Hk data sim

Ruriel

oops, den no fb for macau liao.. hehe..

Haha don't need la. You just take all the pics first, then when you finally have data the next day, you just one shot upload all into your FB album lor.

I go overseas I mostly use data for Google map only. Didm't usually whatsapp or FB during the day - the time is better spent taking in the sights and chatting with my travel partner! :D

ForumRider

Just back from hk 2 weeks ago. While considering getting a prepaid sim, my Wife rented the wifi router from Changi recommend.

Pros - easy to use, can be shared by multiple (4 person in my case)

Cons - have to charge battery everyday , battery usually flat by 7-8pm if on for whole day, have to remember to bring the wifi router out, speed is quite slow

the wifi router become redundant when back to hotel as my hotel offer free wifi and speed is much faster.

vinzchang

Flexiroam X could be better option if you travel frequently
Flexiroam X now in partnership with TripAdvisor.

Flexiroam X is the data roaming solution that lets you earn free data before you travel,
helping you avoid huge roaming fees when you’re overseas without ever having to change your SIM card.
Go download this app from your apps store. Free download, register and data. No spam
Free data roaming in over 100 countries up to 100G

Messege me if you want free 700Mb data to start with.

kudehyo

Haha don't need la. You just take all the pics first, then when you finally have data the next day, you just one shot upload all into your FB album lor.

I go overseas I mostly use data for Google map only. Didm't usually whatsapp or FB during the day - the time is better spent taking in the sights and chatting with my travel partner! :D

yeah.. u have a point.. usually i oso dun need to upload immediately cos need to photoshop abit lol :s13:

may need to use it to communicate with my travel party if we split up for abit or navigate around.. i guess im the kiasu singaporean who feels safer when im "equipped" with data!!

NoLogicLah

Singtel DataRoam Saver cost $20/mth and only 1GB
M1 data roam passport use existing data and only cost $10/mth.

sh i dunno. dont see a need to buy prepaid for HK

Ruriel

Singtel DataRoam Saver cost $20/mth and only 1GB
M1 data roam passport use existing data and only cost $10/mth.

sh i dunno. dont see a need to buy prepaid for HK

I would respectfully disagree but then this is just my individual opinion/view.

Both Singtel and Starhub have very impractical data roaming plans with ridiculous prices, and you'll need to pay activation fee/subscription fee, for a very small bundled data daily. For the singtel dataroam saver plan that you mentioned, did you realise there's an activation cost of $10? So if the user just want to use this plan for the HK trip, he/she has to pay a total of $30, just for 1GB of data? Whatever for, when you can pay S$20 for 5gb of data for your trip? I fail to see the logic here for choosing Singtel roaming plan over HK prepaid sim card, sorry.

For M1, it's only good if your existing data is bigger than the minimum 3gb. I find myself using data more often when overseas for loading google maps, checking out reviews/photos on the spot etc. And of course, when back in hotel, sometimes if the hotel wifi is spotty, I'll just switch to the prepaid card and use the 4G instead. I have to work when I go overseas, so I need a stable internet connection or else I won't be able to connect to my office's remote server. If I use M1 data passport, I will be worrying about the amount of data I'm using.

But of course this varies from individual's needs. Some of my friends feel M1 data passport is good enough. Some just go for prepaid card for simplicity's sake. (Just queue, pay money, let the person put in the sim card and do settings and you can go on your merry way with no worries.)

Personally I would definitely recommend Singtel and Starhub users to go for pocket wifi or the country's prepaid card if they need data on phone. For M1 users... up to their needs.

NoLogicLah

I would respectfully disagree but then this is just my individual opinion/view.

Both Singtel and Starhub have very impractical data roaming plans with ridiculous prices, and you'll need to pay activation fee/subscription fee, for a very small bundled data daily. For the singtel dataroam saver plan that you mentioned, did you realise there's an activation cost of $10? So if the user just want to use this plan for the HK trip, he/she has to pay a total of $30, just for 1GB of data? Whatever for, when you can pay S$20 for 5gb of data for your trip? I fail to see the logic here for choosing Singtel roaming plan over HK prepaid sim card, sorry.

For M1, it's only good if your existing data is bigger than the minimum 3gb. I find myself using data more often when overseas for loading google maps, checking out reviews/photos on the spot etc. And of course, when back in hotel, sometimes if the hotel wifi is spotty, I'll just switch to the prepaid card and use the 4G instead. I have to work when I go overseas, so I need a stable internet connection or else I won't be able to connect to my office's remote server. If I use M1 data passport, I will be worrying about the amount of data I'm using.

But of course this varies from individual's needs. Some of my friends feel M1 data passport is good enough. Some just go for prepaid card for simplicity's sake. (Just queue, pay money, let the person put in the sim card and do settings and you can go on your merry way with no worries.)

Personally I would definitely recommend Singtel and Starhub users to go for pocket wifi or the country's prepaid card if they need data on phone. For M1 users... up to their needs.

$10 activation surcharge applies when you call thru via 1688 for Singtel. It is free if you do it via My Singtel App.

For google maps you can predownload offline maps to save your data usage

Some advantages are, you dont need to switch SimCards so you will still be able to receive calls/sms and make calls/sms via your local number.

ok lah, Singtel is abit poor in data roam packages but slowly improving. but

M1 data passport is really good. I went to USA and only paid $10 + $2 subscription charges for 6GB of data roaming and exccess is charge at local data rates of $10/gb.

