How to deal with inconsiderate upstair neighbour?

Kanko San

Possible (not 100%) the noise is from higher than "one-floor-up". In past "below neighbor" opened window scolded "children stomping upstairs" & we were in-between.

Try $1-2 soft foam earplugs (unity/watson/guardn) or buy online 80cents a pair, can reduce some noise.

If it is kids running, to me is a short while.
Once tired, they stop n when grow up, no more running.
But if you got some one 10 years, still creating noise, only way is you hv to create noise too.
If you can beat them, join in the fun.

hmyoth

Think have bah. Some use those hard flooring and heavy furniture. Whenever they sit or stand up will move the furniture abit and the scratching sounds travel. Some walk with very heavy foot and slam the door hard, where at night quiet most obvious. The sound not so direct, maybe not direct unit, but still can hear through the walls.
I always try to make as little noise as possible cos I know how it feels if upstairs is noisy. Actually the timing is important. Day time I don’t really bother as long is not those non stop jumping throwing thing on the floor kind. Sleep time of cos cannot lah if the sound is continuous. A bit of sound I wait up . my upstair new neighbor like to DIY . Can hear drilling on off … then again is not like everyday they are drilling things so i m ok.

shine0204

Actually the timing is important.
U r rite=timing important. A neighbor vacum 7am Sat/Sun=why not vacum later? One play piano 7am Sat/Sun awaken entire block. Property launch disco music to12+am whole street can hear, some calld SPF to shutup the deejay. Dont they kno Pri/Sec students, nurses, ple awake 6am to reach schools/workplaces 730am.

Kanko San

U r rite "timing important". A neighour OFTEN vacum 7+am=why can't iron/laundry 7+am & vacum later. One played loud piano 7+am Sat/Sun awaken entire block. Property developer party disco music til 12am whole street can hear, some called SPF to shutup the deejay.
In Singapore, at least 10,000 can play piano.
In the world, at least 100,000.
Some just want to boast that their children can play loudly in HDB flats.
To them is music, to other is shxt n noise.
Once I met a professional piano teacher, who told me that he taught his pupils to be considerate of other people peace n love of quietness when, they need rest after hard day work (stress).
But as said, that they are axe hole that their children can express loudly their lesson or practice.

Cryptology

My upstairs live a low ses family, presuming the breadwinner is a garang guni of sorts as their home is full of bulky items even crowded to the corridor potentially causing a fire hazard.

With a few kids around primary/lower sec school age, always running around, dragging furniture late at night (always past 11pm onwards) and stay up till 3-5am even on weekdays.

I went up to them several times complaining of their noises, the parents always just nodded to me but then still never control their kids. I had a hard time communicating with them, they seem to have a very bad grasp of simple english.

Who let their kids stay up so late at night every day, don't they have school in the morning?

hmyoth

My upstairs live a low ses family, presuming the breadwinner is a garang guni of sorts as their home is full of bulky items even crowded to the corridor potentially causing a fire hazard.

With a few kids around primary/lower sec school age, always running around, dragging furniture late at night (always past 11pm onwards) and stay up till 3-5am even on weekdays.

I went up to them several times complaining of their noises, the parents always just nodded to me but then still never control their kids. I had a hard time communicating with them, they seem to have a very bad grasp of simple english.

Who let their kids stay up so late at night every day, don't they have school in the morning?
I feel u. Must pray hard they move out or u move out.

hmyoth

U r rite=timing important. A neighbor vacum 7am Sat/Sun=why not vacum later? One play piano 7am Sat/Sun awaken entire block. Property launch disco music to12+am whole street can hear, some calld SPF to shutup the deejay. Dont they kno Pri/Sec students, nurses, ple awake 6am to reach schools/workplaces 730am.
Ya . If upstair neighbor work shift n reach home 11pm kind . Confirm got noise cos they will go bathing. Yes … upstair on the tap bathing I can hear clearly in my room. This one really cannot complain.

Cryptology

I feel u. Must pray hard they move out or u move out.
From starting I gently remind them to gradually angrily confronted them, the parents still act like idiots and seemingly agreed to my demands to tone it down, only to resume the noise levels again.

I have retaliated in ways, one is to take pics and baotoh them on oneservice app for their bulky items at the corridor. Weeks later, their corridor suddenly cleared out.

I have yet to invest in a device that records noise with timestamps that I can use as evidence of their late night nuisances, anyone care to intro?

hmyoth

From starting I gently remind them to gradually angrily confronted them, the parents still act like idiots and seemingly agreed to my demands to tone it down, only to resume the noise levels again.

I have retaliated in ways, one is to take pics and baotoh them on oneservice app for their bulky items at the corridor. Weeks later, their corridor suddenly cleared out.

