can i not go for VA at hendon camp. i know that i will fail the test somehow.i am not interested in being coming commando etc..Will medical certificate cover it if i dun go??Do i have to tell the person in-charge?Hope to get some reply..
Wow, got selected to go for Commando VA, nice? hahah, I'm a commando myself and ORD about 1.5 years ago. Just last year tio one ICT, this year ICT coming again. First, commandos very UP one. How they select people for VA? IQ test. Probably your IQ test results is higher than average and mainly theres no medical history in your family bloodlines. VA is just like a 'mini-ippt test, without 2.4km", for forgetting after the test, there's a 1-to-1 interview with the Commando, those big **** regulars from Special Forces. Some may be your OC,CSM if u get selected. How to know if you are selected? You will know in about 2-3 months time. First intake is a July, for poly batches aka Bravo batch. Second intake is at around December, for JC students aka Alpha batch.
Don't wanna be a commando? Don't go for VA then. Simple. Just sit at home wait for another letter from BMTC, Tekong. Let me tell u guys, its an honor to be selected and to be a commando. 1 in 10000 got selected, thats how "lucky" you are. The Red Beret is really something you'll be looking forward to, Commandos LOVE outfields, be prepared for alot alot alot of outfields, weekends burned. High expectations in physical fitness and of course, AIRBORNE, the silver wing.
Conclusion: You will come out and ORD as a different MAN. Trust me, those who wan make it will ORD as a pure Commando. Those got selected, during BMT can't meet requirements, will be kicked out and byebye to tekong. The fit ones will survive, mental stress is really important. Cheers! Those entering, I'll see you guys in my JULY reservist!
So good got people fetch you.My uncle will be bringing me there in the morning. Sort of got an idea on how to get back to tampines and back to amk. I study at Temasek poly anyway.
I kinda wish to become a commando even though I heard how tough the trainings are, and even my current fitness level there is much to do. Like google69 said, I do feel honoured getting the letter though passing the assessment is another thing, but I will do my best. I'm quite into military stuffs (bought a replica MP5 from black tactical long time ago and got into modding it but didn't last long due to budget and I'm into multitools too- leatherman, victorinox)
But whatever my thoughts on what is takes to become a commando are, it could change anytime when I enter NS.
Cheers.
Anyway..does anyone know of a commando with sweaty palm? Just curious.
Anyway you going to wear pt kit there straight or? and you got bring camera phone?
So good got people fetch you.Anyway you going to wear pt kit there straight or? and you got bring camera phone?
eh in one year, there's like 50~60k babies. Probably half of it are male. So about 30k ppl eligible for enlistment per year.
If its 1 in 10k, then there are only 3 commandos????
Yeah I will be wearing pt kit there straight. Will probably extra clothing and bath before going back home. Otherwise will smell when taking bus home![]()
Camera phone..probably. Don't have any other non-camera phone leh.. Just surrender it before entering I guess.
Like that think i bring also. hahaha if not bus journey 1hr+ not funny no phone to play.
And you got ask your napfa test result paper from school to bring along on that day?his subsequent reply ain't showing thatDude, stop being anal. He's saying it as a figure of speech
<snippet>My uncle will be bringing me there in the morning. Sort of got an idea on how to get back to tampines and back to amk. I study at Temasek poly anyway.
</snippet>
yeah i will be printing out the napfa result. Not really proud of it though (simply got a 'participated' award)Good idea.Like that think i bring also. hahaha if not bus journey 1hr+ not funny no phone to play.
And you got ask your napfa test result paper from school to bring along on that day?
u mean if get gold is a boasting rights?yeah i will be printing out the napfa result. Not really proud of it though (simply got a 'participated' award)
u mean if get gold is a boasting rights?
just to correct you those doing the interview are NOT big shots from sof... they may hold the rank of major and theres very few of them mostly are warrants and its definitely not chosen based on IQ alone because i anyhow did both of mine (the one in CMPB and in Hendon) and still got chosen =D oh and its not MEDICAL history its to see if family have any history of going against the govt...
notice the "?" at the back of the statement. It was meant as a question not an accusation.hey, with respect, but i think you're reading too much into his post and twisting his words.
hoven00 was just simply stating his feelings. He did not mention anything explicitly about getting gold is a bragging right. But certainly, getting gold should be a form of pride, regardless how small or big it is.
Ok another correction here, Yes you are right again. Interviewer consists "part" of SOF, warrant officers and officers. Ranks ranging from 2 bars and above. All in all, it's a mixture. IQ test is just part of it, medical history is another part of it. family history against GOVT, that's something new I heard =)
I had my VA yesterday at Hendon.
Pretty new experience =). It could be the first and last time stepping in for many pre-enlistees including myself.
Enjoy ur VA.
Mind share some of your experience you had at the hendon camp..Mine will be at the 21 jan.one question can we bring our handphone to the camp and then keep it in the lockers?
the last time i had my VA, they just collected it into a bag. theres no lockers.