Head/earphones Recommendations Thread

weng

- Your rig - iPhone 5/Laptop
- What type of usage - Music, occasional movie
- File format used in your source mp3, AAC? (Whatever iTunes allows me to import)
- Genre of music you listen to - Pop, mainstream music. Only English and Chinese songs.
- Headphone / earphone type - IEM. Top down method of wear, really don't want over the ear.
- Other requirements (if any) (mic, volume control, comfort, seal) Best all rounder possible!
- Budget - Preferably below 150.

My klipsch s4's stopped working a few days ago. I'm not much of an audiophile. I enjoyed my s4's, felt they sounded much fuller then my old cx300's. Would really appreciate any input.

Thanks! :)

ue400vi, mai tu liao:s12:

Your rig : Mobile - Running/Gym with Iphone
- What type of usage : Music only
- File format used in your source : 320-256 MP3/AAC
- Genre of music you listen to : Hip-Hop / Rock / anything with a good beat
- Headphone type : In ear canalphones / IEMs / can consider lightweight behind the neck/over the head
- Other requirements : able to handle lots of sweat :s12: sound bassy, rich, warm, good build quality, so many earphones these days expensive or cheap dont seem to last long for me =(
- Budget : less than $100, ideally around $50-60 max

Your rig : iPad mostly for flights - travel quite often for work
- What type of usage : Music and Movies
+ Lossless - HD rips
- Genre of music you listen to : Jazz + Movies / TV shows
- Headphone type : In ear canalphones / IEMs / can try comfy headphones
- Other requirements : portable, comfortable
- Budget : max $300-400, ideally less

Have had quite a bit of experience with high end headphones in the past, when I had the luxury of time to sit down and listen critically. Ever since I started work no time =( Now only used headphones when exercising and flying.

From past experience really liked Westone UM2, Sennheiser HD25-11, Senn HD600 (for critical listening at home only).

kaixax555

- Headphone type : In ear canalphones / IEMs / can consider lightweight behind the neck/over the head
- Other requirements : able to handle lots of sweat :s12: sound bassy, rich, warm, good build quality, so many earphones these days expensive or cheap dont seem to last long for me =(

+ Lossless - HD rips

Have had quite a bit of experience with high end headphones in the past, when I had the luxury of time to sit down and listen critically. Ever since I started work no time =( Now only used headphones when exercising and flying.

From past experience really liked Westone UM2, Sennheiser HD25-11, Senn HD600 (for critical listening at home only).

First one, Dunu Trident
should be fine for jogging I guess

most earphones break easily because people dun take care of them properly, anyhow wrap around the phone or wrap around other things, or even worse throw in random places around the bag... earphone cable so thin, how can withstand that kind of tension in the long run sia...

Second one... I see many drawing comparisons with Westone UM3x and ER-4S for HD600, Rockit Sounds R-50 and GR07 MKII with HD 25-1 II and TDK BA200 with UM2

I think at the 300-400 price level only dual drivers (and XBA-3 triple driver IEM as the exception) are available...

You can try the TDK BA200, VSonic GR07 MKII, Rockit Sounds R-50 and Fischer DBA-02 MKII

just my opinion based on a lot of research, so might not be entirely accurate lol, since open cans and closed cans both sound different from IEMs anyway

anyway I picked IEMs in this case because you said you are travelling, and for flights I believe isolation is pretty much one of the most important factors

acegig

Hey guys!

- Your rig - Samsung Note 2 / Desktop / iPod Classic
- What type of usage - Music
- File format used in your source mp3: FLV, FLAC
- Genre of music you listen to - Acoustic, Rock, Pop, Jazz
- Headphone / earphone type - Close ears headphones, would be using at home.
- Other requirements -Clarity, vocals and with a bit of bass
- Budget - $300+

Bump for help & recommendation!

downsman

- Your rig - Samsung Galaxy Note (G1)/ Galaxy Tab 7.7/ ThinkPad T430s
- What type of usage - Music, videos
- File format used in your source mp3 - AAC? MP3
- Genre of music you listen to - Coldplay, Keane, U2, that sort of thing.
- Headphone / earphone type - Inner ear.
- Other requirements (if any) (mic, volume control, comfort, seal) - durable and long-lasting
- Budget - 100. My wife would kill me if she knew I spent that much anyway on earphones. Heheh.

I used to use a-jays One until one side died after six months.

Anyone with recommendations based on all the details I gave above?

TeamStereo

Hey guys!

- Budget - $300+
Hi there,

Do try out the the Sony MDR-1R =)
Stereo your one stop headphones and earphones store in Singapore

Skullcandy Aviator as well for slightly more bass

+ Lossless - HD rips

For less than $100,

Can look at this few models =)
- Dunu Trident
- JVC FX1x is quite a bass demon too!

2nd choice - a few in-ears to look at
- Shure SE215 limited edition
- Westone UM1
- JVC FXT-90

Headphones wise can look at the following:
Sony MDR-1R for comfy headphones =)

weng

+ Lossless - HD rips

imo if you really want to listen properly (disregarding sheer sound quality) during flights, get an active noise cancelling pair. normal iems like half past six like that.

First one, Dunu Trident
should be fine for jogging I guess

most earphones break easily because people dun take care of them properly, anyhow wrap around the phone or wrap around other things, or even worse throw in random places around the bag... earphone cable so thin, how can withstand that kind of tension in the long run sia...

Second one... I see many drawing comparisons with Westone UM3x and ER-4S for HD600, Rockit Sounds R-50 and GR07 MKII with HD 25-1 II and TDK BA200 with UM2

I think at the 300-400 price level only dual drivers (and XBA-3 triple driver IEM as the exception) are available...