I have yet to invest in a device that records noise with timestamps that I can use as evidence of their late night nuisances, anyone care to intro?
Can use white noise like on the radio to counter the upstairs noise, or put on earplugs . I used these method to endure my upstair neighbors for many years til they moved out n good luck to his new neighbor one floor below. I hope they take lowest floor cos this type should stay landed or lowest floor HDB.

shine0204

Ya . If upstair neighbor work shift n reach home 11pm kind . Confirm got noise cos they will go bathing. Yes … upstair on the tap bathing I can hear clearly in my room. This one really cannot complain.
If "water sound" without pipe eeee sound, if can tahan, is ok.

If can't tahan pipe "eee" sound, try ask estate office adjust water-pressure (pressure can't too high, can't too low, may nid few visits adjust few times, a bit inconvenient).

888blancgmail

Jlb hdb also must mandate criminal law for all pet birds owners to soundproof their unit n checked and tested n approved by jlb hdb b4 allowing pet birds n evict from hdb for inconsiderate pet owners.

Must also hv the species n sound of the pet birds recorded in hdb system to csi which units.

Hv a pet bird chirpings at 10.30pm till 12am once n also on some days weekly in the whole afternoon.

As I cant spooonfeed jlb hdb the unit w video of noisy pet bird, jlb hdb just replied that he came one day n cant hear any n case close.🤮😡

Few days later happened at night again. ... I didnt bother to record again as pointless w such jlb hdb. Think other neighbours complained too.

This is the problem of jlb hdb, allowing pet birds wo any record of the species n their chirpings etc in their system to check n soundproof n worst dont bother to take action when issues happened. 😡

Cryptology

Can use white noise like on the radio to counter the upstairs noise, or put on earplugs . I used these method to endure my upstair neighbors for many years til they moved out n good luck to his new neighbor one floor below. I hope they take lowest floor cos this type should stay landed or lowest floor HDB.
Consistent level of noise I can get used to it, problem is they often come with sudden hard and loud bang sounds, sounds like they lifted a heavy thing like a fridge and then let it go. Those sounds always jolt me awake when I was sleeping. Can earplugs even help?

Apparatus

Jlb hdb also must mandate criminal law for all pet birds owners to soundproof their unit n checked and tested n approved by jlb hdb b4 allowing pet birds n evict for inconsiderate pet owners.

Must also hv the species n sound of the pet birds recorded in hdb system to csi which units.

Hv a pet bird chirpings at 10.30pm till 12am once n also on some days weekly in the whole afternoon.

As I cant spooonfeed jlb hdb the unit w video of noisy pet bird, jlb hdb just replied that he came one day n cant hear any n case close.🤮😡

Few days later happened at night again. ... I didnt bother to record again as pointless w such jlb hdb. Think other neighbours complained too.

This is the problem of jlb hdb, allowing pet birds wo any record of the species n their chirpings etc in their system to check n soundproof n worst dont bother to take action when issues happened. 😡

Then go and stay landed lor

hmyoth

If "water sound" without pipe eeee sound, if can tahan, is ok.

If can't tahan pipe "eee" sound, try ask estate office adjust water-pressure (pressure can't too high, can't too low, maybe nid few visits adjust few times, a bit inconvenient).
Just that when they on / off the tap ( push up n down ) to shower can hear loud sound n I wake up from my sleep. Cannot be every single noise also go complain. Like that I have to go buy an Island n stay .

hmyoth

Consistent level of noise I can get used to it, problem is they often come with sudden hard and loud bang sounds, sounds like they lifted a heavy thing like a fridge and then let it go. Those sounds always jolt me awake when I was sleeping. Can earplugs even help?
Then I don’t know what to say. Maybe is time look for a new home. But if buyer come to view ur house upstairs pin piang sound confirm deal off … just sharing, my relative sold his house last year. He is surrounded by smoker ( left right n upstair neighbor) n noise from upstairs dragging chair now n then. They smoke at balcony n my relatives must close the window n on air purifier to counter. On the day when buyer come to view his unit , he prayed very hard no smoking no sound for that day n very lucky his prayer is answered n he managed to sell his unit .

Kanko San

I also like you.
My upstairs create daily noise even CNY & CNY Eve cos both are converted.
One ex Malaysia n wife ex Indonesia, refused to talk since day 1 n put up cctv.
When they play piano, I on a CD to calm myself ( after >10 years of noise harassment/nuisance ).
I hope Heaven open ITS Eyes n watch this terror family just cos they are rich n think they owned the whole block.

thekh21

Ur lucky. Father's place neighbour monthly got "ongoing renovations"knocking eat too full.Cant fathom how the relevant author. allowed this or they r zzz

sleepingcat

case still not resolved... got into argument with the fella above... die die deny that the footsteps is from them. every night hard to go to sleep from their footsteps then early morning 06am to 0730am confirm awaken by their loud footsteps which sounds like its done purposely. so what to do in this case? really inconsiderate neighbour. any method to track where the sound is coming from?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.