Housing Dilemma

Raffles88

Loan $600000 for 25 years at 2.6% per year with $4000 Salary a month

1 month is around $2722 / 2 pax = $1361 per pax per month.

Each person is still required to top up cash of $441 as both cpf OA is not enough to cover the monthly loan.

Salary of 4K after CPF per pax = $3200 - $441 = $2759 :(

iphone1s

I think let TS go through the rejection by HDB balloting till their age buay tahan first. They have lofty plans, nothing wrong with that. But since they don't want to hear advice, let them be bah.

TBH, I saw Parc Life condo, jin jiak chio. chio until I really want that unit. Also, the development around jin nice. Quiet, serene. I still can pick the unit I want, which floor, got this got that.

But at the end, I think about my finances, even though I can afford before being retrenched and now, even I am back being self-employed, I still can afford, but I don't wish to stress myself out. TBH, it is not even stressing pe se. But it should be one of the pre-requisite like a item that HDB should ask, "can you really afford it?"

Anyways, what I learn is, plan doesn't always go rosy. We have to learn from others and be flexible.

P.S. I barely know who you are. I do not have any benefit from you, so there is no intention for me to "impose my thoughts on you". I do not even do that to my family, let alone you. Just FYI.

Gixxerfied

I dont think they are bashing you, they may be aggressive but their point is obvious. If you do not qualify for grants now or in future, then you dont have grants, it is as simple as that.

There is no such thing as 'you will just have to find other ways to get grants'.

Assuming now you apply and you get your bidadari, you got not enough money in your cpf, then you pay your downpayment in cash. Because you have no income now.

You obviously do not qualify under the low income group. So please forget about trying to get grants meant for low income families.

If your combined income exceed 8.5k, no grants too.

So tl;dr, if you got no cash and no cpf to pay for your downpayment, it's too bad.

And also to add, Bidadari or Geylang is considered as mature estate so SHG is not applicable there..

As for AHG, combined income cannot exceed $5k..

haihaiahjie

Anw TS family should be quite rich, just borrow from family lah.

Actually i dun really understand what's the great deal about grants? To me it's like invisible money govt 'lend' to u and 'take it back with interest' at a later time. U r obviously looking at making your money roll big big big, grant worth it meh? It's really meant for low income families to be able to own a roof.

If TS has family to support just go ahead n ballot n whack lah. Personally i tried for mature estates until really give up liao. If you dun have any schemes to use, it's really very very very hard. Unless u really very very very lucky.

So u just try until cannot wait anymore loh. Good luck. I think Geylang is better.

coolhead

Congrats on getting bidadari! Kudos to you and your partner for saving so much and thinking for the future. By MOP you will have an (almost) fully paid flat, and can start accumulating ammo for your second property :)

Both our parents live within 2km of bidadari, so its a natural choice. Savings must save if can lor. We still indulge in abit of luxury like once a year holiday etc. If don't save now, really headache later on.

Ts is really threading on a fine line. Every plan is perfect until the first shot is fired. And I got a feeling ts made use of every available buffer to fulfil his objective, in reality it'll always fall short of perfection. The only suggestion to get grant is like what some say, work in a job for at least one year to get the max grant for bto. It's a matter of whether he'll be committed to stay in it for one year.

kyteo79

Jin gek sim talking to kids.

Anyway good luck to your bash on the mature estates. I have tried multiple times and some have tried 48 times, 3 months each apart, and still cant get.

Good luck.

u are old ah pek so give u 4848

SecretAgent

actually.... TS is not the only ones out there like this.. i have a younger cousin also very naah! one.

Die die wanna get housing near town... tried for many many times too... still cannot get!

Until lately my auntie buay soong liao issue ultimatum to get out asap... then he starts kancheong to apply for a woodland/sembawang area housing..

we all know living and nearby working is good. Everyone hopes for it.. but come'on... so easy can get meh? TS go try pls... your fren and another one in this thread got bidadari, so no reason you won't get lucky too.

mrspiggy

TS, nobody is forcing their opinions on you. They are just trying to let you see the 'real world' out there.

It is not easy to get a ballot number within the total number of flats HDB is offering. Let alone a good ballot number (less than half the total number) for you to choose your choice unit.

Many people out there had ballot numbers which exceeded the total number of flats. It is not their first time trying their hands on it. Like some had pointed out, there are people who tried for years and people who tried every single time when HDB launched the selling exercise but they never came close to the ballot number within the total number of flats being offered.

