HDB service yard

Shu

My previous place had the old bamboo system, and my new BTO has a service yard as shown in the TS' picture.

The bamboo system certainly got more sun, but it was quite awkward and physically challenging to get the clothes in and out. Lots of clothes pegs had to be used, and everytime you put clothes in and out they'd brush against the window frame.

Hanging clothes up in the new service yard is more convenient, but you don't get sun. Personally, this hasn't been an issue. My clothes still dry relatively quickly and there's no smell. But I can afford to have them up for a few days because I only do 1-2 loads of laundry a week (no children yet). Also, if it rains, no worries at all :)

In terms of space, the service yard drying rack is indeed small. I don't like using the rack that's bolted onto the wall for the same reasons I didn't really like using the old bamboo pole system. To increase the ceiling mounting drying rack space, what I've done is to add two more poles to the rack. It's quite easy to do. I cable tied two short poles to the rack that acts as supports, then lay two more regular bamboo poles across. I've never run out of space with this system, even when do I full load of linen for 3 beds.

I also use a lot more hangers to hang my wet clothes. Some people don't like this because they say the clothes will smell as everything is clustered together. But again, no problems so far.

My service yard faces the common corridor, and I've thought about the concerns raised here. I've concluded that it is not feasible for anyone to climb in because the path is full of obstacles and there is no place to secure any climbing device or rope, and nothing to grip on to. It is clear HDB has actually thought about this concern and worked it into their design. I also stay on a high floor which makes it very, very risky. If I were a burglar, the risks wouldn't be worth it, especially for the items typically stored in a HDB flat.

Gixxerfied

Have to agree with this. I can see some flats they removed the bamboo pole holders and replace it with the metal racks, put bamboo poles on it will do.

You reminded me of the estate near toh guan(Old hdb) of this..Pass by everyday after work in the train..

Shu

I like the idea of clothes on top not dripping. Only thing is for old bamboo poles you can hang 6 poles outside. This type its only equal to 3 bamboo poles. Also, horizontally I think it doesn't catch much wind.

Anyone tried putting the storage/gas heater in the service yard? I read someone did it but I'm not sure if all service yards can or if he was lucky. But I heard washing machine and dryer can go in the service yard right? I think there is power supply, water tap and drainage hole.

If I get this type of flat I would most probably have sliding windows at the service yard. At least when its raining heavily I can shut the windows and not have the place soaking wet.

Actually this pic I attached is not too bad i.e. if heavy rain comes in it hits the wall. Have seen some service yard entrance facing the kitchen directly so if it rains and the door is open, sure to get wet kitchen floor.

Come to think of it, it kinda functions as a poor man's balcony too. :s13:

I have a gas heater in my service yard. My friend too. No issues with the installation. Singapore Power will advise you on which models are available for HDB unit.

What matters is which wall you place the heater on. If you want to buy stackable front-loader/dryer, then you should place the heater on the opposite wall.

But if you use a stackable front-loader/dryer, chances are you won't be able to lower the drying rack. Something to think about :)

I took measurements and on paper it is theoretically possible to fit a frontloader washer and dryer side-by side. But it's really zun zun based on the paper specs. I donno if in reality it is possible because I never tried. And of course, the models available to you are limited. And it's probably not a good idea to have them so close to each other.

You could pace a dryer on onside and a washer on the other, but that will take up a lot of space.

There are top loading dryers which are much narrower than the usual frontloading ones. These you can put side-by-side with the washer without any problem. But I believe there are only two brands (Thomson and Brandt), and they are expensive!

You could get a 2-in-1 washer-dryer combo, but these tend to be small and not very good apparently.

For me, I had originally planned on installing a washer and dryer but in the end, I realised I don't need a dryer. Nice to have for sure, but won't die without one :)

derrickgoh

Also, if it rains, no worries at all :)
But the three bars near the outside will kena the rain right?

I also use a lot more hangers to hang my wet clothes. Some people don't like this because they say the clothes will smell as everything is clustered together. But again, no problems so far.
I do that too. I use hangers for t-shirts, shirts and shorts. The rest are all on the pole. No lah no smell. If want to stretch the t-shirt or worse, the long sleeve shirt on the bamboo pole, you will need 50 poles. LOL

I also stay on a high floor which makes it very, very risky. If I were a burglar, the risks wouldn't be worth it, especially for the items typically stored in a HDB flat.
But I would imagine 2nd to 4th floors are a bit risky still. Ideally would be good if the service yard faces another service yard or maybe the side of the building instead of the corridor but not all are like that.

Gixxerfied

But the three bars near the outside will kena the rain right?

I do that too. I use hangers for t-shirts, shirts and shorts. The rest are all on the pole. No lah no smell.

But I would imagine 2 to 4 floors are a bit risky still.

If it's not too heavy and no strong winds, clothing outside is still sheltered by the ledge above..

derrickgoh

I have a gas heater in my service yard. My friend too. No issues with the installation. Singapore Power will advise you on which models are available for HDB unit.
Was thinking more of a condenser dryer. Assuming I do get one lah. But washing machine is confirm lah.