Ruriel

$10 activation surcharge applies when you call thru via 1688 for Singtel. It is free if you do it via My Singtel App.

For google maps you can predownload offline maps to save your data usage

Some advantages are, you dont need to switch SimCards so you will still be able to receive calls/sms and make calls/sms via your local number.

ok lah, Singtel is abit poor in data roam packages but slowly improving. but

M1 data passport is really good. I went to USA and only paid $10 + $2 subscription charges for 6GB of data roaming and exccess is charge at local data rates of $10/gb.

Ah I didn't notice that its free via the app, my bad. :o

Offline Google maps only available for certain countries, not all. On top of that, it will take a while (or a long while depending on your phone model) for GPS to locate you if you don't have data.

On a side note, Google just released a Google Trips app which I think allows downloading of maps beforehand and you can use it offline when you are overseas. But I tried to access the suggested itineraries without internet, and the maps won't load even though I've downloaded and set them to be available offline. Think it's still a bit buggy..

Yes I also think M1 data passport is good for NA/EU. Definitely cheaper and more convenient than getting prepaid cards especially if one is heading to different countries in one trip. NA/EU countries also have very very limited prepaid data sim cards available and they are very expensive for the amount of data they are offering too, so M1 data passport will be the obvious choice there. Starhub and Singtel really need to work on their data roaming plans/packages...

MicceL

Hi, i am going to HKG next month for 5 days.. If i purchase the 5-day 4g 1.5gb sim card.. will it be enough, taking into consideration that my friend will tab onto my phone hotspot? also, is 3g sim card sufficient?

My hotel will provide a buddy phone with data for free but it don't allow phones to be tab into for wifi usage.

Panerex

dont forget pick up & return is at HKIA hor ;)

think min. is 2 days rental.

but even if can rent 1 day means u need to return at HKIA on the same day.

thanks for the advice.

Supposed I have 3 phones, and will be there only in HK for 5 days.

Don't think I will need to make phonecalls (worst case scenario is to make Whatapp calls).

Will it be more worthwhile to get the Klook wifi-router as compared to getting 3 different prepaid sim cards?

Also, which part of HKIA can I pick up the wifi-router? Is the shop opened 24/7?

TIA

tiger2013

Hi, i am going to HKG next month for 5 days.. If i purchase the 5-day 4g 1.5gb sim card.. will it be enough, taking into consideration that my friend will tab onto my phone hotspot? also, is 3g sim card sufficient?

My hotel will provide a buddy phone with data for free but it don't allow phones to be tab into for wifi usage.

It depends on usage seriously. If both of you are going to FB/Twitter/Instagram and use the maps a lot, one person alone can overshoot 1.5GB. Don't even think of 2 persons.

Either one of you get a SIM card or both of you get the SIM card or both of you share the hotel phone.

BillaMax

Can try FlexiRoam X, the start up offers microchip adhered to your Singtel/ M1/ Starhub sim with free roaming to like 100+ countries.

To start, they offer free 1.2Gb. You can sign up for it for free by downloading FlexiRoam X app.

Upon sign up enter my referral code HUAT3953. Both me and you get free data. :)

kazuki666

go to Klook HK to book a wifi router, pick up at HK airport on arrival

much cheaper than Changi Recommends

I paid only S$2 a day. first mobile booking got $1.80 off

1GB a day, fast connection, device works well

there is also the HK+Macau option I think, which costs more
$2 per day is probably the cheapest I see so far. :D
But how's the speed like? Btw, i notice there is a hkd500 deposit for it. You paid cash or credit card? I am going HK next week, am looking at this, hk prepaid simcard or just get the overseas roaming on my M1 3g 12gb...

Sent from Xiaomi MI PAD using GAGT

Ruriel

But how's the speed like? Btw, i notice there is a hkd500 deposit for it. You paid cash or credit card? I am going HK next week, am looking at this, hk prepaid simcard or just get the overseas roaming on my M1 3g 12gb...

If you are already on M1, I suggest you just go with the M1 data passport, for the ease and simplicity of it. Especially when you are still on the 12gb plan. No extra device to charge (if take pocket wifi), no sim card to change (if take local prepaid sim card), no need to worry about bundled data not enough.

I'm not super sure how's HK 3G coverage lately, but in the past (before 4G/LTE is common), their 3G was much faster than our 3G...

qhong61

If you are already on M1, I suggest you just go with the M1 data passport, for the ease and simplicity of it. Especially when you are still on the 12gb plan. No extra device to charge (if take pocket wifi), no sim card to change (if take local prepaid sim card), no need to worry about bundled data not enough.

I'm not super sure how's HK 3G coverage lately, but in the past (before 4G/LTE is common), their 3G was much faster than our 3G...
Support using M1 Data Passport.

touchme

old 12gb m1 plan not eligible for data passport.

touchme

Anyone knows precisely where is the Klook services SIM collection in HKIA?
(No directions on its website)

Ruriel

Anyone knows precisely where is the Klook services SIM collection in HKIA?
(No directions on its website)

Got directions leh. From the website:

SIM Card can be picked up at

Hong Kong International Airport Arrivals Area, Terminal 1, Counter A13
Opening Hours 9:00am – 11:00pm

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.