how to plan the future

OngHuatHuat

9r648uq.jpg

OngHuatHuat

Look at the fine print and look at more recent years performance after USA stopped QE and Singapore stopped aggressive fiscal expansion.

T H I N K

Do u know how the fund manager calculate or derive the % return of STI ETF above?

Assumptions in the calculations:

1. U buy at beginning of year and sell at end of year, what is the % return for year 1

2. Add the % return for each year and divide by number of years to get % return of each period

3. Value after accounting for brokerage and dividend reinvested.

So if u want your investment to replicate what they publish, make sure u follow their assumptions when investing?

Think!

akwl88

in before insurance agents "advise'' to all in WL and endowment plans. Sure huat more than index investments :D

miketay90

My personal goal is to collect dividend like nobody else when at 30,aiming at least half the salary at the point of time :s13: then can get into SG property game then collect rental shake leg
I feel it's a bit hard to replicate the returns earned from our parents generation, at least in singapore.

People say property prices always go up... I think much of this growth is contributed by demographics and of course income, which may not be replicated in the long term as population greys.

When I was younger sg population was 3m? Since my parents bought their HDB till now, population almost doubled. Income prob doubled as well. Are we going to see such growths again? Maybe with 6.9m. but I feel 6.9m is like population ponzi. And It's getting crowded enough here.

Sent from Lalaland using GAGT

miketay90

Thanks for this , understood a little . How should I go about buying? I'm not good at this ....
Open a broker account first (some banks like dbs and ocbc also have trading facility) . There are threads in this forum on this.

The rest it's just about finding the right stock quote/symbol and placing the right kind of order (limit order, etc - sound complex but it's easy). The brokers should have some FAQs on the website you help you with this.

Shiny Things

Hi shiny things , u are the expert around here right? My question to you is that if now at 19 YO I have 10k , about 3/4 years away from NS ( to apply for what other people shared about the POSB SAYS plans). Should I throw my whole load into Singapore saving bonds first? Or how do I get into the STI ETF game? Thanks

So you're doing a hell of a lot better than I did - when I was 19 I was basically flat broke and my parents were paying my uni fees (I didn't land my first job until I was about 19-and-a-half). In your shoes I'd open up a POSB Invest-Saver account and get used to investing a small, regular amount each month, or each paycheck if that's how you get paid.

The POSB Invest-Saver lets you buy small amounts of the STI ETF every month, and the costs aren't excessively high. It's a great way to get started.

Beefslice

So you're doing a hell of a lot better than I did - when I was 19 I was basically flat broke and my parents were paying my uni fees (I didn't land my first job until I was about 19-and-a-half). In your shoes I'd open up a POSB Invest-Saver account and get used to investing a small, regular amount each month, or each paycheck if that's how you get paid.

The POSB Invest-Saver lets you buy small amounts of the STI ETF every month, and the costs aren't excessively high. It's a great way to get started.
I meant to say 3 quater year from NS if it matters . Can u share more insights on how the account works?

Beefslice

Open a broker account first (some banks like dbs and ocbc also have trading facility) . There are threads in this forum on this.

The rest it's just about finding the right stock quote/symbol and placing the right kind of order (limit order, etc - sound complex but it's easy). The brokers should have some FAQs on the website you help you with this.

Is there any minimum amount needed?

Beefslice

I feel it's a bit hard to replicate the returns earned from our parents generation, at least in singapore.

People say property prices always go up... I think much of this growth is contributed by demographics and of course income, which may not be replicated in the long term as population greys.

When I was younger sg population was 3m? Since my parents bought their HDB till now, population almost doubled. Income prob doubled as well. Are we going to see such growths again? Maybe with 6.9m. but I feel 6.9m is like population ponzi. And It's getting crowded enough here.

I totally agree with what u said . Personally ,my parents are just well to do do I do understand what u meant . Although their education level is low, they encourage me to try out "business" since young. Just to explain a little , I earned about 5k by for example buying a watch that needs servicing , get it fixed and selling it. Slow process but there is really money to be grabbed there haha

Beefslice

Do u know how the fund manager calculate or derive the % return of STI ETF above?

Assumptions in the calculations:

1. U buy at beginning of year and sell at end of year, what is the % return for year 1

2. Add the % return for each year and divide by number of years to get % return of each period

3. Value after accounting for brokerage and dividend reinvested.

So if u want your investment to replicate what they publish, make sure u follow their assumptions when investing?

Think!
sorry but whats DCA? couldnt find it on the net , thx!

frenchbriefs

nice job planning on ur future bro,u got one hell of a head start now.if u seriously start planning ur finances and saving now u will be filthy rich by the time u 29.shyt im 27 now,wish i took things a bit more seriously earlier.

remember its not about how much u know,its how early u start.starting when ur 20 gives u the highest chance of retiring a millionaire by 35.

Beefslice

nice job planning on ur future bro,u got one hell of a head start now.if u seriously start planning ur finances and saving now u will be filthy rich by the time u 29.shyt im 27 now,wish i took things a bit more seriously earlier.

remember its not about how much u know,its how early u start.starting when ur 20 gives u the highest chance of retiring a millionaire by 35.

figured i have to something with my shitty results :s13::s13: what do u think its the safest way for me to do smth? i can take risk but i certainly do not wan to jump bedok river:(

bxang1986

I would recommend Buy with REITs & hold it until TS ORD. While serving NS collects dividends & reinvest it. Given the low PE & 5-7% dividend yields which are attractive short term.

Beefslice

we cannot predict the future bro

depends on how you view sg economy in the years to come :)

from the speed u reply , i think u are sibei successful :s13: thanks for the help, i will readup before i take the leap of faith

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.