Since you are aiming for mature estate, the competition is even more intense. You need to have lots of good luck for it if your partner and you have decided to try your hands on it soon.

iphone1s

And also to add, Bidadari or Geylang is considered as mature estate so SHG is not applicable there..

As for AHG, combined income cannot exceed $5k..

Before even going to SHG, AHG, BHG, you got to know about your chances.

Lets assume today is May 2017, you open up your browser, prepare your credit card and you apply for the BTO in a mature estate.

You got rejected first time even with 2 chances

You go for the August 2017 ballot with 2 chances again.

You got a lousy number or even out of range, perhaps you are in the 2x or 3x series. You go for the November 2017 ballot.

While you still bid for a mature estate regardless how many times, you will only have 2 chances.

The others who bid for non mature estates for the 3rd time onwards, they will get one additional chance.

Scenario 1
Feb 2017 BTO - non mature 2 chances
May 2017 BTO - non mature 2 chances
Aug 2017 BTO - non mature 3 chances
Nov 2017 BTO - non mature 4 chances
... so on and so forth

Scenario 2
May 2017 BTO - mature 2 chances
Aug 2017 BTO - non mature 2 chances
Nov 2017 BTO - non mature 3 chances
Feb 2017 BTO - non mature 4 chances

Scenario 3
Feb 2017 BTO - mature 2 chances
Aug 2017 BTO - mature 2 chances
Nov 2017 BTO - mature 2 chances
I guess this is what you are looking for.

We sincerely hope that you are lucky to get it on your first ballot. when you reached the 3rd or 4th ballot, I am sure u will be desperate to apply all the schemes to it to get within the 3x space but it does not guarantee you a good number.

kyteo79

In my years, my boss made me wash their office aircon, repair their computer, trace their faults and problems with the telephone lines/telephonesor switch board, shift the safes and metal cupboard. i need to wash their clothes and do the ironing.

so this is bashing or abusing(as per what today pple say) ?

yes it is tough life but i learnt alot from my old bosses ...

today alittle alittle why bash me ?

good healthy food are not tasty ... good food are tasty but not good for body.

TS - u are the future for our nation. I wish you the best in your application and please declare in the application form that you & your gf / wife are HEADHUNTED and 15% pay increment every year !

Govt ask you ... do you need to pick up cardboard boxes ?

Next stop leeching on the tax payers. is becos of you people that why more taxes has to be collected!

Be like me - earn more, pay high taxes, do charity, help the poor, be humble, invest, buy private. If you think of making money out of bto, i laugh at you cos your money making way is only restricted to this ...

stepping hbd to private is a old method and will not be easy ... stop looking at historical datas saying EC sure make money. can you show me proof ? that all EC make money ? yes there are few launches make money but not all...

please be down to earth. singapore 10 million population all like this thats y no majulah singapore liao ... all wait hdb be golden egg ...

Gixxerfied

Lets assume today is May 2017, you open up your browser, prepare your credit card and you apply for the BTO in a mature estate.

You got a lousy number or even out of range, perhaps you are in the 2x or 3x series. You go for the November 2017 ballot.

While you still bid for a mature estate regardless how many times, you will only have 2 chances.

The others who bid for non mature estates for the 3rd time onwards, they will get one additional chance.

Scenario 1
... so on and so forth

Scenario 2

Scenario 3

We sincerely hope that you are lucky to get it on your first ballot. when you reached the 3rd or 4th ballot, I am sure u will be desperate to apply all the schemes to it to get within the 3x space but it does not guarantee you a good number.

That's why i song song gao Keat Hong..

1 time tio front number, already living there for coming 8 months..

kyteo79

actually.... TS is not the only ones out there like this.. i have a younger cousin also very naah! one.

Die die wanna get housing near town... tried for many many times too... still cannot get!

Until lately my auntie buay soong liao issue ultimatum to get out asap... then he starts kancheong to apply for a woodland/sembawang area housing..

we all know living and nearby working is good. Everyone hopes for it.. but come'on... so easy can get meh? TS go try pls... your fren and another one in this thread got bidadari, so no reason you won't get lucky too.

u dun like that lah...

he is HEADHUNTED and 15% pay increment projected so he is top citizen and priority so he will get what he choose ... he got strong connections and legal background.

kyteo79

Scenario 1
... so on and so forth

Scenario 2

Scenario 3

he pray and will get what he pray hard for de... 1% chance is = to zillions opportunity

Sinkie

If can afford, why not? At most is take max loan then struggle for 5 years and flip for profit then buy resales at woodland

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.