[HELP] Entry level gaming pc build

Providence

Based on my current setup, I think I have to overhaul everything since most of the parts are damn old. :s13:

terry1

actually investing in both a cheap g4560 and a cheap gtx 1060 6gb now would get you about 50+ fps (and i am being conservative) in any typical game (eg battlefield 4, etc) in moderate to ultra settings.

50+ fps is more than adequate for gaming. this would last you for the next few years, and until then, to extend the life of your setup, you would buy the 7th generation I7 which by then would have dropped in price.

That should again last you for another few years until your next cheap purchase. my two cents' worth ...... :D

shengheee

actually investing in both a cheap g4560 and a cheap gtx 1060 6gb now would get you about 50+ fps (and i am being conservative) in any typical game (eg battlefield 4, etc) in moderate to ultra settings.

50+ fps is more than adequate for gaming. this would last you for the next few years, and until then, to extend the life of your setup, you would buy the 7th generation I7 which by then would have dropped in price.

That should again last you for another few years until your next cheap purchase. my two cents' worth ...... :D

Won't the GPU be bottleneck?

ZrE0_Cha0s

The cost for those stuff i checked against Lazada, Amazon and SLS. It sums up to be about SGD1.2k?

Ok great! Thanks. Just thinking if i should buy my GPU from Amazon a not. If not i will have to buy from zotac as craz03 mentioned.

u can consider which warranty support u would like to go, for amazon u have to ship back on your own and for local warranty, u might need to take a half day leave to make a trip down to check with the AD if they have stock maybe still can do an exchange, else wait for a few weeks to get back your gpu.

ZrE0_Cha0s

Still a bit xiao confused. HAHA

in other words, all these are power efficiency load, from top to bottom, bronze, sliver, gold, platinum and titanium. but basic consumer like u bronze and sliver are more than enough.

another way of saying is that at 20% power load, psu make it use 80% of it.

which means your electricity bill won't look so high.

shengheee

u can consider which warranty support u would like to go, for amazon u have to ship back on your own and for local warranty, u might need to take a half day leave to make a trip down to check with the AD if they have stock maybe still can do an exchange, else wait for a few weeks to get back your gpu.

sian leh, amazon got better deals for GPU as compared to Singapore. Meh. I'm torn between Amazon and Lazada.

GTX 1060 is consider a beast card when u compare to previous GPU, as it performances is within GTX 970 and GTX 980. ;)

You mean GTX 1060 3gb or 6gb. Actually i watched some youtube video, some people say that they are both the same leh.

in other words, all these are power efficiency load, from top to bottom, bronze, sliver, gold, platinum and titanium. but basic consumer like u bronze and sliver are more than enough.

another way of saying is that at 20% power load, psu make it use 80% of it.

which means your electricity bill won't look so high.

This PSU thing i still don't understand. :/

tmfwy

sian leh, amazon got better deals for GPU as compared to Singapore. Meh. I'm torn between Amazon and Lazada.

You mean GTX 1060 3gb or 6gb. Actually i watched some youtube video, some people say that they are both the same leh.

This PSU thing i still don't understand. :/
FOr PSU thing, don't worry too much about it.
The % thingy is with regards to efficiency
Eg: to generate 100W of power, an 80% PSU uses up 120W. A90% uses up 110W, a 100% PSU uses 100W.

Why i say you don't have to worry
If you are a closet gamer who plays games only after work, the amount you use / save is negligible compared to the addtional cost you have to pay from a bronze to gold. Most modern PSUs are at least 70-75% efficient. So if possible, at least get an 80+ bronze. :)

You only have to worry about the power if
1. You are using the computer for more than 18h a day. Eg: Server / Mining...etc
2. You are running an office / lan shop with point 1 as a concern.

Having said that
There is also another point of view
Using a built in PSU or using a power brick
Generally using a power brick is more efficient than a built in psu

Figures from the top of my head coz its been some time since i ran the tests
Same processor, non-k, not overclocked
A DIY Desktop I7-4790 with 16gb ram, 1x ssd 1x hdd GTX760 uses at idle, 45w-50w with SFX 450W 80+ Gold
A G20AJ Desktop I7-4790 with 16gb ram 1x ssd 1x hdd GTX1060 at idle uses 30w-35w with a 230W Power Brick

Hence when building a PC
1. Consider the game and usage scenarios FIRST
2. Consider itchy finger level ( hyper itchy upgrade every once in a while or want to last for looooooooooooong time
3. Conside clumsiness / large fingers factor ( no offence but you will understand why later )
4. Consider how bling you want the casing to be ( RGB Lights...etc )

These will determine the components you will fit inside.
If you are adventurous strong, and want to tinker, you will be better off with a large casing.
If you are mature, and don't have IT resources, you want an easy to bring around casing ( imaging lugging a tower case made of SECC steel to your friend / shop to troubleshoot everytime... )

ZrE0_Cha0s

@Shenghee, as I have said u can consider this for yourself which support u want. If you are fine with either way, den let your wallet speak up ;)

As for 3GB and 6GB GTX 1060, the reason why I never stated is because there isn't much difference, since u are just a casual gamer, but title like PUGB, u dun pin so much hope to get a smooth experience since the game isn't that we'll optimized. You will need tweak some setting on your own.

ceestudent

Can ask the expert here. Plan to build new PC with coffee lake processor. My budget is 900-1000 excluding monitor, ssd, hdd, keyboard. I'm looking for something similar like this build in dell ( http://www.dell.com/sg/p/inspiron-3668-desktop/pd?oc=w2161232sgw10&model_id=inspiron-3668-desktop

My usage is mainly for entertainment, light gaming, occasionally photoshop. I'm using 2 monitor at the moment. Will prefer to have small form instead of ITX and have Wireless AC connectivity.

Can you guys recommend me the part please. Probably with I5-8400 processor and have 16gb of ram. As for graphic card, something like GTX 1050 will do.

Thanks.

Psycovirus

Can ask the expert here. Plan to build new PC with coffee lake processor. My budget is 900-1000 excluding monitor, ssd, hdd, keyboard. I'm looking for something similar like this build in dell ( http://www.dell.com/sg/p/inspiron-3668-desktop/pd?oc=w2161232sgw10&model_id=inspiron-3668-desktop

My usage is mainly for entertainment, light gaming, occasionally photoshop. I'm using 2 monitor at the moment. Will prefer to have small form instead of ITX and have Wireless AC connectivity.

Can you guys recommend me the part please. Probably with I5-8400 processor and have 16gb of ram. As for graphic card, something like GTX 1050 will do.

Thanks.

You should start another thread.

Don't go with Intel i5-8400 at this moment. No B360 or H370 Motherboards out till later next year. z370 isn;t worth to get the i5-8400 for, with your budget of 900-1000. I doubt budget will be enough as well...

Already $1130... Any cheaper Modular PSU?

ceestudent

You should start another thread.

Don't go with Intel i5-8400 at this moment. No B360 or H370 Motherboards out till later next year. z370 isn;t worth to get the i5-8400 for, with your budget of 900-1000. I doubt budget will be enough as well...

Already $1130... Any cheaper Modular PSU?
Will it help if i change to ryzen?
I can consider to just use 1 stick of 8gb at the moment.

Thanks

Hailgod

Might want to consider using a 8GB Ram first..

1x 8gb for ryzen is not recommended. even on intel systems, dual channel can improve performance by quite abit. i got ~30% higher fps in dota going to dual channel on a 7700hq/1050ti laptop

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.