Homeless/rough sleeper is real…

addict951

Few weeks back was taking stroll at east coast park after heavy supper…. To my surprise, after walking past a few shed saw so many rough sleeper was sleeping there. Walk back to my car then at the carpark, also alot of parked van and lorry mostly door or window opened, inside got people sleeping…

then yesterday night go woodland admiralty kampung Starbucks, also saw a lot of rough sleeper sleeping at the open area sia… I don’t think they are food delivery guy/girl becoz I saw most of these rough sleeper next to them are bags of item most probably all their belonging.

I seldom go out after 11pm but both time went out, both night saw so many rough sleeper. what’s wrong ah? Never see any news reporting all these…
Wah, ts
So late alrdy you often go out 在外流浪 one ah?
How come you suddenly come to Kampong admiralty so late at night?

Lchlch

Few weeks back was taking stroll at east coast park after heavy supper…. To my surprise, after walking past a few shed saw so many rough sleeper was sleeping there. Walk back to my car then at the carpark, also alot of parked van and lorry mostly door or window opened, inside got people sleeping…

then yesterday night go woodland admiralty kampung Starbucks, also saw a lot of rough sleeper sleeping at the open area sia… I don’t think they are food delivery guy/girl becoz I saw most of these rough sleeper next to them are bags of item most probably all their belonging.

I seldom go out after 11pm but both time went out, both night saw so many rough sleeper. what’s wrong ah? Never see any news reporting all these…

That's is terrible.
Nobody knows many are rough sleepers...as those all away from mp eyes.

C_boliao

Some of these peeps have social assistance rental home, Co share with other people. But usually these people are weird and can't get along with others. Thus the weaker one will chose to move out.

Some are in the grey area, not able to apply for subsidy rental flats because they have family but not on taking terms.

Ethan_

No easy solution. My ex boss volunteers for social work and talks to quite a lot of them. Many aren’t actually homeless. A lot are already on aid programs and have rental flats, and others have homes but aren’t able to return for various reason. Rental flat tenants often cannot get along with their placed co-tenants. Those with homes - some of them the actual homeowners - cannot get around with spouses or kids. Some are renting the whole flat out for the income to accelerate paying off overbearing debt.

Only in Singapore. Some rough sleepers are more asset rich than a young bank employee.
Asset rich but cash poor, dirt poor perhaps. Only in local. Not necessary the asset can be converted to available cash. Something have to give. Just take the public housing. When only have one flat, million dollar sell liao still have to buy an even more expensive one to live in. Unless downgrade and lower the quality of living then can perhaps hope to see some cash. If not, hard to maintain one. Local the conversion often means a certain amount of losses.

Lchlch

My MP busy issuing lawyer letters to people :(
I ever watch doc about local rather sleeping in the street.
they do have home.
but cos of arguement with family members or being kick out of their home.

EDMW-Hates-Me

No easy solution. My ex boss volunteers for social work and talks to quite a lot of them. Many aren’t actually homeless. A lot are already on aid programs and have rental flats, and others have homes but aren’t able to return for various reason. Rental flat tenants often cannot get along with their placed co-tenants. Those with homes - some of them the actual homeowners - cannot get around with spouses or kids. Some are renting the whole flat out for the income to accelerate paying off overbearing debt.

Only in Singapore. Some rough sleepers are more asset rich than a young bank employee.
Some normal people already hard to get along with each other. Rental flats might have more people with more issues. See news some drunkard peed in their pants then sat on other people's bed, some kept spitting phlegm everywhere... How to tahan?

marksnow44

While even a Foreign worker has gahment built dormitory for them to rest, local Sinkies are forced to sleep on street if they have no home to turn to.

DragonFire

While even a Foreign worker has gahment built dormitory for them to rest, local Sinkies are forced to sleep on street if they have no home to turn to.
Don’t compare a worker here to make money with a social outcast who cannot get along with their peers. A foreign worker in their state would be sent home immediately.

What do you expect the government to do with those who have options, but choose not to tolerate the necessarily austere conditions? Perhaps run a program where altruistic edmwers can volunteer to open their bedrooms?

Just so you know, those who have fallen out with their families have options too. Many choose not to take them up because it would constitute washing filthy laundry in public and submitting themselves and their kin to mediation.

20kjinsatki

True, just like how some rich people pick cardboard for exercise

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
Either way, arrest them = taxes pay for their jail/cell.

Bring them to shelter, we have meh?

So best is status quo, don't touch them unless they break laws. There are no laws with regards to being homeless or off grid in SG. They can sleep anywhere, as long as they don't bother people. That time got one MCD quietly allowed people to sleep in their restaurant after certain hours since low footfall and traffic and they operate 24 hours.
yes it's not an offence to be arresting them since they're not causing any nuisance to the public but may be told to leave
actually the polis won't really disturb them other than to check their identity if they look suspicious or loitering around

as for *shelter homes, there are a few around

a matter of them being comfortable to share the space w/ other homeless peeps or felt that the location is too far away to their liking

🤷‍♂️

* shelters that aren't a permanent home stay.

where they can check in at night & having to leave the premises by 7am.

clearwhitesky

yes it's not an offence to be arresting them since they're not causing any nuisance to the public but may be told to leave
actually the polis won't really disturb them other than to check their identity if they look suspicious or loitering around

as for *shelter homes, there are a few around

a matter of them being comfortable to share the space w/ other homeless peeps or felt that the location is too far away to their liking

🤷‍♂️

* shelters that aren't a permanent home stay.

where they can check in at night & having to leave the premises by 7am.
I think the police also know la…. now everywhere also cctv, don’t need go on site also can see from the comfort of their NPC

dambio

Last time they cleared alot off d streets. Now it seems like d issue is back.

nasfieldjohn

if they jodless sinkies
can rent hdb for very cheap from hdb
provided they dun already own another pty

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.