How to deal with a perfectionist or near perfectionist?

Lchlch

I never tell u to offend. I'm telling u to appease him.

Meaning just be his Yes man and just agree to whatever he says. Then he walks away and just do at own pace.

He kan cheong u don't be affected. U be ice cool. Just ok ok to him and let him walk away and continue do your own.

If next time mistake again how?

Just give "orh orh, ok ok" answers until he sian and walks away, then u continue your own loh.

Key point - just appease him and give empty promises.
Oic...okok will try your method.

Lchlch

When hod pressure him...he started to feel tense n kan cheong spider all comd out n not happy.
Then will say throw letter lah, not working anymore..complain after complain to me and others...

ZETMAN

there's 2 kind

1 expect everyone else to do things to perfection yet they can't attain it

2 do their own work to perfection and expect others to follow suit.

so which kind u wanna deal with

Song Bro

I hv a not so good experience yesterday with such bloody perfectionist....

Really a mad dog indeed.
And don't know what the perfectionist trying to show off.

In fact, such perfectionist gv unnecessary stress. A minor issue can let a perfectionist making it a big hoo haa.
I see your point.

For me is another flavour.
Just had a confrontation with a "perfectionist" - he just want to put others on a pedestal so that he can exert pressure onto them. Because if the victim is being immortalised, a small mistake everyone will laugh and look down upon the person. Its a strategy.

For me is no use one.
You want por my lum parr, I admit I dun have can ler.
I just speak from facts. No facts - no talk.
If ppl think I lousy - I lousy lor.
Once I gather all the information, I can shoot to my hearts content.
In the meantime, I just play dumb.

Lchlch

I see your point.

For me is another flavour.
Just had a confrontation with a "perfectionist" - he just want to put others on a pedestal so that he can exert pressure onto them. Because if the victim is being immortalised, a small mistake everyone will laugh and look down upon the person. Its a strategy.

For me is no use one.
You want por my lum parr, I admit I dun have can ler.
I just speak from facts. No facts - no talk.
If ppl think I lousy - I lousy lor.
Once I gather all the information, I can shoot to my hearts content.
In the meantime, I just play dumb.
That's what I am doing too.
Act blur n keep quiet.
Let him bark....

Lchlch

there's 2 kind

1 expect everyone else to do things to perfection yet they can't attain it

2 do their own work to perfection and expect others to follow suit.

so which kind u wanna deal with
The 2 is the worst.
Not everyone has the same style of work.

enimen

Act blur but smart inside.
Yes! Exactly. . but hor. Sometimes too smart also no good. People indirectly suan siao you from behind, if u smart, u will understand they say u then ownself affected and stress and angry inside...

sAVaGEmP5

I normally dun expect 11/10, but at times 15/10 is good.

Expect 2.4 below 6 min 15 sec lo.

Song Bro

That's what I am doing too.
Act blur n keep quiet.
Let him bark....
Ya, if like that he bay tahan one.
Cos he no avenue to show off how high standard he is.

Additional thing is to gather like minded individuals together.
Not really bad mouth him, but to discuss about the standard he set whether it is logical.
Naturally those oppressed would stand on your side emotionally.
They might not openly express support. But at least they dun fall to his trap.
The more allies the better. Slowly he will find himself isolated.

When the only person in the room yapping is him, he knew his plan failed.
More so, when everyone speaks up against him.
It would take a while, but its what 众叛亲离 looks like.
This works on bosses and colleagues.

Lchlch

Yes! Exactly. . but hor. Sometimes too smart also no good. People indirectly suan siao you from behind, if u smart, u will understand they say u then ownself affected and stress and angry inside...
Yes smart inside us but don't show out.
Act blur....but know your job.
Cos important job I seldom handle cos jan cheong spider jhk lead will do himself. When he on leave, I hv to do it myself...that's the issue.
I dnt know is it whether to see me hit error then whack me

mansae

Learn from your mistakes and aim to be more perfect lor. Nothing wrong with perfectionism

Lchlch

Ya, if like that he bay tahan one.
Cos he no avenue to show off how high standard he is.

Additional thing is to gather like minded individuals together.
Not really bad mouth him, but to discuss about the standard he set whether it is logical.
Naturally those oppressed would stand on your side emotionally.
They might not openly express support. But at least they dun fall to his trap.
The more allies the better. Slowly he will find himself isolated.

When the only person in the room yapping is him, he knew his plan failed.
More so, when everyone speaks up against him.
It would take a while, but its what 众叛亲离 looks like.
This works on bosses and colleagues.
My lead mixed well with department colleagues too. I usually keep it to myself n dnt get head on with him.

enimen

Yes smart inside us but don't show out.
Act blur....but know your job.
Cos important job I seldom handle cos jan cheong spider jhk lead will do himself. When he on leave, I hv to do it myself...that's the issue.
I dnt know is it whether to see me hit error then whack me
If lidat every thing u do he scrutinize, can kee siao one.

My wife has a lady boss in another company. That boss is a indecisive perfectionist.

She keep play roti prata to whatever job my wife do. Really tough for her la. It's similar to your situation

Lchlch

My wife has a lady boss in another company. That boss is a indecisive perfectionist.

She keep play roti prata to whatever job my wife do. Really tough for her la. It's similar to your situation
Yeah also he has a very bad temper.

Lchlch

Yes roti prata when he makes mistakes.

ZETMAN

The 2 is the worst.
Not everyone has the same style of work.
i disagree. the 2nd type that is perfectionist applies the same expectation on themselves towards others. they may be unrealistic but they are at least consistent in their beliefs.

The first type is the more disgusting one applying different yard stick to others when they cant even attain the same standard that they expected of others.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.