You can try the TDK BA200, VSonic GR07 MKII, Rockit Sounds R-50 and Fischer DBA-02 MKII

just my opinion based on a lot of research, so might not be entirely accurate lol, since open cans and closed cans both sound different from IEMs anyway

anyway I picked IEMs in this case because you said you are travelling, and for flights I believe isolation is pretty much one of the most important factors

These Dunu Tridents seem like a good back. After some cursory research, it seems like the sound sig would be right up my alley. The good Build quality is also encouraging. Though a bit concerned about sweat getting into the phones and ruining it.

Yes occasionally I've been hard on phones, but most of the time i wrap up carefully and put them in a sleeve at the very least. Yet on average most seem to crap out after a few months.

Think the Westone UM1 lasted me the longest. Used it for running also, quite a bit and it gave out after abt 2 years. Which I'm fine with it I guess at the price.

Hi there,

Do try out the the Sony MDR-1R =)

Skullcandy Aviator as well for slightly more bass

For less than $100,

Can look at this few models =)
- Dunu Trident
- JVC FX1x is quite a bass demon too!

2nd choice - a few in-ears to look at
- Shure SE215 limited edition
- Westone UM1
- JVC FXT-90

Headphones wise can look at the following:
Sony MDR-1R for comfy headphones =)

Thanks Team Stereo! Will be dropping by soon to check them out.

imo if you really want to listen properly (disregarding sheer sound quality) during flights, get an active noise cancelling pair. normal iems like half past six like that.

To be honest I haven't really looked at active noise cancelling as an option. Have always used IEMs and regular passive cans hence the natural preference for what I'm familiar with.

Active cans also seem cumbersome compares to passive phones with the batteries and what not.

Munwai

- Your rig galaxy s3, sansa clip zip
- What type of usage music
- File format used in your source 320 mp3
- Genre of music you listen to kpop, pop
- Earphone in ear
- Other requirements
- Budget <250

I tried the sony xba 4 and i really liked it. It has quad balanced armature drivers. Its very clear and i am hoping to get something similar to the one mentioned.

_death_god

Hi! seem like im back! need some recommendation again this time round!

Your rig - iPhone4, Laptop
What type of usage - music(mostly), gaming
File format used in your source - mp3
Genre of music you listen to - kpop, chinese & english songs, rock house
Earphone type - IEM
Other requirements - mic and volume control would be good, if not mic is fine. prefer more towards a balance!!
Budget - S$100.... maybe can up till S$120...

using beyerdynamic MMX 101iE previously..

thanks!

DigitalChewy

Your rig - note 2, Laptop
What type of usage - music
File format used in your source - flac, wav
Genre of music you listen to -, chinese & english songs,
Earphone type - IEM/ headphone
Other requirements - high clarity and details. good soundstage. [ bass not so important, tight bass is enough]
Currently: tdk ba200 and ath ad 700
Budget: <$800

I am looking for IEM/headphone, wonder which one is more value for money. I really like high clarity and soundstage iem/headphone. Help appreciated. Thanks :)

TeamStereo

Hey guys!

- Budget - $300+
Do try out the Sony MDR-1R might work very well for you

- Your rig galaxy s3, sansa clip zip
- What type of usage music
- File format used in your source 320 mp3
- Genre of music you listen to kpop, pop
- Earphone in ear
- Other requirements
- Budget <250

I tried the sony xba 4 and i really liked it. It has quad balanced armature drivers. Its very clear and i am hoping to get something similar to the one mentioned.
Do try out the TDK BA200 - now retailing at $229 before a 20% off for the month of February!

Earphone type - IEM
Other requirements - mic and volume control would be good, if not mic is fine. prefer more towards a balance!!

thanks!
UE400vi =)

What type of usage - musihttp://www.stereo.com.sg/store/product.php?products_id=1435c
Other requirements - high clarity and details. good soundstage. [ bass not so important, tight bass is enough]

I am looking for IEM/headphone, wonder which one is more value for money. I really like high clarity and soundstage iem/headphone. Help appreciated. Thanks :)
Earphones wise, you can look at the Westone UM3x and the Shure SE535 (try both the normal and red one)
UM3x
SE535

Headphones wise I would say the ATH-ESW11 =)

kaixax555

What type of usage - music

I think if you like the BA200, can jump to Earsonics SM3v2, Earsonics SM64 or Westone UM3x

else can go for customs I guess... a Heir 3a or something?

kelison

- Your rig - creative m300, ipod nano, ipod shuffle
- What type of usage - music
- File format used in your source - mp3 192kbps
- Genre of music you listen to - english pop and rock
- Headphone / earphone type - IEM
- Other requirements - good bass, clarity and vocals
- Budget - $150

currently using a UE MetroFi 170 and considering to get the UE 600. any recommendation whether i should get the UE 600 or other IEMs that are similar or even better?

TeamStereo

- Budget - $150

currently using a UE MetroFi 170 and considering to get the UE 600. any recommendation whether i should get the UE 600 or other IEMs that are similar or even better?
You can try the Fischer Audio Consonance/Eterna =)

weng

- Budget - $150

ue600 is bass weak. the rest of the sound pretty balanced and airy. may not be what you are looking for?

weng

Earphone type - IEM

thanks!

ue400vi :D

purposelesshoward

Asking recommendation:

- Your rig - Gigabyte Mobo->Asus Essence STX Soundcard
- File format used in your source - Flac, MP3
- Genre of music you listen to - English Rock and Classical
- Headphone / earphone type - Over-head Headphone
- Other requirements - Great Bass, Smooth Treble
- Budget - $700

Feel free to ask if I missed out some details.

kaixax555

Earphone type - IEM

thanks!

UE400vi I guess

- Budget - $150

Fischer Consonance or Fischer Eterna

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.