How do they do it?

behling

As you can see from my rig config. It is 12 years old lol.

I’m looking to build a new rig as an upgrade looking at ryzen 5600 or 7600. but when i look at the pricelist and add up all the parts.
like with a 4060ti, ram, ssd, case, psu. it comes up to 1.2-1.3k with similar parts that aftershock and invader use. im like how do the diy selecting componets even compete with these prebuilts? am i missing smth? or am i just too outdated already.

please advice

NightRaven49

im like how do the diy selecting componets even compete with these prebuilts? am i missing smth?
they generally use cheap parts, on top of being able to enjoy bulk discounts and sometimes sourcing parts not from local distributors. if looking for bang for buck then prebuilt is the way to go, but diy has its own perks like wider selection, better quality parts and ofc the fun of building.

behling

https://www.invaderpc.com/product/specm05/

im looking at this. i went to download bizgram pricelist and added every component that is the same. except for of cos 7500F which is not in the pricelist i replaced with 7600. it came to

Asus TUF Gaming B650M-Plus Wifi ($335) 7600
696​
Asus DUAL-RTX4060Ti-O8G
641​
Thermalright Assassin X 120 Refined SE B.AR..22
22​
kingston
110​
Crucial P3 Plus / Transcend MTE110S
109​
Silverstone ET650-HG V1.2 Essential 650W ..118
118​
coolermaster cmp320
$78​
1774​

even if 7600 is $100 more that brings down the price to 1674 vs 1206 from invader. thats crazy. in fact just the CPU + graphics card is already more expensive then an entire assembled rig lol

Sprezatura

https://www.invaderpc.com/product/specm05/

im looking at this. i went to download bizgram pricelist and added every component that is the same. except for of cos 7500F which is not in the pricelist i replaced with 7600. it came to

Asus TUF Gaming B650M-Plus Wifi ($335) 7600
696​
Asus DUAL-RTX4060Ti-O8G
641​
Thermalright Assassin X 120 Refined SE B.AR..22
22​
kingston
110​
Crucial P3 Plus / Transcend MTE110S
109​
Silverstone ET650-HG V1.2 Essential 650W ..118
118​
coolermaster cmp320
$78​
1774​

even if 7600 is $100 more that brings down the price to 1674 vs 1206 from invader. thats crazy. in fact just the CPU + graphics card is already more expensive then an entire assembled rig lol
shows how crazy the distro and shop markup is :)

kaputzzz

Bizgram prices not exactly the cheapest... dynacore got more competitive prices... but the best prices at SLS is at Tradepac if u know what you are doing.

But if a SI can offer a better price than any SLS shop can, then just go with a SI. Like others said, SI uses cheaper parts and bulk discount so they can offer much more competitive prices, but generally it shouldn't vary too greatly from individual components from SLS. Building a rig is a once in a few years thing so take your time and enjoy the process. You can also get better prices for some components online like RAM and M2 SSD

behling

Bro invader link I post parent company is dynacore leh

and what u mean cheap components.

ASUS board 7500f and ASUS dual 4060ti
650 + 650 leh. Not zotac or gigabyte mobo.

uncle old liao, back when uncle young got costronic phobia from 1997-1999. Uncle no energy deal with things like fight tooth and nail for $5 discount. then call the shop ask if particular item got stock? They tell you “come down I give u best price.” “U ask them have anot? They reply for you I have”
Download their price list check price all I see is “
ASUS 4060———ASK
ASUS 4060ti——-ASK
ASUS 4070———ASK
MSI 4080————ASK”

simi ** price list is this

gawd damn somethings don’t change

86technie

I’m looking to build a new rig as an upgrade looking at ryzen 5600 or 7600. but when i look at the pricelist and add up all the parts.
like with a 4060ti, ram, ssd, case, psu. it comes up to 1.2-1.3k with similar parts that aftershock and invader use. im like how do the diy selecting componets even compete with these prebuilts? am i missing smth? or am i just too outdated already.

please advice

If you have a tight budget, graphic card will easily cost you around $600 - $700.
That don't leave a lot of room for other parts so definetely will cut on cheaper parts.
Shops, builders usually have bundle prices as well as they build using
cheap parts like motherboard to fit the budget.

Since you have tight budget, I rather you go for Acer Nitro prebuild PC instead.
Before some will detest to what I mentioned but for prebuild you got 3 years warranty.
For prebuild PC issue is upgrade path.

uni_user

please advice
IMO, at least for AS , they really bulk order a lot of common parts(less popular models).. that's why they discourage us from upgrading by setting high top up amount. Their ad is always focus on GPU/CPU.. even that.. their choice of GPU(Nvidia) also not the better ones.

kaputzzz

Bro invader link I post parent company is dynacore leh

and what u mean cheap components.

ASUS board 7500f and ASUS dual 4060ti
650 + 650 leh. Not zotac or gigabyte mobo.

uncle old liao, back when uncle young got costronic phobia from 1997-1999. Uncle no energy deal with things like fight tooth and nail for $5 discount. then call the shop ask if particular item got stock? They tell you “come down I give u best price.” “U ask them have anot? They reply for you I have”
Download their price list check price all I see is “
ASUS 4060———ASK
ASUS 4060ti——-ASK
ASUS 4070———ASK
MSI 4080————ASK”

simi ** price list is this

gawd damn somethings don’t change
For your benefit, I took dynacore's price list and help you list the prices of each component

ASUS TUF GAMING B650M-PLUS WIFI + 7600579
Asus Dual RTX4060Ti O8G Twin Fan GDDR6635
Thermalright Assassin X 120 SE Argb Heatsi36
KINGSTON FURY BEAST RGB 5600MHz CL36 AMD EXPO108
Crucial P3 Plus 5000MB/s NVMe Gen4 M.2(5yrs)78
Silverstone ET650-650W V1.4 80+ Bronze65
Cooler Master CMP320 Mesh ARGB TG m-ATX72

Total is $1573. Your invader PC spec list 7500F not listed, so can be assumed it is slightly cheaper than 7600. Maybe about $50 cheaper. Maybe they running out of stock or phasing out already so they dun list such component prices.

From that list, i can see SSD, PSU and Casing are not what you would consider more premium parts. They are entry level components. The mobo is also entry level.

Anyway if you bring this price list to Tradepac, they will be able to quote you a better price on almost all the components listed because they specialise in undercutting other shop prices. Thats why you dont see their price listed. Some parts they can undercut as much as $50 or more. Dont be afraid to ask them to quote a price that is better than something you see elsewhere that is cheaper. If they know you are interested in a component that is cheaper elsewhere, somehow magically they will quote u a lower price. So Tradepac may quote u about $1.35 to $1.4k on all the components in total.

If you feel invader still offers a better deal, then go ahead and take their offer. Afterall, SLS is a very competitive place. They are all trying to undercut each other through various means to get your business.

Also try to quote someone if u are looking for a reply as sometimes ppl dont check back into the thread unless there is a notification.

shadow84

IMO, at least for AS , they really bulk order a lot of common parts(less popular models).. that's why they discourage us from upgrading by setting high top up amount. Their ad is always focus on GPU/CPU.. even that.. their choice of GPU(Nvidia) also not the better ones.
Also, they bulk order from overseas as well. So after their 3 yrs warranty, u wun be able to RMA with local distro for each component.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.