Help on upgrade desktop CPU, MOBO & RAM

foosoomin

Hi forumers,

Can recommend me the following

1) Gigabyte mobo with Core i5 4570 CPU, similar to my previous Asus P5Q Pro

2) DDR3 RAM, speed, memory size ( 1pc or 2pc )

Price around how much ?

Which SLS shop to purchase

My usage as follow

Play PC game like Romance of the three kingdom part xi ( strategy version ), surf Internet, browse video, listen to MP3 songs, use Office application, view PDF files.

All the standard use lah

Appreciate any help here

foosoomin

expert, please gai siao a mobo with wifi & bluetooth connectivity

foosoomin

thank you for good reply, hengheng

I wanna try Gigabyte mobo, the basic type, but can put 2 graphic cards. Which one can gai siao ?

as for RAM, can gai siao which type ?

foosoomin

hi Asus @ sg,

my previous mobo was Asus P5Q Pro, it just died after 5 years 3 months use.

so, I gonna try Gigabyte one

ASUS@SG

hi Asus @ sg,

my previous mobo was Asus P5Q Pro, it just died after 5 years 3 months use.

so, I gonna try Gigabyte one

Dear foosoomin,

Why you want to try other brand? when ASUS board can last 5 years for you?

EatSnakeWarrior

Asus b85m Vanguard + 4570 ~ $385 (5yr warranty)
Ram - Adata DDR 3 8gb ~ 85

buy from tradepac

if you need a gpu, just buy a $100~ one at market place

hengheng220

Dear foosoomin,

Hahaha Asus bro give him the freedom to choose ma.

Ram any ram also can cause not much diff between brands in terms of performance, just get the most value one. for gpu don't think you need 2 gpu for your usage ba. As for mobo ah gigabyte abit limited if want just get any cheaper ones h80 plus mobo other than z series if you don't mind matx can try Gigabyte H81M-S2PV

Edit: if die die want crossfire get this GA-B85-HD3 not sure if sg have or not

hengheng220

come come, recommend more please.....

Bro best way to build com is to slowly read the specs of the mobo. Good way to start is by downloading the price list of one of the shop in sls then slowly one by one go see their specs online sounds tedious but actually quite fun one. In time you will get addicted lol

hengheng220

Hahaha bro after you picked your parts do post again to to ask other bro their opinions

foosoomin

hengheng, I will visit #02-32, look for Nigel this evening.

I have brought along my mobo, cpu, ram & harddisk

I will make purchase after CNY

xRenol

You can consider Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H (mATX) or Gigabyte H87-D3H.

Gigabyte motherboards are quite limited for B85 and H87 chipsets.

JDelphiNet

Dear foosoomin,

Hahaha. There's some truth in this.

My P5Q Pro's on its deathbed (only 1 RAM slot working) but I'm not complaining. It has served me well for the past 5+ years too.

:Later,

hengheng220

Yepp best is please do remember to work out a budgetand purpose so that the parts will be easier to pick

foosoomin

wow wow wow, I read more info liao, on gigabyte limitation.

Lai lai lai, other brands intro please.

wanna slowly summarise liao

me standard use only, got par game too (romance of the 3 kingdom, part 11)

hengheng220

wow wow wow, I read more info liao, on gigabyte limitation.

Lai lai lai, other brands intro please.

wanna slowly summarise liao

me standard use only, got par game too (romance of the 3 kingdom, part 11)

Asrock and msi are good brand but if you atas go for asus

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.