HDB prices

hindsight

Actually all BTO are oversubscribed. Only unsold ones are EC (20-30% sold) in the middle of nowhere. Should just allow 3rd timer to apply since no one wants it.

BTOs are oversubscribed because they are more affordable, very few people can afford ECs or PCs now with the loan restrictions (TDSR).

A lot of private developers die die holding on to their unsold units but the extension charge will kick in for most of them very soon, they will have to cut prices to offload them.

bakuten

Yet....rather than having empty flats...

PAP has playEd themselves into a corner by forcing people to overpay for flats by controlling supply.

And now they can't bring the flat prices down for the new electorate without hurting those who have overpaid for their homes and vice versa.

This is called myopic and 报应.

人在做,天在看。

Mr.Canberra

How can there be oversupply? Not even when the vacancy rate is approaching 8% and projected to hit 10% in 2 years time? :s22:

Like I said, the pent up demand is from speculators who have this misconception that there is insufficient housing to house the growing population, the real numbers tell a different story, the truth is there is already sufficient inventory to house another 1.3m people by 2018.

Statistics do not differentiate between first time home buyers or speculators of multiple properties. The current private housing oversupply glut is due to cooling measures. Remove TDSR and ABSD with immediate effect and let's see if there is undersupply or oversupply. Price will suddenly shoot up if this pent up demand is allowed to be released.

This is call market force and a lot of times people go in with herd mentality or emotion.

My view is both public housing (already undersupply) and private housing will be undersupply again in time to come when cooling measures are removed.

If history repeats itself at the end of the day surely back to square one again as price will continue to spiral up once GE is over. As I've said it's all politics. It's a well known fact most Singaporeans will not be able to afford private properties. The foreign speculators/"FTs" are just waiting for a good field day. It's the future generation of Singaporeans that will have to slog even harder loh. By that time the decendants of the pioneer generation should be the minority liao. =:p

Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. I rest my case. :s13:

focus1974

Actually all BTO are oversubscribed. Only unsold ones are EC (20-30% sold) in the middle of nowhere. Should just allow 3rd timer to apply since no one wants it.

they should allow singles who are 35yrs old and above to buy as well.
why are singaporeans penalised for not marrying?

zoossh

They dun allow young singles to buy hoping when they get older they hit income ceiling. Also that give more flats to new citizens

antonpoh

If we don't have that stupid COE, maybe there will be less singles out there cause most guys would be driving.

kuang89

I think mindset abit wrong.

BTO is cheaper than, but not cheap. Know the difference.

Talk until the cow come home also can, better think of ways to work around the system rather than try to change it. You bend over when the door is to short for you right?

Also, alot of people seem to forget when they take money out of CPF, they have to replace it with accrued CPF interest. At 2.5%, it takes less than 15 years and you have to top up double the principal sum loaned for your flat purchase.

focus1974

Singaporeans are penalized for being Singaporeans

M4boI9qZmi6A.gif

kongtou

Sighhhhh.

Looking at the BIG picture,

* HDB price cannot come down (as most ppl own flats), so new flats cannot be lowly priced. What will be the scenario if HDB prices come down 50%?
Majority of Singaporeans will become "POORER"
* Many ppl complain they cannot afford to buy new flat... (when they are looking for expensive mature estate, 5-rm flats near MRT, when 3 rm non-mature is there for their taking!)....see recent BTO ratios

And the @whine@ goes on and on...

hindsight

Statistics do not differentiate between first time home buyers or speculators of multiple properties. The current private housing oversupply glut is due to cooling measures. Remove TDSR and ABSD with immediate effect and let's see if there is undersupply or oversupply. Price will suddenly shoot up if this pent up demand is allowed to be released.

This is call market force and a lot of times people go in with herd mentality or emotion.

My view is both public housing (already undersupply) and private housing will be undersupply again in time to come when cooling measures are removed.

If history repeats itself at the end of the day surely back to square one again as price will continue to spiral up once GE is over. As I've said it's all politics. It's a well known fact most Singaporeans will not be able to afford private properties. The foreign speculators/"FTs" are just waiting for a good field day. It's the future generation of Singaporeans that will have to slog even harder loh. By that time the decendants of the pioneer generation should be the minority liao. =:p

Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. I rest my case. :s13:

Like I said you are confusing speculators with people who buy because they need housing, and of course it matters if the market is being driven by speculation, or not. Speculators buy to tenant out, but they can't do that easily if vacancy rates are high, these people are weak holders and they will be the first to bail when they cannot service their mortgages on the empty units any longer. This will inevitably put downward pressure on prices, its a matter of when, and not if.

You do not have any statistics to prove that vacancy rates are not rising, or that they will cease to rise any time soon, or do you think vacancy rates do not have any impact on home prices? :s13: I should remind you that history says you are wrong though.

TDSR is unlikely to be removed, not even in a downturn. Frankly speaking 60% isn't even remotely draconian, spending 60% of one's disposable income on servicing loans alone is pretty crazy.

The other cooling measures like ABSD will be removed at some point, but I doubt it will have a lasting impact on prices. Very few investors will be interested in buying a property if he cannot rent out his unit easily, in the end everything still hinges on vacancy rates.

I admire your optimism but I think there is very little basis for that now, property isn't going to do well in the next few years, in fact I'd consider myself lucky if I don't see a massive drop in the value of my property.

dork32

i was talking about 10 years ago, not now.

Majestic12

Thumbs up for your post. The bull cycle for properties is clearly over for now but there are still some permabulls who insist that it is not.

Like I said you are confusing speculators with people who buy because they need housing, and of course it matters if the market is being driven by speculation, or not. Speculators buy to tenant out, but they can't do that easily if vacancy rates are high, these people are weak holders and they will be the first to bail when they cannot service their mortgages on the empty units any longer. This will inevitably put downward pressure on prices, its a matter of when, and not if.

You do not have any statistics to prove that vacancy rates are not rising, or that they will cease to rise any time soon, or do you think vacancy rates do not have any impact on home prices? :s13: I should remind you that history says you are wrong though.

TDSR is unlikely to be removed, not even in a downturn. Frankly speaking 60% isn't even remotely draconian, spending 60% of one's disposable income on servicing loans alone is pretty crazy.

The other cooling measures like ABSD will be removed at some point, but I doubt it will have a lasting impact on prices. Very few investors will be interested in buying a property if he cannot rent out his unit easily, in the end everything still hinges on vacancy rates.

I admire your optimism but I think there is very little basis for that now, property isn't going to do well in the next few years, in fact I'd consider myself lucky if I don't see a massive drop in the value of my property.

Majestic12

Have mentioned before that it doesn't matter if you are buying a HDB for personal occupation. Because of how housing economics are structured in this country, you will always be an indirect speculator no matter what.

antonpoh

good idea, you start working at 3 am. i will start mine at 9 am.

I only need 15mins to reach office. Even if i leave home at 8:15am and reach office at 8:30am, we won't meet on the road.

dork32

I only need 15mins to reach office. Even if i leave home at 8:15am and reach office at 8:30am, we won't meet on the road.

some people just dont get it. Everyone would want to start work during the "prime" hrs, that is from 8 am to 9.30 am. During this time the roads will be over crowded. Nobody will want to start work during crazy hrs. it is during crazy hrs that the roads are empty.

Also as a business owner, i will want my company to operate during office hours, not during crazy hours. How am i going to contact my customers, suppliers if my office functions when everyone else is sleeping?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.