how to watch netflix in Singapore ?

intime0

I've already done the setup....I've been using it for well over a year.

The problem started when I got the new modem from Starhub.

I absolutely cannot get Astrill to help me. I'm about to cancel with them adn find something else. I'll try the bridge suggestion. But I tried that the other night and it didnt work. It just shut down my internet and I had to do a hard reset of my modem.

intime0

Cisco modem LAN -> Belkin WAN -> Belkin LAN -> computer via Ethernet and see if I get internet connectivity.

Couldnt figure that out.

Also, can't get Unotelly DNS to work. I feel like Starhub has done something with this modem to keep us from accessing these services. I would love to hear from someone else who has had problems getting them working once renewing.

asriznet

Also, can't get Unotelly DNS to work. I feel like Starhub has done something with this modem to keep us from accessing these services. I would love to hear from someone else who has had problems getting them working once renewing.

I've used Starhub cable broadband previously and now fiber broadband. Never had any issue with Smart DNS services(PlaymoTV & UnoTelly) or VPN services(UnoVPN and my personal VPN servers).

The internet is working. The whole house internet is working...on the NEW modem/router. I cannot get the Astrill router ot work on anything but my Mac...and then it's pretty spotty. It will work for about 15 minutes and stop working.

NO OTHER COMPUTERS/ipads/phones/apple tv/nothing.

They will not log on to the Astrill network. We get an error message whenever we try.

Based on your response above, it's still unclear what's working and what's not.

Setup the connections as follows(this is the most layman term I can figure out)
1. Starhub coaxial cable point <- Coaxial cable -> Cisco DPC3925 wireless modem
2. Cisco DPC3925 wireless modem(LAN port) <- Ethernet cable -> Belkin router(WAN port)
3. Belkin router(LAN port) <- Ethernet cable -> Computer(LAN port)
4. turn off the wifi on your computer if it's switched on.

- Once you have the above connection setup, see if your computer can access the internet okay.
- If yes but Netflix does not work, that's where I would start troubleshooting the VPN connection.
- You'll need to check your Astrill connections Status in the Belkin router page, the steps indicated in the setup guide Astrill Setup Manual:Getting started with Astrill VPN Router - Astrill Wiki

If this is all too technical for you, it's probably time to hire someone to come to your house to help you with it.

Idefix

hi guys,

I'm trying to get a SmartDNS for Netflix and Hulu to work on a SingTel DSL line. As the pace router from SingTel has it's own restrictions, I connected a ASUS router behind it. PC's and Phones now connect to the Asus router who in return connects to the SingTel Pace router and from there onwards via DSL.

The SmartDNS address is configured in the Asus router and initially access to both Netflix and Hulu worked without a problem.
Over sudden, 1 day later, however it stopped. Reboot of both Pace and Asus did not help. Other pages are fine, Pandora still works but both Netflix and Hulu do not get a response anymore.
On a Android device I get a SSL Error 139, on all other devices simply a connection not possible.

The SmartDNS service still works when configured with a MyRepublic line, leaving me to question whether Singtel is trying to protect their rice bowl and simply filters the requests to Hulu or Netflix to force users to their IPTV service.

I saw similar issues with Starhub in the Starhub user forum and wanted to hear whether there are SingTel users here who can confirm my suspicion and possibly have advice of to get it to work still (aside from a direct VPN).

Thanks !

trento

try connecting Asus router direct. remove pace.

select singtel mio setting on asus.

i use Unotelly DNS. so far so good. their gold package provides vpn as well with minimal cost.

asriznet

hi guys,

I'm trying to get a SmartDNS for Netflix and Hulu to work on a SingTel DSL line. As the pace router from SingTel has it's own restrictions, I connected a ASUS router behind it. PC's and Phones now connect to the Asus router who in return connects to the SingTel Pace router and from there onwards via DSL.

The SmartDNS address is configured in the Asus router and initially access to both Netflix and Hulu worked without a problem.
Over sudden, 1 day later, however it stopped. Reboot of both Pace and Asus did not help. Other pages are fine, Pandora still works but both Netflix and Hulu do not get a response anymore.
On a Android device I get a SSL Error 139, on all other devices simply a connection not possible.

The SmartDNS service still works when configured with a MyRepublic line, leaving me to question whether Singtel is trying to protect their rice bowl and simply filters the requests to Hulu or Netflix to force users to their IPTV service.

I saw similar issues with Starhub in the Starhub user forum and wanted to hear whether there are SingTel users here who can confirm my suspicion and possibly have advice of to get it to work still (aside from a direct VPN).

Thanks !

1. Which SmartDNS service are u using?
2. Unotelly for example requires you to update the IP everytime your Home Network IP changes, since you mentioned it worked ok on MyRepublic, i'm just wondering if you took the step to update network in the SmartDNS admin page to the Singtel's before testing?

