HELP: First time wearing spectacles

AngelRomeo

My eyesight seems to be getting worse. A little blurry when I try to look at things/words from afar. If the words are too small, also finds it a little hard to see even when I am near. Now, I guess my eyesight is at the early stage of deterioration (cos everything still seems quite clear except for the above scenarios).

I am contemplating of having my eyes checked and possibly getting a pair of specs. However, I have been advised by many not to do it yet as wearing specs will only worsen my eyesight further (i.e. my eyes will get used to the lens and 'adjust' according to it). It also means that in future, whenever I don't wear my specs, the images will become even more blurry than before as my eyes have been 'adjusted' to the lens. It will only become worse. Also, heard that wearing specs is a hassle (e.g. uncomfortable when perspiring/ rash). Should I opt for contact lens instead?

Thus, now in a dilemma. Please advise. Thank you.
better wear than cannot see then get into accident

If you need glasses to see what you should normally be able to without glasses, then you should get pair, plain and simple. Don't strain your eyes to see what you can't.

43 year old here, I've had to wear these horrible things since I was 9, so that makes it 34 years. Hated them and still dislike them. My eyesight deteriorated when I was in school but stabilized when I was about 20 or so. Contacts ftw. Never had an eye infection or whatever due to contacts all these 25 years I've been wearing them. So it's quite a personal thing at the end of the day.

Monstruo^

it's a hassle to wear specs
don't feel like spending the money if need to make a new one again soon
No need to keep making a new one unless it broke. Just try to maintain the degree will do. If need to wear but never wear it will not do you any good also.

jumpthepig

My eyesight seems to be getting worse. A little blurry when I try to look at things/words from afar. If the words are too small, also finds it a little hard to see even when I am near. Now, I guess my eyesight is at the early stage of deterioration (cos everything still seems quite clear except for the above scenarios).

I am contemplating of having my eyes checked and possibly getting a pair of specs. However, I have been advised by many not to do it yet as wearing specs will only worsen my eyesight further (i.e. my eyes will get used to the lens and 'adjust' according to it). It also means that in future, whenever I don't wear my specs, the images will become even more blurry than before as my eyes have been 'adjusted' to the lens. It will only become worse. Also, heard that wearing specs is a hassle (e.g. uncomfortable when perspiring/ rash). Should I opt for contact lens instead?

Thus, now in a dilemma. Please advise. Thank you.

Presbyopia (老花眼)-Presbyopia is a normal part of aging. Everyone gets presbyopia as they get older, usually after age 45.

$2 reading glasses - Problem solved. Save money.

galmongie

No need to keep making a new one unless it broke. Just try to maintain the degree will do. If need to wear but never wear it will not do you any good also.
how to maintain degree
Presbyopia (老花眼)-Presbyopia is a normal part of aging. Everyone gets presbyopia as they get older, usually after age 45.

$2 reading glasses - Problem solved. Save money.
where to buy?

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
get it check by a specialist, just in case u know

it could be an issue, more than meets the eye

pun not intended :o

luei74

I'm trying to avoid too.
Few months back also having the 老花眼 symptoms and get a pair to prepare.

But mine seems like intermittent, I try not to wear it when I'm able to see clearly my laptop. 50 yo ah pek LEEplying 🙏🙏

kamipify

Yes will be come reliant on it , pick one that fit you , it will not be uncomfortable unless u got super big head where no glasses can fit you

KPO_SAHM

I wear glasses and have never found them a hassle. Those people are wearing those stylish ones with no nose pads or poorly fitted glasses. Glasses do not worsen eyesight. You cant stop what is genetic or caused by another factor lol. Its common sense. Seems like you kenna lao hua liao. 99% of people will kenna once 40.

Usually lao Hua would hit early for those who have perfect eye sight .

oddbasket

You have presbyopia, can affect near to moderate distance like computer screen. Should just go test. U probably have very little myopia that didn't affect your vision much until your presbyopia kicked in and noticed blurriness when you refocus from near to far.

OWNDAYS has a promo for free basic tier progressive lens upgrade which usually costs $100 extra.

Gixxerfied

Old flower eyes riao rah..

I'm almost 45...Been wearing specs since 9, got use to it anyway..Recently did a pair of progressive, my eyes have been enlighten :s13:

But tiagong as your lao hua gets worst, your myopia sorts of gets better..Then in future cataract surgery, suddenly no need correction lenses.. :s13:

Firestorm1978

He just listens to all the tiagong and ignoring the facts. :o Mybfd.
Hi friend,
Relax la. I have been hearing all the tiagongs from some people around me ma. That's why I hope to find the facts from the majority of people here who wear specs ma. So don't say that I ignore the facts la. If what you guys said are based on facts (including you, whom I presume), I will definitely appreciate leh. Not forgetting I have never had shortsightedness or lao hua etc in my entire life lor.

jumpthepig

Usually lao Hua would hit early for those who have perfect eye sight .
Yes…i had perfect eye sight till my late 40… Now I have been using reading glasses for decades already, without it i cannot read anything. :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.