How come Gov never issue POFMA to Sterra?

Darkshadows

Wah next time I buy things gotta ask about end of life, end of support liao.
What's the point in asking the sales person. They purpose is to make you buy their product, not fulfill their promises. They can promise you the sky but end up flip prata nia.

BMWguy

Suspect they dont keep spare parts to keep cost low. Just keep importing latest model and keep selling. I only go for their cheaper models. Spend over 1k for their products that last only 1 year is crazy.

I think they dun even know how to repair .... I dun think they have a "service department'

So if ur item spoilt within warranty period, they just replace with a new one maybe becos the costs is so low that they can just give u a new one.

Say costs is $200, they sell you for $1500. Even if u spoil 3 times in 1 year, they still earn if they send u 3 new units for replacement.

This type of company uses this method is to save costs as they dun have to incur $$$ for a service department , save rental save labour.

So if buy those less famous brand one.. once warranty over, prepare to write off liao

andyhtc

After warranty is over, the customers here are essentially on their own.

tripleme

I think they dun even know how to repair .... I dun think they have a "service department'

So if ur item spoilt within warranty period, they just replace with a new one maybe becos the costs is so low that they can just give u a new one.

Say costs is $200, they sell you for $1500. Even if u spoil 3 times in 1 year, they still earn if they send u 3 new units for replacement.

This type of company uses this method is to save costs as they dun have to incur $$$ for a service department , save rental save labour.

So if buy those less famous brand one.. once warranty over, prepare to write off liao
They have a department to do repairs...just that this particular model is so bad that they repair until scared already and decided to discontinue it...

ahbard

Probably another china oem product that slap on its brand. Saw their massage chair selling for cheap cheap also compared to the usual big brand.

DragonFire

Even Razer products same logic, after warranty expire products discontinued. Have to buy new one. They won’t bother to repair for free
Razer is ownself repair. Bought my own switches to replace the worn out ones.

Atomik

Buy crappy tiong products is stupid enough, but to buy rebranded tiong crap at premium prices is just peak idiocy. Might as well burn real money as kim zua. :bandit:

SGuy1976

Singapore SMEs cannot properly grow due to economies of scale. What usually happens are global trading MNCs brings in 50 or more brands and the ones who achieve critical mass will have the brand owner coming in to setup their own regional HQ for SE Asia.

You need to do a lot of work as a SME owner, negotiate for at least 10 brands with defined obsolescence schedule which all aspiring MNCs will have, have an in house service team to service all the brands and hope that the brand owner will buy off a branch from you if you succeed in growing it.

During early negotiations, if the exit clause is not well defined, the SME gets owned by having the distribution agreement terminated with standard 1-3 years notice and no compensation. The brand owner goes direct and thank you for your services.

Most SMEs are not making much due to lack of proper planning. Air freight instead of ocean freight which is why you can even consider buying direct from Taobao. With lemon laws in place, local importers are choosing replacements instead of repairing. To be cost effective in repairs, you need minimum economies of scale. Standard diploma educated repair technician costs 4k per month when cpf and all other overhead costs are factored in. 200 worth of repairs per day to even be worth the investment.

200 working days at 5 repairs per day of 1k machines per annum, with 20% servicing rate after year 1 translating to minimum 5k machines operational in the field. Charge $300 for simple repairs and you will only hear complaints of expensive repairs. Your repair technicians may however offer unofficial repairs to the customers to earn the arbitrage. So just charge customers $150 transport fee and everyone is happy.

You don’t hear of office water dispensers breaking down even when they are China oem as they have monthly servicing and breakdown contracts in place to pay for the engineering team.

SGuy1976

Buy crappy tiong products is stupid enough, but to buy rebranded tiong crap at premium prices is just peak idiocy. Might as well burn real money as kim zua. :bandit:
Nobody bothers to actually look at the brand. It’s a Korean brand.

hotsnowi

I used this :grin:

np180-main_1000x.png

Worry free :s12:
I using this setup too but brand is Osim, used for 21 years and still using it. Problem free.

Dracky

This is a simple machine. Do a teardown and you will be surprised that any repair uncle can fix it. The sleek exterior and faslhing lights are all gimmicks.

t258jgn

Stupid to buy a $1700 water dispenser with only one year warranty :s22:

hotsnowi

Actually they're a lot of brands out there, all worked the same but just that prices are different.
You are right, this setup, quite a few brands available, their filters also similar.

Some ppl may find this setup no instant hot water function hence not impressive but I don’t think is crucial for me. Each time I need hot drink , I just roughly gauge the portion and heat up water in an instant noodle pot, I’ll get hot water for my hot drink too.
Edit: my thoughts Is , is it really a must to have INSTANT hot water?? 30-40 seconds cannot wait ah? Have 1 million dollar deal every minute ah?

sherica

This Stella and plism is Chao Kuan one lah... all is bulk order from China and slap their brand on it. Then engage in aggressive marketing thru influenzas... daft people only buy cos these influenzas endorsing these products... dun be gong tut tut pls. Just avoid these 2 brands
Some more they always emphasize they are local company and a lot of stupid Singaporean believe it I seen it many times in FB comments. They really think they have factory here and build the appliances in SG what a joke.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.