Headlamp Version VEP for Malaysia

sneggg

if you go to Jb centre to install got the windscreen version if you have it delivered to your home tis the headlamp version

Elfblade

I went to TCsens in JB and they stick the interior version for me.
I still have the Interior version that I installed in 2019 b4 COVID-19 hit us. I kept it intact and now have the headlamp version too, 2 VEP tags, one old one new.

English Teacher

You guys need to understand the history of VEP, esp those newbie drivers

Pre-Covid first batch of tags:

Blue and need to be installed in Malaysia. They will stick one sample behind the windscreen and do a test. If pass, they will stick the actual one on windscreen. No pass, is on headlamp

Current batch:

Because they do away with people going to service center and sticking, they mailed the RFID tags out. This is a better solution for us as we dont need to go in to Malaysia and stick. But because they cannot test, default is on headlamp, where by logic, confirm can work

so if you take the headlamp one and stick on the windscreen, by right should work as well (unless your tint blocks). After all, both are passive RFID tags, and I dont see how one is better than the other

Elfblade

You guys need to understand the history of VEP, esp those newbie drivers

Pre-Covid first batch of tags:

Blue and need to be installed in Malaysia. They will stick one sample behind the windscreen and do a test. If pass, they will stick the actual one on windscreen. No pass, is on headlamp

Current batch:

Because they do away with people going to service center and sticking, they mailed the RFID tags out. This is a better solution for us as we dont need to go in to Malaysia and stick. But because they cannot test, default is on headlamp, where by logic, confirm can work

so if you take the headlamp one and stick on the windscreen, by right should work as well (unless your tint blocks). After all, both are passive RFID tags, and I dont see how one is better than the other
Now that I think of it, I like to wash my car in JB. They Zua the entire car with a very strong jet, after prolonged washing I am sure the water jet will cause the sticker to peel or come off? 🄲

SLee1980

I had the VEP tag on my headlamp for slightly more than 3 years. I had fair shares of jet washes, all kinds of tropical weather, the tag is still in tag and there are no signs of wear.

About foul play or accidents that resulted in damaged tag, replacement is definite, but how to about this replacement is not a priority as yet, since the focus is on getting approvals, and tags issued and activated.
This question will come, sooner or later.

As of now, we can only adopt the "wait and see" approach, as there is nothing one can do except wait. Since emails are not responded to, physical visits to the TCSENS office are nearly impossible unless you are able to secure a queue number.

English Teacher

Now that I think of it, I like to wash my car in JB. They Zua the entire car with a very strong jet, after prolonged washing I am sure the water jet will cause the sticker to peel or come off? 🄲

logic is yes, might peel off

headlamps are more likely to be damaged when it comes to accidents as well

And if your car got sensors like auto headlamp / safety sense... sticking something on the headlamp might interfere.

of course, the headlamp beam will be affected

sunsetbay

I read from the fb group, some just take the photo with the tag on the headlamp without actual pasting it then submit~ after that they shift the vep rfid to inside the windscreen~

TitanSmall

I read from the fb group, some just take the photo with the tag on the headlamp without actual pasting it then submit~ after that they shift the vep rfid to inside the windscreen~
yep.. a lot of pple does that...

just wet the tag... then stick on it.. should hold long enough to take photo..

once approved then paste on a holder.. then stick on windscreen... this is the by left method lor...

Bumperbee88

Just checking, everyone who request for VEP to be posted to SGP will receive the headlamp version? Mine is headlamp version and I really skeptical about it but got to just live with it for the time being as already waited almost 3months for it since first applied.
Firstly, stickling on the exterior of the car, it will be exposed to natural elements like rain and sun, not sure if it will wear off, damage or auto drop off over time.
And if you are unlucky enough to meet another unhappy passerby, all he needs to do is tear off your VEP from the headlamp and you are in deep ****.
Or if you get into a minor/major accident that damaged the headlamp, your VEP is also gone.
If you meet any of the situation above, you got to go through the whole cycle of reapplying again and god bless... Cant they just give everyone the one that can be pasted inside the car on the windscreen... Haiz... But now no choice....Just ranting...

BolehLand always have funny stuff, one. :s22:

Bumperbee88

yep.. a lot of pple does that...

just wet the tag... then stick on it.. should hold long enough to take photo..

once approved then paste on a holder.. then stick on windscreen... this is the by left method lor...

So you have any problem, if you go through the gantries/Toll?

