How do you deal with FAKE relatives during CNY

maikumgong

When they ask you about your life, just say same same. Dont share too much of your personal life to superficial people because they are just scouting for people to compare to make themselves feel good.

But first thing first, you should not be in the rat race trying to compete. Drop all the useless lux watches and stuff then you will feel free

エステ好きな野郎

cannot remember liao, last time how I dealt with them...

think I just made small talk, gave excuses etc... basically talk nonsense :s13:

maikumgong

Oh ya redirect the question to them and brush them off.

i embrace cny because it is a time to reconnect with family members, though there will certainly be superficial people who just wanna haolian and have no interest in seeing you better than them.

CHINAUSA

When they ask you about your life, just say same same. Dont share too much of your personal life to superficial people because they are just scouting for people to compare to make themselves feel good.

But first thing first, you should not be in the rat race trying to compete. Drop all the useless lux watches and stuff then you will feel free
Good to hear these genuine tots..! 👍

they are not doing so well if need to borrow money frm others.

人造人16 号

i havent gone to any CNY visits ever since my last grandparent died more than 20 years ago.

Now i doubt i'll even recognise my cousins if i see them on the streets.

The last time i saw them they were just sec sch kids, now I think all married with kids liao.

Emperor_Hippo

CNY meetups with relatives are just dick measuring sessions, don't bother going.
depends.

some relatives insist on dragging their unmarried kids in their 40s along. :s13:

i prefer to disengage with these ppl, but in the epic swayness that i happen to bump into them, then i will just entertain. but dun try and play "one-up" with me.

starrynite138

i havent gone to any CNY visits ever since my last grandparent died more than 20 years ago.

Now i doubt i'll even recognise my cousins if i see them on the streets.

The last time i saw them they were just sec sch kids, now I think all married with kids liao.
That is really long not to meet your relatives over 20 years.
Don't you meet them at wakes?

herzberg

I usually position at a discreet spot to snipe chiobu cousins. If anyone talk to me, I just reply "lost jod, worry with bills" then they auto siam me

人造人16 号

That is really long not to meet your relatives over 20 years.
Don't you meet them at wakes?

I attended an uncle's wake 2 years back

only the older cousins (those older than me) attended.

The younger ones (those I didnt see ever since they're kids) didnt attend

Im actually curious how my youngest cousin looks like now.
She was only 14 when I last saw her, and she was quite chio back then.
Now she's 30+ lao auntie liao, probably dont look pretty anymore LOL

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.