more than 30 years old.

Most importantly is making sure the electrical loading for the block is upgraded and all necessary approval is obtained with the help of the air con installation company.

Oh that sounds good, but your block HAS the UPGRADED Electrical loading right?
Mine doesn't :(

Ken Kee

Can any one advise if such kind of air con compressor arrangement on HDB latch is acceptable. Is partly due to the space constrain available ....

Need advise. Thanks

e0Ob85m.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.