HLE enquiry

CherryBee

The officer previously told me for bto, it's usually like that cause they will require you to upload the documents later. I'm sure u would need to update it again when it's almost time for key collection right?

Yes its bto

loveSalnT

Anyone kena like me?
July yet over, payslip yet come out.
And HDB asking for July payslip.....

Now I need to extend my HLE application becos of waiting for that payslip.

CoachPotato

Never kanna before. Had you tried asking your hr if they can give it to you first?

Anyone kena like me?
July yet over, payslip yet come out.
And HDB asking for July payslip.....

Now I need to extend my HLE application becos of waiting for that payslip.

loveSalnT

Never kanna before. Had you tried asking your hr if they can give it to you first?

My appt date coming.
Worry is not about the payslip to produce (just need to wait to get it).
But rather ponder what if HDB after i produce july payslip, HDB end up asking for more other docs and caught us off guard due to appt date so close after giving july payslip (Im still at application HLE stage)...

Thking shd i call to waive & assess based on June?
Im just an employee with normal CPF contribution (no allowance).

watermel0n

HLE application got rejected

Hi I have a problem, will appreciate some insight and help.

I applied for BTO in Feb 2017, and has been in constant employment from May 2016 to May 2017. Due to work problems, decided to resign. Took me about 2 months to find a new job and I have just started, with lower pay than before. It is a contract job and there might be chance of conversion which will definitely result in pay increase. My bf is still schooling and will finish late 2018.

Our appt is next month, and I have applied for HLE 1-2 weeks back and gotten notification that it has been rejected with the reason being "We are not able to offer you an HDB housing loan as your employment period is less than the requisite period for our credit assessment. Please re-apply for an HLE letter after you have met the requisite employment period". Prior to that, I have submitted all required documents (statutory declaration for unemployment in June 2017, bf's student pass, payslip letter for July, etc). I am confused as from this situation I am understanding it to be that the requirement of 12 months of continuous employment is from Feb 2016 - Feb 2017.. and I cannot change the fact that I only started in May 2016, so I would have to give up on the HLE or even the BTO itself? Does this mean it is impossible for us to be eligible for HLE?

LiteHouse

Hi I have a problem, will appreciate some insight and help.

I applied for BTO in Feb 2016, and has been in constant employment from May 2016 to May 2017. Due to work problems, decided to resign. Took me about 2 months to find a new job and I have just started, with lower pay than before. It is a contract job and there might be chance of conversion which will definitely result in pay increase. My bf is still schooling and will finish late 2018.

Our appt is next month, and I have applied for HLE 1-2 weeks back and gotten notification that it has been rejected with the reason being "We are not able to offer you an HDB housing loan as your employment period is less than the requisite period for our credit assessment. Please re-apply for an HLE letter after you have met the requisite employment period". Prior to that, I have submitted all required documents (statutory declaration for unemployment in June 2017, bf's student pass, payslip letter for July, etc). I am confused as from this situation I am understanding it to be that the requirement of 12 months of continuous employment is from Feb 2016 - Feb 2017.. and I cannot change the fact that I only started in May 2016, so I would have to give up on the HLE or even the BTO itself? Does this mean it is impossible for us to be eligible for HLE?

Not having an approved HLE does NOT mean you need to give up your BTO. It just mean that you cannot take up HDB's CPF housing loan. You will need to find other means to pay for the house e.g. Bank Loan / Cash borrow from rich parents.

watermel0n

Not having an approved HLE does NOT mean you need to give up your BTO. It just mean that you cannot take up HDB's CPF housing loan. You will need to find other means to pay for the house e.g. Bank Loan / Cash borrow from rich parents.

Hi, yes, understood to that point. but my position now, I think probability of getting bank loan is very low and will prefer to loan from HDB. So in this case, there is no hope if I do not get bank loan/cash? Are there chances of HDB exercising flexibility on case by case basis?

CherryBee

Every case will be assessed individually.. i suggest u drop by hdb and talk to the manager in charge so that he/she can assist u.

Hi, yes, understood to that point. but my position now, I think probability of getting bank loan is very low and will prefer to loan from HDB. So in this case, there is no hope if I do not get bank loan/cash? Are there chances of HDB exercising flexibility on case by case basis?

watermel0n

Every case will be assessed individually.. i suggest u drop by hdb and talk to the manager in charge so that he/she can assist u.

Do you mean HDB (AMK) or any HDB branch will do? As I currently just started work in a new company, would like to be careful about taking leaves... Thanks in advance.

vinz

Do you mean HDB (AMK) or any HDB branch will do? As I currently just started work in a new company, would like to be careful about taking leaves... Thanks in advance.
There is a BTO officer assigned to you when u receive the letter to collect keys.

You should immediate ask this office for advise / appeal.

HDB may need at least 3 to 4 month CPF to proof your employment status and grant you your HLE (pls dont bother to argue / appeal about potential pay increment in the near future etc). Your HLE is based on your current few months salary being taken into consideration for the max loan amount.

1) if your current salary (after appeal) is able to allow you to loan the amount you needed, then good for you.

2) you can request to delay taking keys to the house for a few months (maybe max 3 - 6 months i have heard before). Just ask the HDB officer in charge of your BTO, so that you can apply for the hle.

3) if after a few months of postponement , your HLE is granted but due to your salary being too low, your max loan amount can't actually cover the purchase price of the unit , then too bad we really can't help you on this.

