Honor Magic V5

yhw22

tested replug also same...unless i do a restart then it will go back 66w again. so annoying. turn off smart charging also same..
So far i replug a few times will be back to normal. how about switch cable, assume you got a few cable by honor rite?

doki81

So far i replug a few times will be back to normal. how about switch cable, assume you got a few cable by honor rite?
same..replug also show the slow charging. must restart phone then can get back fast charge.

havent try another honor cable as i only have 2 ..1 home..1 at work ..

neptunesea

same..replug also show the slow charging. must restart phone then can get back fast charge.

havent try another honor cable as i only have 2 ..1 home..1 at work ..
I bought a huawei fast charge protocol adapter cable on tb from a brand called ldzm. Works well and any pd power adapter/ powerbank can turbo charge at 66w.

Using a power meter type c cable with the ldzm adapter I tested my v5 can charge at 62w when at 28% soc and in an aircon room. Connected to a 100w Ugreen USB C power adapter.

doki81

I bought a huawei fast charge protocol adapter cable on tb from a brand called ldzm. Works well and any pd power adapter/ powerbank can turbo charge at 66w.

Using a power meter type c cable with the ldzm adapter I tested my v5 can charge at 62w when at 28% soc and in an aircon room. Connected to a 100w Ugreen USB C power adapter.

i have this cable too but didnt use on my v5. after latest OTA..seem like slow charge issue gone.

petricnah

Hi, is there anyone riding a bike and using the android auto(chigee) with Magic V5.
Are you able to see incoming call from Whatsapp and Telegram? Are you able to answer calls from Whatsapp and Telegram when using a Bluetooth headset?
I did some tests, the V5 can only recognize the original phone call apps incoming call and able to display the notification. Calls from Whatsapp and Telegram will not be display and unable to accept call using the Bluetooth headset.

I did a test on a old SS note 10, all calling can be displayed and call can be accepted using Bluetooth headset.

maumu

hi folks

just to check... those of you with SingTel 5G... are you still seeing VoLTE on the status bar or you're on VoNR already?

winningeleven

Hi, is there anyone riding a bike and using the android auto(chigee) with Magic V5.
Are you able to see incoming call from Whatsapp and Telegram? Are you able to answer calls from Whatsapp and Telegram when using a Bluetooth headset?
I did some tests, the V5 can only recognize the original phone call apps incoming call and able to display the notification. Calls from Whatsapp and Telegram will not be display and unable to accept call using the Bluetooth headset.

I did a test on a old SS note 10, all calling can be displayed and call can be accepted using Bluetooth headset.

I drove and my old car infotainment system unable to use Bluetooth to accept phone call from WhatsApp. Only the normal phone call can speak and heard on Bluetooth connection. Mine phone is honor 400 pro.

Apparatus

Want to check. Has phone upgraded to Android 16?

How many months need to wait for upgrade from Android 15 when launched to 16?

:rolleyes:

maumu

Any of you ever bring your phone for the Honor Service Care Day on the 1st weekend of each month before?

Is there a long queue one ah?

Thinking of bringing it down to paste a new SP on the front screen...

pawn_king

changed front SP on V3, became a few weeks of nightmare and have to change front screen/no stock etc.
just be mentally prepared.

asked about screen and batt replacement for 2yr+ M5pro. they took forever to reply,then reply not bringing in anymore.
in the end changed at JB midvalley Honor shop, 3 hr settled, replaced both screen and batt.

If I'm getting another Honor, I may consider getting M'sia set.
SG service ctr is Honor sub to Ah Beng shop

maumu

changed front SP on V3, became a few weeks of nightmare and have to change front screen/no stock etc.
just be mentally prepared.

asked about screen and batt replacement for 2yr+ M5pro. they took forever to reply,then reply not bringing in anymore.
in the end changed at JB midvalley Honor shop, 3 hr settled, replaced both screen and batt.

If I'm getting another Honor, I may consider getting M'sia set.
SG service ctr is Honor sub to Ah Beng shop

I kinda agree with you that Honor SG service centre is really like ah beng shop, albeit a bit more atas. I was surprised when I went there yesterday (to experience the Honor Service Carnival thingy) and was expecting peak crowds since it's a weekend, only to find a few (<5 customers). I was able to request for a new SP for front screen and have it all done in 15 minutes.

But at least the service is fast, and I like the new SP - it is professionally done by their staff using some machine... only thing is their advertisement says they will clean and check the device, but they did neither of those. Maybe I should have told them explicitly to do so. The moment I approach the counter, the 'manager' just say to me "change SP?" and that was the only thing they did for me.

