[Help] Downsizing a PC

Koenig168

Really grateful for your suggestions!
My current mATX case is 35 x 35 x 18, and I'm not sure if I can find any casing that is significantly smaller than the one I have.
Even at this size, I still found it a hassle to carry it all the way to SLS, which is why I created this thread =:p

The HP Slimline casing is roughly the same L X B but the width is less than 10 cm so around half the volume of your present case. I have two of these and the thin casing makes it easy to carry around with one hand. Perhaps you can try looking for something similar.

c02844332.jpg

sadboy

I think you can start to build a new itx since the hardware on your current machine all are old Liao.

Otherwise stay put with what u have because you don't really carry the desktop to SLS so often.

wwenze

Hmm hold up

I see the main drive behind this change is that "Couldnt fix it myself, so had to carry it all the way down to SLS."

Which I interpret as you're not very good with computers

But the suggestions here either requires you to be at least somewhat good with computer assembly and software or you're fked if it spoils (for NUC / Tablets bought from overseas)

Just go SLS and ask them for the smallest PC they can give you

blengend

Thanks everyone for patiently explaining everything to me, and recommending me the various tower case! Otherwise I won't even know these options exist. I will definitely take a look at all of them.

The trolley idea is quite creative, but I'm too lazy for that hahaha.

Hmm hold up

I see the main drive behind this change is that "Couldnt fix it myself, so had to carry it all the way down to SLS."

Which I interpret as you're not very good with computers

But the suggestions here either requires you to be at least somewhat good with computer assembly and software or you're fked if it spoils (for NUC / Tablets bought from overseas)

Just go SLS and ask them for the smallest PC they can give you

Yeah you're right, I had some software issue when I tried to upgrade to Windows 10. The screen wouldn't display anything, keep say out of range, so I cannot do anything. Anyway that's all fixed now.

I would say the basic stuff I am still okay, coz it's abit like lego? Just buy the part, and make sure it is the correct size. Then just put it inside. :s13:
I actually assembled this rig myself a loooong time ago using youtube.

sacredrays

cannot troubleshoot and fix yourself then you got a new reason to buy new comp lor.. :s13::s13::s13:

ZrE0_Cha0s

Thanks everyone for patiently explaining everything to me, and recommending me the various tower case! Otherwise I won't even know these options exist. I will definitely take a look at all of them.

The trolley idea is quite creative, but I'm too lazy for that hahaha.

Yeah you're right, I had some software issue when I tried to upgrade to Windows 10. The screen wouldn't display anything, keep say out of range, so I cannot do anything. Anyway that's all fixed now.

I would say the basic stuff I am still okay, coz it's abit like lego? Just buy the part, and make sure it is the correct size. Then just put it inside. :s13:
I actually assembled this rig myself a loooong time ago using youtube.

yup building pc are now like lego. just plug in the right place and u are done :D

wwenze

And if TS can fix it himself then he won't need to bring down the whole system to SLS and hence no need to downsize ya?

blengend

And if TS can fix it himself then he won't need to bring down the whole system to SLS and hence no need to downsize ya?

Hardware still okay lah, but software really jialat. Most of the time dont know how to fix, only know how to clean install.

ashhong

since only surfing, just get a cheap android tablet.

that is what i would recommend too. either a tablet or if your phone size is huge, just use the phone.

for just web surfing, phone or tablet is more than sufficient.

i had a few friends and relatives that only rely on their tablet for surfing web and they do not have a PC.

hawthorne

I'm using the first gen Pentium Intel NUC for my htpc. Generally ok for for web surfing and FHD video playback. Bear in mind it does not come with ram and ssd. So need to budget for it.

Else a Chromebook/ Chromebox might suffice

hawthorne

Sometimes is u got no spare hardware to use for troubleshooting and no one else to lend u the hardware. My recent rig is like that. So bobian bring back to shop ask them for help

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.