Help needed for desktop upgrade

helpaboyineed

As the rma for EVGA is quite good (base on one of the hwz user over here.) and if u have any issues, email to EVGA and see if they can transfer ur card to their taiwan side, so u can just send it over to EVGA taiwan and wait for it to come back. (at least your waiting time wont be longer than u send to usa.)

if u have the budget get FTW or SC (cant rmb which is better.)

Hi, was just looking at my current PSU's specs, and realised it only has one 6 pin connector and a 6+2pin connector, while the GTX 1070 FTW requires 2 8-pin connectors, that means I cant get the GTX 1070 FTW or I need to change a PSU ah?

ZrE0_Cha0s

Hi, was just looking at my current PSU's specs, and realised it only has one 6 pin connector and a 6+2pin connector, while the GTX 1070 FTW requires 2 8-pin connectors, that means I cant get the GTX 1070 FTW or I need to change a PSU ah?

whats your psu? (sorry forgotten =:p)

anyway u can still buy those molex to 8pin connector. unless ur psu really have no molex den get a sata cable.

* but i rmb someone saying it does provide such cable (molex/sata to 8pin)

whereas if u need to buy a new psu can go for SF or corsair and FSP.

helpaboyineed

whats your psu? (sorry forgotten =:p)

anyway u can still buy those molex to 8pin connector. unless ur psu really have no molex den get a sata cable.

* but i rmb someone saying it does provide such cable (molex/sata to 8pin)

whereas if u need to buy a new psu can go for SF or corsair and FSP.

er my psu is the Seasonic S12ii 520W, does the GPU come with an adapter? If it does then I can just plug one of my PSU 6pin into the adapter then plug the adapter into the GPU ah?

ZrE0_Cha0s

er my psu is the Seasonic S12ii 520W, does the GPU come with an adapter? If it does then I can just plug one of my PSU 6pin into the adapter then plug the adapter into the GPU ah?

which adapter? and some more 1 6pin?

edit: after googling it does comes with 2 8 pins : 2 550 + 100 mm - 8/6 pins attached

sauces: https://seasonic.com/product/s12ii-520/

ZrE0_Cha0s

PS just now read on some site that it comes with only one 6+2 and one 6, maybe buay zhun. So I should be ok to go with the EVGA GTX 1070 FTW ah?

well actually your psu already have 2 x 8 pin connector so u dun need to get any adapter. check the links i have shown u that u have that. and yes u definitely wont have any issues with using that gpu.

helpaboyineed

well actually your psu already have 2 x 8 pin connector so u dun need to get any adapter. check the links i have shown u that u have that. and yes u definitely wont have any issues with using that gpu.

Hi, just opened up my casing to check and realised that will need to remove one piece of metallic thingy at the right side, and do not want to risk breaking anything removing it ah, so have decided to bring my pc down to sls to buy and ask the person to help install. Does the Palit GTX 1070 SJS still have any display issues or is it okay alr? PS uh ask alot question end up still not self installing :o

ZrE0_Cha0s

Hi, just opened up my casing to check and realised that will need to remove one piece of metallic thingy at the right side, and do not want to risk breaking anything removing it ah, so have decided to bring my pc down to sls to buy and ask the person to help install. Does the Palit GTX 1070 SJS still have any display issues or is it okay alr? PS uh ask alot question end up still not self installing :o

well i still cant say much of this issues myself cos so far cos a lot of them were saying that it also affects the rest of the GTX 1070 some have such questions but seems unanswered or wasn't clear end up what they did to get it working again...other than that ppl hwz did mentioned that they have such issues. so right now if u dun mind, can consider zotac as the 2nd choice.:o

helpaboyineed

well i still cant say much of this issues myself cos so far cos a lot of them were saying that it also affects the rest of the GTX 1070 some have such questions but seems unanswered or wasn't clear end up what they did to get it working again...other than that ppl hwz did mentioned that they have such issues. so right now if u dun mind, can consider zotac as the 2nd choice.:o

alright, will keep the Zotac GTX 1070 AMP as a viable option. Is the AMP Extreme worth the ~$80 more?

ZrE0_Cha0s

alright, will keep the Zotac GTX 1070 AMP as a viable option. Is the AMP Extreme worth the ~$80 more?

Well not really unless u are not gonna manual OC, ur system air flow isn't that good and dun want to sli. Can consider getting that GPU.

helpaboyineed

Well not really unless u are not gonna manual OC, ur system air flow isn't that good and dun want to sli. Can consider getting that GPU.

Don't think I will go into SLI anytime in the near future anyways, would u recommend that I get some extra CPU fans? I believe my current desktop inside only got 1? fan eh.

ZrE0_Cha0s

Don't think I will go into SLI anytime in the near future anyways, would u recommend that I get some extra CPU fans? I believe my current desktop inside only got 1? fan eh.
Wow your case only have 1 fan? Did u put it in the front or at the back? If can try install another 3 more. 2 at the front, 1 at back and 1 at the top. So that at least your system airflow should be balanced.

helpaboyineed

Wow your case only have 1 fan? Did u put it in the front or at the back? If can try install another 3 more. 2 at the front, 1 at back and 1 at the top. So that at least your system airflow should be balanced.

if i never remember wrongly the fan is from the casing default one:s13: buy 3 fan need around how much? my casing specs says only can fit 3 fans including the default one eh

ZrE0_Cha0s

if i never remember wrongly the fan is from the casing default one:s13: buy 3 fan need around how much? my casing specs says only can fit 3 fans including the default one eh

Not sure cos your case secs indicate so many different size of case fan. But u can look into cybermind pricelist for those 2 fans. (Since u have 1 pre-installed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.