❓ How many here will not and never consider visiting China for vacation? ❓

whiteman27

China history and culture is cool but the communism, nah 😒
So the current democratic US or Europe is good? Maybe can share your insights.
But looking at the political scene in the western now. I rather be in China if I have to choose.
Paying my taxes for all these democratic welfare nonsense, bringing in refugees screwing with locals and displacing local population without consideration of social integration.

Communism and Democracy are just different types of Government.
Only execution matters, not all democracy or communism is the same.

zer0ne

visited China before Covid.

but after Covid , always been going to japan and korea.

reason : If those youtube videos of massive unemployment, bankruptcies and what nots are true, that means there's a lot of desperate people in there.

when there's a lot of poor and desperate people, I don't want to be in that country doing anything as a tourist.
Mostly cashless payment there. Maybe they rob your Rolex and gold necklace if like to haolian. :D

noname2016

for me no issues. I went Yunnan in December and really loved it. only issue is the restrictions on Google/meta and my lack of Chinese

I went Yunnan too and I enjoyed it too. But the toilets were really bad at some of the hiking places. I also bth how people smoke even inside restaurants. But the scenery was really good

s-ghost

ah gui just came back not long ago from guangzhou, nice place in general but people are rude and pushy (cut queues etc)

zoossh

There is close to 200 countries

many places are great to travel to hence naturally some will go to much lower priorities and probably will never visit again

Generally if u minus off those countries that people return due to it being their hometown, then the numbers to the various countries will be telling
- either they are much nearer to sg or
- they are simply better than the other less visited countries

body is always the most honest

icebleue

Been to. So I say I will.
But then my advisory. Bbfa go will lose weight. It’s better than going slimming centre. Go there Jiak street food. Guarantee vomit plus diarrhoea.

lose 3kg for 6 days trip, diarrhoea 8 days very nice.
Hit 95kg for the first time in 20 years.

noobkia

Ok so you have not been to China. I admit the last time I was there was more than 10 years ago and back then I appreciated the straightforwardness of the Chinese people. If you did something to piss someone off they will tell you immediately, no beating around the bush.

What I did notice these 2 years though is many colleagues and relatives going on self guided trips to China. Before they went they were treating it just like any other destination. Change money, make sure alipay works etc. After they came back, every single one of them started planning the next trip to China. There was 1 colleague who had already booked flights to see Sakura in Japan change her flights to later in the year because she wanted to go back to China to see 樱花.

If you ask me what I believe, I believe that what we read in the western media only shows what is not going well in China but intentionally leave out what is good. Oh and if I have to choose I prefer to travel to China and watch my tongue than to travel to the US and constantly look over my back for someone wanting to rob me because I am Asian.
i believe if u know where to go in china, u will be too busy enjoying yourself rather than find the time to gossip abt ccp?
yes, i notice the trend of young people going to china last year and this year and their choice of destination? chengdu/chongqing - but actually sichuan is more than just 2 these 2 cities.

we talk abt freedom of speech, brainwashing, constant surveillance etc, yup there are many cameras on the streets, every 100m i see one. but i feel safe at night because of that. its like sg, everywhere there is camera, if u are just a normal person minding your business, u dont feel what invasion of privacy. if smth bad happen to u, u know the police can find the culprit.

I nver felt quite safe on my trips to europe and US - its v evident that u are being targeted at popular tourist spots and its tiring that you have to be constantly on your guard. their subway at night, its scary...u see a bunch of people at usually the last carriage, in brazil its worse, car windows have to be bullet proof (menacing guys on motorcycles roll up next to you u see the local driver point at the window, wave the finger at them tell them "don try"), the locals don let their kids out of their sight and have to accompany their kids everywhere for eg to their friend's bday party. it is that dangerous. do the normal people in europe/us/south america really have freedom?

carey

I can bet you will hate china for life after this trip. Going in their golden week is a big rookie mistake. Even the locals warn me not to go.
It's in mid May to late May but their Golden Week is in Oct leh :oops:

HMAN

interesting, my first trip is also visit the yellow mountain with a group of hiking friend. Got the same impression as you, i.e it's like a Chinese painting. Very impressive.

Thats why there a Chinese saying which is 黄山归来不看岳. After seeing the Yellow Mountain, the rest of the 5 peaks is dun thing liao.

Anyway, the other place that I am very impressed with the scenery is actually the Gobi desert. Did a 3 days hike before, and on some parts of the hike, it will give a very "journey to the west" feeling.
Yes, this place needs some exercise, I didn't plan luckily we did trail walking quite frequently. Those Stone steps are damaging to our knees .

Should have planned for 3 nights stay to chill out, see 雲海。 I overworked with 2 nights stay running fever+ 8 hours under chilly rain walking.

Nightscapez

find a Sichuan girl to settle down with if you are single!
i really got try find althought they are well known to be fierce ahhaha but i like fierce girl
and sichuan girl i met all quite hot
china girl i met are mostly quite down to earth and understandable no princess attitude, most thing can talk it out.
but most of them dont really want marry far

apple459721

Why not? Better than india..

see youtube they very friendly with black men..😂

campoix

if I visit again, would like to check out Zhangjiajie National Park which was one of the backdrop for Avatar.
China_Zhangjiajie_Wulingyuan_CliffMountains_054_SS.jpg
Went before. It's absolutely gorgeous. The problem is the scenery looks the same after a while so I got bored.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.