Oppo Find N6 is coming out soon and I might switch back to Oppo after trying out Xiaomi (15 Ultra) and now, Honor (V5). I think ColorOS is still the most user friendly. Not sure how Oppo does multi-windows in their foldables, but honestly I hardly used Honor's 3-window feature and so it's kinda over-hyped for me. I think I only unfolded the phone like average 2 to 3 times a day. The camera system is quite meh - just so-so. If only a 1-inch can be put inside :o but no, I'm not going back to candy bar phones anymore.

chari-men

I kinda agree with you that Honor SG service centre is really like ah beng shop, albeit a bit more atas. I was surprised when I went there yesterday (to experience the Honor Service Carnival thingy) and was expecting peak crowds since it's a weekend, only to find a few (<5 customers). I was able to request for a new SP for front screen and have it all done in 15 minutes.

But at least the service is fast, and I like the new SP - it is professionally done by their staff using some machine... only thing is their advertisement says they will clean and check the device, but they did neither of those. Maybe I should have told them explicitly to do so. The moment I approach the counter, the 'manager' just say to me "change SP?" and that was the only thing they did for me.

Oppo Find N6 is coming out soon and I might switch back to Oppo after trying out Xiaomi (15 Ultra) and now, Honor (V5). I think ColorOS is still the most user friendly. Not sure how Oppo does multi-windows in their foldables, but honestly I hardly used Honor's 3-window feature and so it's kinda over-hyped for me. I think I only unfolded the phone like average 2 to 3 times a day. The camera system is quite meh - just so-so. If only a 1-inch can be put inside :o but no, I'm not going back to candy bar phones anymore.
If u don't unfold more than 2-3 times a day.. I feel foldable not suitable for you.. u change to oppo n6 also same one.. maybe go back to oppo x9 ultra that's launching in April?? For reference I unfold my foldables on average 50 times a day.. currently using fold 7..

maumu

If u don't unfold more than 2-3 times a day.. I feel foldable not suitable for you.. u change to oppo n6 also same one.. maybe go back to oppo x9 ultra that's launching in April?? For reference I unfold my foldables on average 50 times a day.. currently using fold 7..
fwah, 50 times a day... I'm embarrassed.

I only unfold when I need to use spreadsheet to do some work. number crunching, updating of records, etc... when I'm on the go. of course I enjoy the larger real estate when browsing. I don't have long fingernails so I also sometimes worried about prying open the phone and dropping it :s13:

no lah I'll probably stay with foldables from now on just to have more versatility when it comes to productivity tools. camera I also use sparingly. I think Oppo N6 might be interesting (I didn't choose N5 because the ultrawide camera sucks - 8MP).

chari-men

fwah, 50 times a day... I'm embarrassed.

I only unfold when I need to use spreadsheet to do some work. number crunching, updating of records, etc... when I'm on the go. of course I enjoy the larger real estate when browsing. I don't have long fingernails so I also sometimes worried about prying open the phone and dropping it :s13:

no lah I'll probably stay with foldables from now on just to have more versatility when it comes to productivity tools. camera I also use sparingly. I think Oppo N6 might be interesting (I didn't choose N5 because the ultrawide camera sucks - 8MP).
I'm probably a heavy user coz the bigger inner screen is gorgeous for gaming and multitasking lol .. wait n6 come out lo.. or get another phone just for photography...

SuperDecker

I saw the service carnival post on honor sg fb but felt it's not worth my time; device inspection, free cleaning, system upgrades?
The stock sp is not smooth, I changed to smartdevil hydrogel.

I just saw someone posted issue with magic 8 pro on the Honor Singapore service carnival fb post. Waiting for mobo and battery spares to arrive, waiting time 3 weeks. Gives me the impression they order spares on demand, and don't stock up spare parts. Seen service issues with Honor elsewhere too. Frankly, every brand will have their share of warranty issues.

I'm waiting eagerly for Oppo Find N6 too! Really keen on the larger external display, the folding and crease. Wait for the guys to post on the relevant thread next week after the invitation event.

maumu

I saw the service carnival post on honor sg fb but felt it's not worth my time; device inspection, free cleaning, system upgrades?
The stock sp is not smooth, I changed to smartdevil hydrogel.

I just saw someone posted issue with magic 8 pro on the Honor Singapore service carnival fb post. Waiting for mobo and battery spares to arrive, waiting time 3 weeks. Gives me the impression they order spares on demand, and don't stock up spare parts. Seen service issues with Honor elsewhere too. Frankly, every brand will have their share of warranty issues.

I'm waiting eagerly for Oppo Find N6 too! Really keen on the larger external display, the folding and crease. Wait for the guys to post on the relevant thread next week after the invitation event.

the stock SP quite good leh, for me lah. smooth and high clarity. maybe it's just after one day lol

I'm lucky to be one of those attending the invitation event on Thursday. will see how it is like and maybe share here...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.