HDB is cheap

hachi

Doesn’t really matter for moi already, bought hdb at the high, if he manage to lower the price of hdb, my housing loan also won’t become lesser.

Didn’t really had the luxury to drag 10 years waiting for govt to “maybe” bring the price down
Yes like I said a few years ago... The only way is increase the grants... Everyone will be happy...

For me sell high buy low... So my 2nd bto... Free... A few of my frds followed... All happy...

Got one choosy frd.. Apply 5 y for 2nd bto... Never get... Now near to 50 also wanna give up..

white_prince

I agreed ...

1) HDB BTOs are still affordable. You got lots of locations and sizes to choose and ballot, so choose the one according to your budget.

2) HDB Resale maybe not affordable in some configuration and area , this one I agree too.

So .. I think we should not lump HDB BTOs and HDB Resales together.

BTOs really is very affordable. Govt already gave 1st time home owner a good chance to buy one to stay. (maybe should let 35yr old single have a bite at 3room BTO also but should always prioritize the family unit .hehe.. )

if you cannot afford to upgrade or shift to another location, don't do it.

You can try ballot for another BTO .. if you die die want to relocate.

I think the govt has done its job as long as BTO are affordables and to provide roof over your head.

Anything after that is really up to your ability/capability.
The cap should increase because as a young couple/single.
You may hit 10K at age 30 since you need to meet inflation.
To add on, savings is not the best around this age group.
If they cannot ballot for HDB then they also cannot afford to pay 20% of down payments for a condo.
It will snowball down to not having a proper home to having a kid.
Lead to fustrations and work performance + likely a divorce.

otakuflick

I always quote the cheapest, should be level 2.. So yes apple to apple... I don't quote 1.5 mil resale to a 300k bto...

is 40 storey the same as 20 storey ?

Materials Needed for a 90 m² Apartment when you ask ai

Total Estimated Structural Cost

• Low-end: 10,000–10,000–15,000
  • Mid-range: 15,000–15,000–20,000
  • High-end (better steel, quality control): 20,000–20,000–25,000+

In 2010, the materials needed to build a 90 m² apartment (reinforced concrete structure) were similar to today, but with some differences in costs, availability, and technology. Below is a breakdown of the key materials and estimated prices from that time.

Total Estimated Structural Cost (2010)

• Low-end: 8,000–8,000–12,000
  • Mid-range: 12,000–12,000–18,000
  • High-end: 18,000–18,000–25,000

Above is the real APPLE TO APPLE

dnsfpl

thats why i told my nephew BTO can buy quickly buy

price will only go up, material, labour, land cost will only go up

garment already give 50% discount liao

hachi

is 40 storey the same as 20 storey ?

Materials Needed for a 90 m² Apartment when you ask ai

Above is the real APPLE TO APPLE
Apple to apple meaning ulu location level 2 vs level 2 4 rm bto. Why keep bringing the level 20 and 40 comparison? Associated cost? Like land cost and amenities?

hachi

Yes the system is there... Milk it fast.... Don't let it game you...

Pukunara

Agree. The best time to buy is always yesterday.

otakuflick

If they cannot ballot for HDB then they also cannot afford to pay 20% of down payments for a condo.

10k at 30 is different from old days by a lot.

starting salary is much much closer to the peak salary one will earn at the peak. Career is much shorter too.

youngsters should never be taxed so heavily just bc the prior generations screwed up the TFR.

kage

very true, tats why our TFR is getting lower over the years, no proper shelter how to have kids?

Instead of addressing this, they resort to mass import to ramp up the population .... end up our country people like rojak ....

Pukunara

They want the best locations, next to mrt station and highest floor .... how to find cheap?? .... :o
Gotta manage expectations then. Want good things have to pay more because the demand is much higher. Simple logic.

hachi

very true, tats why our TFR is getting lower over the years, no proper shelter how to have kids?

Instead of addressing this, they resort to mass import to ramp up the population .... end up our country people like rojak ....
The groups have high TFR are not helping as well...

dnsfpl

Agree. The best time to buy is always yesterday.
you check out the balance sale price you know liao
up app 10-20% vs launch

btw im not referring to private or resale, is just BTO only

hachi

This kind of debate no end one... But is not hard not to find the locations and size to one budget...

ceestudent

starting salary is much much closer to the peak salary one will earn at the peak. Career is much shorter too.
Lol. What statement is this? Our new generation become more and more beh kan ah? Pls lah.

I reckon the peak salary at peak should be like 3-4x than your starting salary if you do your job without cockup. Unless you keep doing rank&file without climbing the corporate ladder. Maybe the people who work in IT is an exception lah, since they have much higher starting salary.

dnsfpl

what evidence do you need when info is so widely available, bro.

steel, cement, these are commodities trading 24/7
commodities price does not paint the full picture

we take SIMPLE reno for 4 room bto for eg

the cost for THE SAME reno 5 years ago have doubled

ceestudent

what evidence do you need when info is so widely available, bro.

steel, cement, these are commodities trading 24/7
Your AI non sense is not reflecting the real building cost here lah.

Just check gebiz tender then the divide the number of unit to get average price. It is definitely higher than the amount you quote. Manpower here is higher than higher country.
Else you just google the psf construction price for singapore residential, there will be a range there.

Example (see page 3 condo price, for hdb you just apply some factor then multiply with your flat area):
https://www.asiainfrasolutions.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/Construction-Cost-Review-2Q2023.pdf

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.