Heavy rain hits China's flood-stricken Guizhou for second time in a week

lowong44

SHANGHAI: Heavy rain struck China's southwestern Guizhou province again on Saturday (Jun 28), half-submerging the already flood-stricken riverside city of Rongjiang for a second time this week and prompting the evacuation of residents to higher ground.

Located at the confluence of three rivers and home to 300,000 residents, Rongjiang was inundated earlier this week by record downpours that left six dead and forced more than 80,000 people to flee their homes. The amount of rain that fell over 72 hours was double the city's average for June.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/east-asia/china-floods-guizhou-heavy-rain-second-time-week-5208991

RIP ...china big flood always very suspicious wonder if is tofu dreg or purposely open dam to flood low land
Yeah… every time see these massive floods in China, people sure will wonder — is it just extreme weather, poor infrastructure, or got other reasons like opening dams to protect upstream? Guizhou kena so jialat twice in a week, really cannot tahan. Hope the affected people can recover soon. Nature really no joke these days. 😔

zoossh

Texas will do flood prevention when enough people die that the public pressure[market] will entice a private entity to start doing flood mitigation work.

This have to be able to monetise otherwise will not get done.
Would you bankrupt the family just so that no one gets flu in the family? In an ideal situation we do.

Many times there are more practical considerations, for example if you only had 1 million but you need 1 trillion, no matter how important you say something is important (which I am not going to disagree), rob borrow steal still can’t get 1 trillion

the other thing is to save 1 person, you got to kill 5 person, then what is your take? We see it all the time in movies where people are given tough and impossible decisions to make

so if u have one million, it can be used in the same area in a national park or you can used it for a heavily populated area, where would you strategically placed it?

there is one reason why Greta thunbeg wasn’t popular. Because they only demand. They dun fix problem. Not providing solution promise the sky also can

When you are the one looking for money, deciding how best and where to spend it, all the complexities comes in (which to them is blah blah blah). Then you have to be sensible while at the same time get insults from angry folks

By the way my mindset is more socialist. But everything really need to be placed in perspective. It is not taking sides nor bashing which so often some will muddled up that way

zoossh

Yeah… every time see these massive floods in China, people sure will wonder — is it just extreme weather, poor infrastructure, or got other reasons like opening dams to protect upstream? Guizhou kena so jialat twice in a week, really cannot tahan. Hope the affected people can recover soon. Nature really no joke these days. 😔
Combination of all

But you can’t defy nature
So you can only work on other areas

shock

Local TV only report USA flood. Not much on China flood

zoossh

If 1/3 japan kana the tiong mostly will say 报应。
There are tiongs who dun, and who are at least a human being.

So please dun forget there are also decent folks around. Best to separate the two group and not lump them together

boredom2012

Last week is Guangzhou. This week is guizhou. I heard Chengdu is next.

70secs

China stop praying to 老天爺 aka Heavenly Father

archetern

SHANGHAI: Heavy rain struck China's southwestern Guizhou province again on Saturday (Jun 28), half-submerging the already flood-stricken riverside city of Rongjiang for a second time this week and prompting the evacuation of residents to higher ground.

Located at the confluence of three rivers and home to 300,000 residents, Rongjiang was inundated earlier this week by record downpours that left six dead and forced more than 80,000 people to flee their homes. The amount of rain that fell over 72 hours was double the city's average for June.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/east-asia/china-floods-guizhou-heavy-rain-second-time-week-5208991

RIP ...china big flood always very suspicious wonder if is tofu dreg or purposely open dam to flood low land

Huh? flooding has always impacted China for thousands of years. Yellow River for eg. is also known as the Sorrow of China due to massive floods and damage it caused. The Dams are built to control the flooding issue as well as to generate electricity.

archetern

Doubt so

people who go Japan and people who go china are different types of, according to some, “weeboos”

so if I’m not going Japan, I will go Korea or tw, more similar to sg and to each other
No many people who are going to Japan has switched to China, myself included. Colleagues are doing that too. They want to take nice pictures.

zoossh

Huh? flooding has always impacted China for thousands of years. Yellow River for eg. is also known as the Sorrow of China due to massive floods and damage it caused. The Dams are built to control the flooding issue as well as to generate electricity.
But turn out to create more problems

Ensuring drainage alternatives is much more expensive and gives no economic returns. But in the long run, if you look at the damages, it is worthwhile.

However damages to whom? Maybe if damages is more of the properties of the civilians but money need to be forked out by the gov then obviously that can be the most crucial reason for the current outcome

archetern

But turn out to create more problems

Ensuring drainage alternatives is much more expensive and gives no economic returns. But in the long run, if you look at the damages, it is worthwhile.

However damages to whom? Maybe if damages is more of the properties of the civilians but money need to be forked out by the gov then obviously that can be the most crucial reason for the current outcome
create more problems? it generated electricity and is a good tool for flood control.

Dams have been used in China for thousands of years. There is a reason why.

Damages are to civilian farmlands and death. China has always been impacted by floods, thats why they pray to the Dragon Kings.

enigmastar

Flooding along yellow river is such a common news in china is like our tpe morning traffic jam. The media don't even bother reporting it. Always hear from colleagues they have to be careful if live near yellow river, at times they need evacuate their old home. Best not to visit these area during raining season like now.

win_man

Last year July 2024 also same news la. Keep spreading fear about overflooding the yellow river banks and heavy rains in Hangzhou and Guizhou. When i went in early August, everything was clean, dry and hot. End up all these places that kena are outskirts of city area.

zoossh

create more problems? it generated electricity and is a good tool for flood control.
Theoretically yes. But it was tested proven and now we see the results

Dams need to be maintained. When it is warped, risk increase exponentially, even if it didn’t collapsed now. Dams have capacity limits, it doesn’t need to overflow before it rupture. And if u need to release the water before it rupture, where does the water goes?

so if you dam up the rain, you get less flood for a while, but a bigger flood with more water instantly.

So if your rooftop is 3m high. Do you want 2m high water for a month and enough time to evacuate? Or do you want 10m high water that last two days, comes instantly with zero warning (or someone reassuring you safe) with two seconds to run (to nowhere).

Dams only good if safety concept is there and other drainage being built, and the latter is going to cost hell a lot. Which means you may have to set apart the dream of being a superpower by maybe half or few centuries. Their choice

archetern

Theoretically yes. But it was tested proven and now we see the results

Dams need to be maintained. When it is warped, risk increase exponentially, even if it didn’t collapsed now. Dams have capacity limits, it doesn’t need to overflow before it rupture. And if u need to release the water before it rupture, where does the water goes?

so if you dam up the rain, you get less flood for a while, but a bigger flood with more water instantly.

So if your rooftop is 3m high. Do you want 2m high water for a month and enough time to evacuate? Or do you want 10m high water that last two days, comes instantly with zero warning (or someone reassuring you safe) with two seconds to run (to nowhere).

Dams only good if safety concept is there and other drainage being built, and the latter is going to cost hell a lot. Which means you may have to set apart the dream of being a superpower by maybe half or few centuries. Their choice
what results? Dams are commonly used around the world. Japan and the Netherderlands have plenty, so do you mean they shouldnt have been built in the first place?

Do you think they do not have weather forecasting systems in place and plans to mitigate overflow risks due to expectations of heavy rain and flooding?

These days they integrate AI and IoT to optimize gate releases and predict overflow risks.

Why do you tihnk so many countries around the world are still building dams for thousands of years? If they are so unreliable like you said?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.