How often do you upgrade your GPU?

VoodooKing

When it dies. My 1080Ti can still play all games comfortably at max graphics settings.

Unic0rn

incredible that u manage to use the GPU for so long? is it able to last that long? mine usually lasts 3-4years maximum and after the 3rd year, will be unable to keep up with demand

FroztSpectre

Think i went from Sapphire HD 6670 or something to Zotac GTX 660 (12 Dec 2014) to RX 580 (11 Dec 2018)

Unic0rn

660 is a good card, I used MSI GTX660 before going to Aftershock GTX965M which is a poor performing mobile chip. Then I switched to MSI RTX2080, still quite ok feels like 👍🏼😄 happy!

Think i went from Sapphire HD 6670 or something to Zotac GTX 660 (12 Dec 2014) to RX 580 (11 Dec 2018)

Alexls

For me:
940mx > gtx1060 > downgrade to r9 280x

Currently not planning to replace until navi come out or it spoils because it still can play 60fps medium-ultra setting

Trans-Am

Only when my gpu up lorry

Sent from :bandit:
Stay low Move fast !
Shoot first Die last !
One shot One kill !
No luck Pure skill !!
:s17: using GAGT

Gaminator

I'd replaced my 2x R9 290X (watercooled) with 2x RX VEGA 64 because the 4GB VRAM limit, had to turn down some ingame setting. I had the R9 290X'es since early 2012 or thereabout. Somewhere along the way (maybe a couple of years back), I'd found a pair of GTX Titan 6GB for a reasonable price and used them in my other rig, the extra 2GB vs the R9 290X proved to be useful in some games, I've since sold them off and replaced them with a single RX VEGA 64

Unic0rn

you are truly a gamer and an amd fan at heart ❤️ do u know amd stands for advanced micro devices :) used to be my favorite, now I like micro-star international :)

I'd replaced my 2x R9 290X (watercooled) with 2x RX VEGA 64 because the 4GB VRAM limit, had to turn down some ingame setting. I had the R9 290X'es since early 2012 or thereabout. Somewhere along the way (maybe a couple of years back), I'd found a pair of GTX Titan 6GB for a reasonable price and used them in my other rig, the extra 2GB vs the R9 290X proved to be useful in some games, I've since sold them off and replaced them with a single RX VEGA 64

Gaminator

you are truly a gamer and an amd fan at heart ❤️ do u know amd stands for advanced micro devices :) used to be my favorite, now I like micro-star international :)
Dunno why, I've always had an affinity for AMD, I'd bought the HD 3870X2 and HD6990 in the past, even bought the Phenom II X6 1100T and FX8350 as well. Now I'm a retiree so got more time to game, that's why I'd upgraded the GPU's on all my rigs (three of them, my HTPC rig has a GTX 1080 as well, so not always hardcore red team). Bought an Xbox One X for some console gaming and 4K BR movies.

gld998

Dunno why, I've always had an affinity for AMD, I'd bought the HD 3870X2 and HD6990 in the past, even bought the Phenom II X6 1100T and FX8350 as well. Now I'm a retiree so got more time to game, that's why I'd upgraded the GPU's on all my rigs (three of them, my HTPC rig has a GTX 1080 as well, so not always hardcore red team). Bought an Xbox One X for some console gaming and 4K BR movies.

Lets hope it dont turn out like the previous bulldozer. :(

xonix

When minimum fps drops due to new games or better gpu available for great price that fit my budget.

gtx1070(2016) < gtx970(2015) < gtx960(2015) < r7 260x

Can only remember recent purchases...

RadEoNic

I started from the original Radeon 32mb ddr, then 9800. Also bought 9600 (not sure of model no. but I remember it can be flashed one), the original Radeon was rebadged to become something else to fit in the naming convention. Bought hd 4850, 7850, r280 and now finally waiting for my Vega 64.

转眼间, 18 years pass liao

CrispyPeddler

moi mostly see if the performance at least increase 50% and then see if the price is within reasonable range.

like rtx 2080ti increase 30% performance? but price increase like 90%....so skip it

Gaminator

I started from the original Radeon 32mb ddr, then 9800. Also bought 9600 (not sure of model no. but I remember it can be flashed one), the original Radeon was rebadged to become something else to fit in the naming convention. Bought hd 4850, 7850, r280 and now finally waiting for my Vega 64.

转眼间, 18 years pass liao
My first ATi Radeon was a 9700 Pro, it beat the crap out of the Abit 4200 Ti I had before getting the 9700 Pro. I think I bought a Hercules 9800 Pro after that, monstrous card in their prime. From then on, I'd bought both ATi (AMD) and nVidia cards, but mostly ATi/AMD.

I seem to have bad timing when it comes nVidia, bought a 7950 GX2, then within a month or two, nVidia released the 8800GTX and I felt the pain. Sibeh suay man! But somehow, still managed to end up with CF and SLi rigs thru the years, nothing looks more bada$$ and chio than two cards in a system (thru transparent side panel)

BTW, also had a Palit RTX 2080 Ti, bought thru sheer lack of impulse control, but sold it off and have gone AMD VEGA 64 all the way.....well, almost all the way that is.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.