Hendon Camp VA

siaokia2806

Got my hendon camp VA letter 2 days ago. Mine's at 22 Jan. To be honest I don't really know why they chose me (heard it's randomly chosen but also heard otherwise).
I'm was allocated to PES B1, suffers from sweaty palm, fails napfa, so the chances of me passing the assessment is very unlikely. But then again, I think commando is a prestigious title and I don't really mind it at all (if i even make it).
I heard that altitude is the deciding factor and even if you you can't do any pull-ups they would always say "we can always train you".
Don't really know how things would go, but I will be certainly trying my best.

you same date as me. :s13: is the time stated 7.45am on the paper?

XkennX

If i not wrong the va now are still conducted by nsf. I used to give those ppl full marks in all stations for their VA cuz they give chaokeng attitude..

wdarlie

If i not wrong the va now are still conducted by nsf. I used to give those ppl full marks in all stations for their VA cuz they give chaokeng attitude..

Ahh ic. Haha. I guess if many of them know what you did there back then, ur so gonna die.

So does the interview, fitness stations or iq test placed more emphasize to decide an enlistee

hoven00

you same date as me. :s13: is the time stated 7.45am on the paper?

Yup 7.45am. Still havent find out how to go there, i live in amk somemore. Quite worried about the fitness test, my pullup 0, sbj also cmi. Got sweaty palm somemore, if you see someone wearing a glove thats probably me. But i dont mind getting in though, but i think unlikely. Quite surprised that i evev got the letter.

GreatKen

hahahaha jialat. mine's on 18 jan, this friday. after reaching my fitness level for gold, i reverted back to my unhealthy eating habits... not sure how i will perform this friday.

Solution9

Wow, got selected to go for Commando VA, nice? hahah, I'm a commando myself and ORD about 1.5 years ago. Just last year tio one ICT, this year ICT coming again. First, commandos very UP one. How they select people for VA? IQ test. Probably your IQ test results is higher than average and mainly theres no medical history in your family bloodlines. VA is just like a 'mini-ippt test, without 2.4km", for forgetting after the test, there's a 1-to-1 interview with the Commando, those big **** regulars from Special Forces. Some may be your OC,CSM if u get selected. How to know if you are selected? You will know in about 2-3 months time. First intake is a July, for poly batches aka Bravo batch. Second intake is at around December, for JC students aka Alpha batch.

Don't wanna be a commando? Don't go for VA then. Simple. Just sit at home wait for another letter from BMTC, Tekong. Let me tell u guys, its an honor to be selected and to be a commando. 1 in 10000 got selected, thats how "lucky" you are. The Red Beret is really something you'll be looking forward to, Commandos LOVE outfields, be prepared for alot alot alot of outfields, weekends burned. High expectations in physical fitness and of course, AIRBORNE, the silver wing.

Conclusion: You will come out and ORD as a different MAN. Trust me, those who wan make it will ORD as a pure Commando. Those got selected, during BMT can't meet requirements, will be kicked out and byebye to tekong. The fit ones will survive, mental stress is really important. Cheers! Those entering, I'll see you guys in my JULY reservist!

reddevil0728

Wow, got selected to go for Commando VA, nice? hahah, I'm a commando myself and ORD about 1.5 years ago. Just last year tio one ICT, this year ICT coming again. First, commandos very UP one. How they select people for VA? IQ test. Probably your IQ test results is higher than average and mainly theres no medical history in your family bloodlines. VA is just like a 'mini-ippt test, without 2.4km", for forgetting after the test, there's a 1-to-1 interview with the Commando, those big **** regulars from Special Forces. Some may be your OC,CSM if u get selected. How to know if you are selected? You will know in about 2-3 months time. First intake is a July, for poly batches aka Bravo batch. Second intake is at around December, for JC students aka Alpha batch.