-vinz

CherryBee

Hdb hub at toa payoh.
Mine was a different scenario as yours.. but i had problems with my hle too cause my husband is self employed. Went down to talked to the manager on duty and managed to get it settled.

sellun

Since not stated, assuming your appointment is for key collection..
Like what vinz say, HLE application needs the most recent past few months payslip from the point of application and not the requirement of 12months (that is for housing grant).
You shouldn't have quit your job so close to your appointment without securing a HLE. Your best bet now is to postpone your appointment and stick with your job faithfully for the next 3-4months.

You should start to calculate the max loan you'll get to see if you can cover your outstanding balance and make plans if you can't cover.
Buying a house is not so simple, read up more and discuss with your bf (btw not married yet??)

Sent from MiMax using GAGT

watermel0n

There is a BTO officer assigned to you when u receive the letter to collect keys.

You should immediate ask this office for advise / appeal.

HDB may need at least 3 to 4 month CPF to proof your employment status and grant you your HLE (pls dont bother to argue / appeal about potential pay increment in the near future etc). Your HLE is based on your current few months salary being taken into consideration for the max loan amount.

1) if your current salary (after appeal) is able to allow you to loan the amount you needed, then good for you.

2) you can request to delay taking keys to the house for a few months (maybe max 3 - 6 months i have heard before). Just ask the HDB officer in charge of your BTO, so that you can apply for the hle.

3) if after a few months of postponement , your HLE is granted but due to your salary being too low, your max loan amount can't actually cover the purchase price of the unit , then too bad we really can't help you on this.

-vinz

Hi, forgot to state, its actually our first appointment to book the flat and not for key collection. So my point is that I am not arguing to get a higher amount of loan, its to actually get it approved for a start.

watermel0n

Since not stated, assuming your appointment is for key collection..
Like what vinz say, HLE application needs the most recent past few months payslip from the point of application and not the requirement of 12months (that is for housing grant).
You shouldn't have quit your job so close to your appointment without securing a HLE. Your best bet now is to postpone your appointment and stick with your job faithfully for the next 3-4months.

You should start to calculate the max loan you'll get to see if you can cover your outstanding balance and make plans if you can't cover.
Buying a house is not so simple, read up more and discuss with your bf (btw not married yet??)

Hi, I realised I forgot to state that its actually the first appt to book flat, and not for key collection. So my worry is not getting a higher amount of loan, its to actually get it approved for a start. As for quitting my job, I resigned because I actually got a queue number way out of the maximum number of slots, so we thought we would not get a chance. But who knew, one month later I got an SMS notification saying that we got an appointment. Should be due to high drop-out rate.

watermel0n

Hdb hub at toa payoh.
Mine was a different scenario as yours.. but i had problems with my hle too cause my husband is self employed. Went down to talked to the manager on duty and managed to get it settled.

Seeing as its not my second appt and I do not have an assigned BTO officer, do I still go down to AMK or any branch will do?

That aside, I am still trying to get time out during office hours to call HDB regarding this.

sellun

Hi, I realised I forgot to state that its actually the first appt to book flat, and not for key collection. So my worry is not getting a higher amount of loan, its to actually get it approved for a start. As for quitting my job, I resigned because I actually got a queue number way out of the maximum number of slots, so we thought we would not get a chance. But who knew, one month later I got an SMS notification saying that we got an appointment. Should be due to high drop-out rate.
Wow you waited one year+ for first appointment? Check online to see if there's any leftover unit you're interested in. If no, then no point talking.

If yes, since it's your first appointment, seems like you will still need to present a valid HLE (any amount) to confirm HDB loan. And more importantly, you will be there to secure your grant.

Alternatively, get a bank loan instead. If you're choosing a flat within your means, with the highest grant since your bf still schooling, I don't think you will have alot of outstanding balance?
Best is just call HDB for advice.

watermel0n

Wow you waited one year+ for first appointment? Check online to see if there's any leftover unit you're interested in. If no, then no point talking.

If yes, since it's your first appointment, seems like you will still need to present a valid HLE (any amount) to confirm HDB loan. And more importantly, you will be there to secure your grant.

Alternatively, get a bank loan instead. If you're choosing a flat within your means, with the highest grant since your bf still schooling, I don't think you will have alot of outstanding balance?
Best is just call HDB for advice.

No I didn't wait 1 year+, the BTO application was in Feb 2017, results out Apr 2017, and I got sms for first appointment in late May 2017. And yes there are still quite a number of choice units left currently.

Would you be able to provide some info regarding bank loan experience if possible?

CherryBee

For my experience... the first time i applied hle, i didn't even applied or booked a unit yet. Mainly just to know how much hdb is willing to loan us etc. I didn't have an officer at that point too so i just got a queue number to speak to the manager on duty.

Seeing as its not my second appt and I do not have an assigned BTO officer, do I still go down to AMK or any branch will do?

That aside, I am still trying to get time out during office hours to call HDB regarding this.

sellun

No I didn't wait 1 year+, the BTO application was in Feb 2017, results out Apr 2017, and I got sms for first appointment in late May 2017. And yes there are still quite a number of choice units left currently.

Would you be able to provide some info regarding bank loan experience if possible?
Eh your post is very misleading. Your first post stated applied for bto on Feb 2016...
Please read up on HDB website.
Probably you'll need to go down to any bank to get the letter of offer.
You will need to present the bank's letter of offer when you goes for your first appointment.

Personally I'm taking HDB loan, so no comments.

Hyruga

Use hdb loan, is it
pay by cpf or pay by cash or both are allowed?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.