HELP: First time wearing spectacles

Firestorm1978

My eyesight seems to be getting worse. A little blurry when I try to look at things/words from afar. If the words are too small, also finds it a little hard to see even when I am near. Now, I guess my eyesight is at the early stage of deterioration (cos everything still seems quite clear except for the above scenarios).

I am contemplating of having my eyes checked and possibly getting a pair of specs. However, I have been advised by many not to do it yet as wearing specs will only worsen my eyesight further (i.e. my eyes will get used to the lens and 'adjust' according to it). It also means that in future, whenever I don't wear my specs, the images will become even more blurry than before as my eyes have been 'adjusted' to the lens. It will only become worse. Also, heard that wearing specs is a hassle (e.g. uncomfortable when perspiring/ rash). Should I opt for contact lens instead?

Thus, now in a dilemma. Please advise. Thank you.

standarture

I wear glasses and have never found them a hassle. Those people are wearing those stylish ones with no nose pads or poorly fitted glasses. Glasses do not worsen eyesight. You cant stop what is genetic or caused by another factor lol. Its common sense. Seems like you kenna lao hua liao. 99% of people will kenna once 40.

Firestorm1978

I wear glasses and have never found them a hassle. Those people are wearing those stylish ones with no nose pads or poorly fitted glasses. Glasses do not worsen eyesight. You cant stop what is genetic or caused by another factor lol. Its common sense. Seems like you kenna lao hua liao. 99% of people will kenna once 40.
Ya, sibei sian. I am already an ah pek. Used to have perfect eyesight since young sob....

So glasses will not 'worsen' it? Cos now I guess I am at the early stage of lao hua. If I wear specs, I worry the images become more blurry after my eyes have got used to the lens.

MyWill

Ya, sibei sian. I am already an ah pek. Used to have perfect eyesight since young sob....

So glasses will not 'worsen' it? Cos now I guess I am at the early stage of lao hua. If I wear specs, I worry the images become more blurry after my eyes have got used to the lens.
Ah pek? Early stage lao hua? Dont match.

Shutterbox

If u dun wear glasses to help you see, do you haves need to strain harder to see?
Isn't that doing more damage to it, than having it eye muscles relax better with glasses?

Monstruo^

Erm it is BS. The fact that you cannot see clearly means your eyesight ish affected and you need glasses.

If wearing glasses is a hassle, contact lens ish even worse. If you don’t take care properly you will get infections and dry eyes. Also nobody in this world only wear contact lenses even when at home and don’t own a pair of glasses.

Sorry to say it is very ridiculous for you to even think these ways.

From someone who is short sighted and wear contact lenses for many many years.

1982-1994

Just go polyclinic and ask the doc to refer you to an eye specialist

coyote

My eyesight seems to be getting worse. A little blurry when I try to look at things/words from afar. If the words are too small, also finds it a little hard to see even when I am near. Now, I guess my eyesight is at the early stage of deterioration (cos everything still seems quite clear except for the above scenarios).

I am contemplating of having my eyes checked and possibly getting a pair of specs. However, I have been advised by many not to do it yet as wearing specs will only worsen my eyesight further (i.e. my eyes will get used to the lens and 'adjust' according to it). It also means that in future, whenever I don't wear my specs, the images will become even more blurry than before as my eyes have been 'adjusted' to the lens. It will only become worse. Also, heard that wearing specs is a hassle (e.g. uncomfortable when perspiring/ rash). Should I opt for contact lens instead?

Thus, now in a dilemma. Please advise. Thank you.

46 years without glasses, you are already blessed. Just go to any optical shop to have your vision checked. If you needed glasses, just prescribe a pair. Without glasses you can't drive or can't see the materials presented in the meetings, that's dangerous.

coyote

Just go polyclinic and ask the doc to refer you to an eye specialist

Please do not waste our medical resources. Blur vision, immediately ask for eye specialist? Are you serious?

Normally, people just go to an optical shop and prescribe a pair of glasses.

galmongie

I'm trying to delay wearing as much as possible.
Avoided it for decades, but now facing same problem as ts.

Ethan_

So, is cannot see thing at far distance or cannot see things up close? Sounds like presbyopia but read like not. :s22:

suuhhc

Go & have a eye check first at optical shop then get a glasses. If not affecting u much can just wear when u r reading, driving or doing serious work & not all the time. I've sensitive skin but don't feel uncomfortable or get rashes with glasses on for >12hrs daily. Take good eye supplement will also help but don't solely depend on it, if still need glasses still have to wear.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.