Don't wanna be a commando? Don't go for VA then. Simple. Just sit at home wait for another letter from BMTC, Tekong. Let me tell u guys, its an honor to be selected and to be a commando. 1 in 10000 got selected, thats how "lucky" you are. The Red Beret is really something you'll be looking forward to, Commandos LOVE outfields, be prepared for alot alot alot of outfields, weekends burned. High expectations in physical fitness and of course, AIRBORNE, the silver wing.

Conclusion: You will come out and ORD as a different MAN. Trust me, those who wan make it will ORD as a pure Commando. Those got selected, during BMT can't meet requirements, will be kicked out and byebye to tekong. The fit ones will survive, mental stress is really important. Cheers! Those entering, I'll see you guys in my JULY reservist!
Whether its an honour or not or whether a different man or not is an opinion. And where did u get the 1 in 10000 figures?

Solution9

Whether its an honour or not or whether a different man or not is an opinion. And where did u get the 1 in 10000 figures?

I agreed, i was speaking more in a personal tone, but honor differs to different person. 1 in 10000 figures, it not a proof, but rather an estimation I heard from my Commanders back then, it may be exact, nor even close, but I'm just stating what I heard as a fellow NSF and NSman here. Don't take it so sensitive and personal here, no offense but I'm just stating that's all.

siaokia2806

Yup 7.45am. Still havent find out how to go there, i live in amk somemore. Quite worried about the fitness test, my pullup 0, sbj also cmi. Got sweaty palm somemore, if you see someone wearing a glove thats probably me. But i dont mind getting in though, but i think unlikely. Quite surprised that i evev got the letter.

Can consider taking cab cause the camp is like quite far from amk if i'm not wrong. :(

google69

but i thought the VA is compulsory? if don't go won't kena fine?

reddevil0728

I agreed, i was speaking more in a personal tone, but honor differs to different person. 1 in 10000 figures, it not a proof, but rather an estimation I heard from my Commanders back then, it may be exact, nor even close, but I'm just stating what I heard as a fellow NSF and NSman here. Don't take it so sensitive and personal here, no offense but I'm just stating that's all.
eh in one year, there's like 50~60k babies. Probably half of it are male. So about 30k ppl eligible for enlistment per year.

If its 1 in 10k, then there are only 3 commandos????

hoven00

Can consider taking cab cause the camp is like quite far from amk if i'm not wrong. :(

My uncle will be bringing me there in the morning. Sort of got an idea on how to get back to tampines and back to amk. I study at Temasek poly anyway. :)

I kinda wish to become a commando even though I heard how tough the trainings are, and even my current fitness level there is much to do. Like google69 said, I do feel honoured getting the letter though passing the assessment is another thing, but I will do my best. I'm quite into military stuffs (bought a replica MP5 from black tactical long time ago and got into modding it but didn't last long due to budget and I'm into multitools too- leatherman, victorinox :s13:)
But whatever my thoughts on what is takes to become a commando are, it could change anytime when I enter NS.
Cheers.

Anyway..does anyone know of a commando with sweaty palm? Just curious.

Solution9

eh in one year, there's like 50~60k babies. Probably half of it are male. So about 30k ppl eligible for enlistment per year.

If its 1 in 10k, then there are only 3 commandos????

wow, I can't remember much about birth rates and stuffs, 1 in 10000 could be just to exaggerated things, you know, incik does that often. You can just continue and do your maths, and perhaps u will come down more predictable counts.

aravin124

ns vocational assesment hendon camp?

can i not go for VA at hendon camp. i know that i will fail the test somehow.i am not interested in being coming commando etc..Will medical certificate cover it if i dun go??Do i have to tell the person in-charge?:eek::eek::eek: Hope to get some reply..

Solution9

but i thought the VA is compulsory? if don't go won't kena fine?

I have nv tried that before haha! but, but that's what I heard from my friend's friends, some kena VA and dont come. And when asked/question, they have their "reasons". if you know what i mean ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.