How to explain to the older gen that the younger gen cannot afford HDB?

hachi

Was talking to a colleague who is much older than me (20yr older) who doesn't understand why with my salary, I have difficulty finding a resale flat to buy. She is genuinely curious and cannot see the light why the younger generation is complaining so much.

She owned a 4rm bto flat, sold it for a handsome profit and bought a 5 rm bto flat as a 2nd timer in AMK which is practically fully paid already. So she's extremely blind to my current housing woes where the newer HDB flats to cover me at least till 99 are all 600+k already. She still finds that her life is on easy mode and don't understand why younger people complain so much.

How do I talk to much people without being offensive?
There are 300k bto, go for those if you cannot afford the current resale, right? 3-4 y wait should be ok.

hachi

It depend on the location and age of flat lah. I will say 500-700k for 10-30 years old in mature estate area. That's why 600k is quite reasonable choice.

But you know how edmwer work, they will just pick the expensive one just to kpkb and hammer gahmen.
Ya new town like Chencharu 300k. No one wanted. JW also sure get. All below 1 for first timer.

ceestudent

Ya new town like Chencharu 300k. No one wanted. JW also sure get. All below 1 for first timer.
Of course bto is much cheaper. But some couple cannot really wait that long. Also don't want to stay with parent.

I also bought resale last time because don't want to wait and pay few years of rental.

Anyway, with TS combine salary 9k, it still can accomodate 600k resale if TS have sufficient OA for the downpayment. I have shown the simplified breakdown in the previous page.

dambio

U can't explain anything to ppl with mentality stuck in d past. N still comparing situation from their time to current.

GundamG

dun talk to boomers. they think world revolves around them only

mohaha

Name an area of bto all younger generation cannot afford leh. You make a claim telling older generation that all hdb are not affordable and this include new btos of course they don't understand as long they read the news they will know the pricing of bto/sbf all around singapore

Eliwood

y3ux5zouc67e1.jpeg

2rm bto before 2020
EMWfPij.png

This actually shows BTO prices have kept pace with an individual's income.

4 room in sub urban around $70k, while median wage for an individual is $680 per month. The price works out to be 8.58 years of income.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sou...zsoNegQIExAQ&usg=AOvVaw2DRWC_jWnDfjFFPXK6qefM

2024:
4 room price is around $550k with grant. This works out to 8.3 years of an individual earning median income of $5500.

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/about-us/new...-Flats-in-February-2025-BTO-and-SBF-Exercises

blackvice

That generation most of the time is the hubby tanked the monthly loan one la, lol what do those woman of that generation know

sunnyisandsingapore

We don't own anyone, let alone the older generations, an explanation to our personal choices.

Just keep the convo short. Don't need to explain. Whatever they want to assume, let them be. Keep your inner peace.

Lchlch

Was talking to a colleague who is much older than me (20yr older) who doesn't understand why with my salary, I have difficulty finding a resale flat to buy. She is genuinely curious and cannot see the light why the younger generation is complaining so much.

She owned a 4rm bto flat, sold it for a handsome profit and bought a 5 rm bto flat as a 2nd timer in AMK which is practically fully paid already. So she's extremely blind to my current housing woes where the newer HDB flats to cover me at least till 99 are all 600+k already. She still finds that her life is on easy mode and don't understand why younger people complain so much.

How do I talk to much people without being offensive?
Just dnt talk to her about your private life.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.