How to solve power issue with PC?

Thyeternalaurora

Yeah I believe that's it, the shop owner said similar things when he came down just now. But how do I fix this? He suggested changing the motherboard to a Z97 one but I think I should engage an electrician on this matter.

lalalalalala

hmm if this is the case most likely your ground not clean. if wanna overhaul have to ask electrician to redo the cables liao.

btw z97 is 2 gen beofre z270

stylechap

probably you could try unplugging all appliances and start only the computer then see if it solves the problem.
It could be just one old/faulty appliance or extension causing it

Soul77

Try this.

Power off the PC for at least 1 minutes from the main power socket plug.
Then, switch on the main socket plug, and immediately within the same second, turn on the PC.

My PSU have strange issue which can be resolved with this approach.

hawthorne

Not sure if its worth trying, try to use a UPS to "clean up" the power surges. An entry level APC UPS dun cost much too

Thyeternalaurora

Okay guys some updates:

I contacted an electrician to check on my power supply at home and every socket have Low voltages(around 110V). He says it should be 220V at least and it can go up to 230V. He recommended me to get an Automatic Voltage Regulator. Can I check where can I get this thing and whether it will actually help?

AC2

Okay guys some updates:

I contacted an electrician to check on my power supply at home and every socket have Low voltages(around 110V). He says it should be 220V at least and it can go up to 230V. He recommended me to get an Automatic Voltage Regulator. Can I check where can I get this thing and whether it will actually help?

Since u already engage the electrician, why dont u ask him where can buy or install that?!!! The electrician is a considered pro in his field of expertise. U dont ask him instead ask here?

chesterqw

Okay guys some updates:

How the heck is your home voltage 110v

Thyeternalaurora

Since u already engage the electrician, why dont u ask him where can buy or install that?!!! The electrician is a considered pro in his field of expertise. U dont ask him instead ask here?

He's not sure where to get it too, he just ask me to try challenger so I'm just trying to see if there's anywhere else I can get it too. I don't wanna buy something and it doesn't work so I'm getting more opinions on this

AC2

I believed you should write to SP services and ask them to send electrician come and check since this is under their purview

stylechap

How about going to your unit voltage meter, usually outside the house and check it out first? Lol

hlots123

my elt quite zero - but won't 240v appliances blow their fuses when on 110v a/c...? so far do u need to change fuses/bulbs often at home?

LoNgMaO

Try at your neighbor side see can power up. Maybe your power kena hijack by someone.

Thyeternalaurora

I just bought a AVR at Sim Lim Square, can't find it in Challenger. Now my computer works properly. I can't find the voltage meter outside my house but the AVR shows the input as 110V so I guess the electrician measured it correctly. Anyway guys, thanks for the input. I'll be writing to HDB and see what they can do about it.

AC2

I just bought a AVR at Sim Lim Square, can't find it in Challenger. Now my computer works properly. I can't find the voltage meter outside my house but the AVR shows the input as 110V so I guess the electrician measured it correctly. Anyway guys, thanks for the input. I'll be writing to HDB and see what they can do about it.

Should be SP Services... HDB don't care about the PWR output

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.