TitanSmall

So you have any problem, if you go through the gantries/Toll?
haha i havent even receive my tag man... but i will jus stick to my headlights ba... not going to do anything fanciful...

if kena destroyed or what.. jus dont go in lor...

Bumperbee88

haha i havent even receive my tag man... but i will jus stick to my headlights ba... not going to do anything fanciful...

if kena destroyed or what.. jus dont go in lor...
Just don't get caught for this. Troublesome in other people country, if they found out. It does not cost much.

Dudick

Diao, use double side tape on the backing and put in headlamp take photo, after that just put at the place you desire lah...lol sinkies no wonder
ē©·åˆ™å˜å˜åˆ™é€šļ¼Œ sinkies not ē©· so no need to 变通. what to do

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
I heard , not necessary will install inside the car de. They will check if your car’s windscreen suitable to install a not. So by mail definitely will get the headlamp tag, if u go jb to do , they check your windscreen if the rfid signal can pass thru a not.
good to know this

Emperor_Hippo

Wow, you are the first batch that applied for the VEP when it was first announced?
No. Got 2 separate ones.

The first batch of VEP is the same as this batch:
vep-rfid-malaysia.jpg

There's one that's UNLABELLED that you stick on your headlamp. That one is a Touch n Go RFID sticker that is NOT the Vehicle Entry Permit but a glorified cashcard of sorts that you use to pay your toll with.

TouchnGo_RFID_Malaysia-13.jpg

Why I so familiar? I was the first batch of VEP users, but then I din apply for my 2nd and 3rd car. The VEP Sticker DAMN BLOODY HARD TO REMOVE!!!! For those who want to deregister their old 1st batch VEP that should be expired now, goto this link: https://vepams.jpj.gov.my/ep-portal-fe/#/ep-portal-fe/deregister/status

Elfblade

I had the VEP tag on my headlamp for slightly more than 3 years. I had fair shares of jet washes, all kinds of tropical weather, the tag is still in tag and there are no signs of wear.

About foul play or accidents that resulted in damaged tag, replacement is definite, but how to about this replacement is not a priority as yet, since the focus is on getting approvals, and tags issued and activated.
This question will come, sooner or later.

As of now, we can only adopt the "wait and see" approach, as there is nothing one can do except wait. Since emails are not responded to, physical visits to the TCSENS office are nearly impossible unless you are able to secure a queue number.
Shucks, my friend told me I may have sticked it too low and not in the middle of my headlamp, JPJ may reject my activation! :cry:

qG7S8FY.jpeg

Emperor_Hippo

Shucks, my friend told me I may have sticked it too low and not in the middle of my headlamp, JPJ may reject my activation! :cry:

qG7S8FY.jpeg
Nope.

JPJ doesn't give 2 hoots about where you pasted your TNG RFID sticker.

In fact what JPJ cares about is just this:
vep-rfid-malaysia.jpg

If you have this VEP sticker, yes, you can enter.

But if you have that RFID TNG sticker on your headlamp, the Road Charge will be deducted from there.
If you DO NOT have the RFID TNG sticker on your headlamp, simply stick out your TNG card and tap it on the white reader to deduct the Road Charge.

That is all.

The RFID TNG sticker can also be used when paying toll on the highway. So instead of tapping your TNG card, you just need to drive nearer to the barrier to make sure the RFID reader falls within range and "wakes up" the antenna and deducts the toll charge.

Edit: Oh wait, ju$t received the email. Look$ like JPJ "tied up" with TNG to make sure Sinkies get a TNG RFID $ticker to 'unify' thing$. Wonder what's the kickback? 20%? :s13:

Elfblade

Nope.

JPJ doesn't give 2 hoots about where you pasted your TNG RFID sticker.

In fact what JPJ cares about is just this:
vep-rfid-malaysia.jpg

If you have this VEP sticker, yes, you can enter.

But if you have that RFID TNG sticker on your headlamp, the Road Charge will be deducted from there.
If you DO NOT have the RFID TNG sticker on your headlamp, simply stick out your TNG card and tap it on the white reader to deduct the Road Charge.

That is all.

The RFID TNG sticker can also be used when paying toll on the highway. So instead of tapping your TNG card, you just need to drive nearer to the barrier to make sure the RFID reader falls within range and "wakes up" the antenna and deducts the toll charge.
I have both of these, but the VEP sticker was from 2019, not sure if it is still valid?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.