What matters is which wall you place the heater on. If you want to buy stackable front-loader/dryer, then you should place the heater on the opposite wall.
So its confirmed storage heater or gas heater can go in the service yard?

But if you use a stackable front-loader/dryer, chances are you won't be able to lower the drying rack. Something to think about :)
Talking about lowering the rack, can you adjust the height? That means is it just all the way up and all the way down? Or you can decide how far down you want to lower and how far up you want to raise it? I see this string like thing, I wonder how to use it. LOL!

For me, I had originally planned on installing a washer and dryer but in the end, I realised I don't need a dryer. Nice to have for sure, but won't die without one :)
If the place is windy then don't need lah. Dryer is ex plus the electricity bill shoots up.

Gixxerfied

Was thinking more of a condenser dryer. Assuming I do get one lah. But washing machine is confirm lah.

So its confirmed storage heater or gas heater can go in the service yard?

Talking about lowering the rack, can you adjust the height? That means is it just all the way up and all the way down? Or you can decide how far down you want to lower and how far up you want to raise it? I see this string like thing, I wonder how to use it. LOL!

If the place is windy then don't need lah. Dryer is ex plus the electricity bill shoots up.

String is like raising the flag on the flag pole..Works the same..

Gixxerfied

So there is literally a hook to tie the string around? Wah then if never tie properly wouldn't the whole rack come crashing down?

You see that black object on the left side of the pic??

Yup, that's the tying part..Saw it at my friend's bto when i visited..Later after lunch i go find the blog which i came across the other time showing that..

derrickgoh

You see that black object on the left side of the pic??

Yup, that's the tying part..Saw it at my friend's bto when i visited..Later after lunch i go find the blog which i came across the other time showing that..
Thanks a lot. Wah so literally flag raising liao lor. Just as the flag can be raised and lowered to any height, same would apply (I guess) for the rack.

Shu

If it's not too heavy and no strong winds, clothing outside is still sheltered by the ledge above..

Yes, the ledge above provides shelter so the extra bamboo poles don't kena rain. Plus because the front door of another unit on the floor looks directly into my service yard, I've put up a canvas sheet to provide some privacy. That plus the orientation of my block prevents even heavy rain from coming in.

Because the canvas sheet covers just enough for privacy, there's still enough air circulation.

In any case, I think new BTOs no longer have such configurations. The design of BTOs has really improved. Mine was launched in 2008.

Re: security, I think the units on the lower floors have additional security devices like grills etc. Even my high floor has a grill protecting my service yard. It has lots of small holes instead of bars so there's nothing you can grip on to. In any case, because of the design, it's a huge risk to try to climb in. You would really need very, very pro equipment and skill to go from the corridor into the service yard.

Re: the drying rack raising and lowering mechanism, there is an internal locking device that regulates the movement. You first need to pull the rope back at an angle to unlock it. Then you can pull it up and down. Once you bring the rope back to vertical, the locking mechanism activates and holds the rack in place. The hook on the wall is meant for neatness (to store excess rope) and doesn't secure anything. I didn't install mine. I just bundled the excess rope up and tied a knot around it :)

Re: water heater, gas water heater confirm plus chop can go into service yard. Electric storage heaters are usually installed in the common toilet. There's existing plumbing and power (with switches at both toilets) in one of the ceiling corners usually.

derrickgoh

Re: security, I think the units on the lower floors have additional security devices like grills etc. Even my high floor has a grill protecting my service yard.
Then those pics I saw must be from older BTO flats. But if there are grills, how do you access the 3 bars to hang your laundry? The grills can lock and unlock?

So if want to install sliding window that means grill inside then window outside?

Nakuru

Simple...Kitchen getting too small, no place for bamboo poles...

i meant this actually:
bukittimah19.jpg

Gixxerfied

Then those pics I saw must be from older BTO flats. But if there are grills, how do you access the 3 bars to hang your laundry? The grills can lock and unlock?

So if want to install sliding window that means grill inside then window outside?

Grille inside like those old hdb kitchen roh..Sliding one by the way..

derrickgoh

i meant this actually:
bukittimah19.jpg
Mine is this type. Definitely safer than the old bamboo holder but still a risk. If the person putting it out has no strength or is clumsy the pole can still fall. But at least no worries about the poke breaking because got support at the other end. Problem of laundry dripping from above still applies.

If my flat is on a high floor and in a windy location, I think I prefer the new service yard style.

Shu

Oh the grill is along the common corridor, outside your property. Because my service yard is adjacent to the common corridor. The grills also provide privacy.

You can still install a sliding window in your service yard. Many of my neighbours do that.

Nakuru

I think i will prefer this than the new one

i prefer to have just the holes.. no rack.. i always miscalculate the last stretch of bamboo pole n my clothes juz stuck there.. see the house on the left, middle

Gixxerfied

Oh the grill is along the common corridor, outside your property. Because my service yard is adjacent to the common corridor. The grills also provide privacy.

You can still install a sliding window in your service yard. Many of my neighbours do that.

Think i saw that before..Low level units corridor should have them..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.