Help girls in top schools cope with life’s challenges

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

elimmel

only girls need help?
only top schools?
students in not so top schools also face peer stress, networking challenges. maybe not so high ses level la...

hachi

only girls need help?
only top schools?
students in not so top schools also face peer stress, networking challenges. maybe not so high ses level la...
Their bullying are different for good schools.. Better schools are at another level that will cause stress and mental health

shirleytham91

Forum: Help girls in top schools cope with life’s challenges​

I thought my own family’s experience was an isolated one until I read the article (New NIE study to examine well-being and behaviour of girls in top secondary schools, June 10). According to the article, the study was sparked by research findings in the US, which showed that youth in high-achieving schools showed clinically significant anxiety and depression about six to seven times higher than national norms.

My daughter was a student in a top girls’ school until two years ago. Her four years in this school were possibly the darkest period in her life.

Once a smiling and bubbly young girl, she became a shadow of herself, wracked with anxiety, self-doubt, and occasional crying episodes. She often questioned why she had chosen this school, and said she never felt she belonged.

She told me that many girls in her school go there to “network” – it’s not about making friends or enjoying each other’s company, but to make connections with girls of a certain background. Isn’t school meant to be for learning and making life-long friends?

My daughter also noticed cuts on a former classmate’s thighs. Not knowing what to do with the knowledge, she kept this to herself for two weeks before confiding in me.

I hope the findings from the new NIE study will be able to help students who are going through these issues.

As parents, we also need to teach our children skills that will help them face life’s challenges. We should also let our children know that they can turn to their parents or a responsible adult, who can help them work through their problems.

Vivien Goh Choon Lian

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...rls-in-top-schools-cope-with-lifes-challenges
Wah, after reading the letter “Help girls in top schools cope with life’s challenges”, I really feel the pain, sia. I thought only my child kena like that, but now I see, a lot of other students also same-same.

NintendoSwitch

Forum: Help girls in top schools cope with life’s challenges​

I thought my own family’s experience was an isolated one until I read the article (New NIE study to examine well-being and behaviour of girls in top secondary schools, June 10). According to the article, the study was sparked by research findings in the US, which showed that youth in high-achieving schools showed clinically significant anxiety and depression about six to seven times higher than national norms.

My daughter was a student in a top girls’ school until two years ago. Her four years in this school were possibly the darkest period in her life.

Once a smiling and bubbly young girl, she became a shadow of herself, wracked with anxiety, self-doubt, and occasional crying episodes. She often questioned why she had chosen this school, and said she never felt she belonged.

She told me that many girls in her school go there to “network” – it’s not about making friends or enjoying each other’s company, but to make connections with girls of a certain background. Isn’t school meant to be for learning and making life-long friends?

My daughter also noticed cuts on a former classmate’s thighs. Not knowing what to do with the knowledge, she kept this to herself for two weeks before confiding in me.

I hope the findings from the new NIE study will be able to help students who are going through these issues.

As parents, we also need to teach our children skills that will help them face life’s challenges. We should also let our children know that they can turn to their parents or a responsible adult, who can help them work through their problems.

Vivien Goh Choon Lian

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...rls-in-top-schools-cope-with-lifes-challenges
Dis Vivien first day in Ba Sing Se? All the while locally born shitizens noe dat top schools r onlie meant for networking wat. Make it true n got iron lice bowl at the end. Nid jod juz phonecall to any classmate and got it liao. Almost as good as being a talent.

elimmel

Their bullying are different for good schools.. Better schools are at another level that will cause stress and mental health
point is all students face such stress and help should be given across the board, not just girls or top schools.
the schools already have counsellors so maybe more collaboration with parents? or these parents feel it's the school's responsibility only? :rolleyes:

Scarlet Tea

the surprising thing is the parent doesnt know that the purpose of so called 'top school' is simply networking
What’s the networking abt? Just some social network for rich tai tai mothers to sit down drink high tea and talk abt whose kids perform better?

hachi

point is all students face such stress and help should be given across the board, not just girls or top schools.
the schools already have counsellors so maybe more collaboration with parents? or these parents feel it's the school's responsibility only? :rolleyes:
Not sure... But I know of parents called police just because of small issue like daughter wanted an English name for herself... The wicked comments from her peers are at another level...

The print screen her parents showed, the language, vocab and sentence structures used are I think on newspaper reporter level at sec 2.

But they choose to use it on peers..

hachi

What’s the networking abt? Just some social network for rich tai tai mothers to sit down drink high tea and talk abt whose kids perform better?
The PSG of a certain boys schools are all ladies... Really tai tai level...

think_too_much

エステ好きな野郎

You need to read this article https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-being-and-behaviour-in-top-secondary-schools

Teenage girls are more likely to develop self esteem issues as compared to boys.

Being in a class with lots of girls during my sec 3 and 4 years, I kinda agree with that. Saw lots of drama among those girls while we 7 guys simply chill and do our stuff like to TCSS and play ball.
more likely doesn't mean boys won't develop too loh. just sayin'

English Teacher

I think these type of gender discriminatory studies need to be defunded.
The studies need to do both boys-only schools and girls-only schools, not focus on just girls.

Anyway, this parent here, is like humble-bragging.

boys got advantage from birth vs girls.
need to level the playing field

boys got priviledge to serve NS and enjoy higher starting pay vs girls

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.