Otherwise you should get a message on the admin page to tell you what to do: update network or setup DNS on client device etc...

Just to add: I have no issues with Starhub Cable & Fiber broadband with SmartDNS services like Unotelly & PlaymoTV.

Idefix

Thanks for the reply.
The SmartDNS service is from overplay.

Yes the IP was updated - overplay reroutes you to their webpage if they find your IP address has changed.

Removing pace is unfortunately currently no option (mioTV :( !!)

I will try with Unotelly and see if that works better.

Deimos

hi guys managed to get netflix subscribed and streaming on PC is good
is it possible not to chg the settings of my smart TV to watch netflix because my father still wants to watch starhub china programs ?

very keen to stream netflix 4k on my smart samsung TV , any advice to a noobie ? thanks

PS I will have a US blu player shipped over from US will it help to get netflix to work on my TV >?

aster1

2. Unotelly for example requires you to update the IP everytime your Home Network IP changes

This is normal for such a service. If your IP happens to change then they need to know as it's the only way they can see that you are a paying customer.

On the upside this is cake-easy to do with Unotelly. They give you a special URL just for you and all you need to do is use that link so that your IP updates itself on their end automatically. In fact you don't even need to use a computer and can bookmark the link on your iphone or ipad. One click an your IP is updated...

Of course you don't need to do any of this if your ISP gives you a static IP.

aster1

is it possible not to chg the settings of my smart TV to watch netflix because my father still wants to watch starhub china programs ?

very keen to stream netflix 4k on my smart samsung TV , any advice to a noobie ? thanks

PS I will have a US blu player shipped over from US will it help to get netflix to work on my TV >?

Just get an Apple TV box and use that for Netflix. You won't have to change any other tv settings as everything can be done there.

asriznet

Can explain more on what is Starhub China programs? are these the channels using starhub cable TV box? If yes, you just need to do the following:

The following 2 articles shows how to change the region on Samsung Smart TVs. By default, it would be Singapore region on setup and user will not be able to install Netflix or Hulu Plus apps.

I had to follow the F-Series tutorial to perform the change.
When prompted for zip code, just use any US Zip code then choose "my provider is not listed" on the next Prompt.

https://support.unlocator.com/custo...75-how-to-change-region-on-a-samsung-smart-tv

https://support.unlocator.com/custo...-change-region-on-a-f-series-samsung-smart-tv

Once done, you may set Unotelly DNS onto the Smart TV network setting and install Netflix & Hulu Plus apps from the Smart Hub.

Good luck!

asriznet

Just get an Apple TV box and use that for Netflix. You won't have to change any other tv settings as everything can be done there.

I find it a bit overkill buying a new equipment just for netflix alone and when the smart tv already supports it.

mgsten

I find it a bit overkill buying a new equipment just for netflix alone and when the smart tv already supports it.

think it's easier for subscription payment with apple tv using itunes credits. some find cc a hassle due to geoblock. me may be wrong. but dat's wat me wld do. :o

asriznet

think it's easier for subscription payment with apple tv using itunes credits. some find cc a hassle due to geoblock. me may be wrong. but dat's wat me wld do. :o

The only issue I would have for this is getting the iTunes credit itself, still gotta use the credit card to buy the credits somehow, doesn't really skipped any steps. Once in awhile have to go through the process of topping up the iTunes credits. Furthermore these iTunes Credit resellers are selling them at some kind of profit, meaning ending up paying more than $50 for a $50 iTunes Credit.

Netflix accepted my local Citibank credit card, just had to use a US billing address on signup and once signed up, don't have to worry about the charges as netflix deducts monthly from my credit card.

mgsten

The only issue I would have for this is getting the iTunes credit itself, still gotta use the credit card to buy the credits somehow, doesn't really skipped any steps. Once in awhile have to go through the process of topping up the iTunes credits. Furthermore these iTunes Credit resellers are selling them at some kind of profit, meaning ending up paying more than $50 for a $50 iTunes Credit.

Netflix accepted my local Citibank credit card, just had to use a US billing address on signup and once signed up, don't have to worry about the charges as netflix deducts monthly from my credit card.

not everyone has the same kinda access.

personally for me, me's cheesed off with the various types of geoblock. contents and funds.

asriznet

not everyone has the same kinda access.

personally for me, me's cheesed off with the various types of geoblock. contents and funds.

ah the geoblock when you try to access netflix.com on your computer to sign up?

Actually if u are subscribed to a SmartDNS service like Unotelly(i believe you are since you recommend Apple TV & iTunes Credit), you can set the Smart DNS on your computer and that will bypass that geoblock too.

what do you mean by "contents and funds"?

mgsten

ah the geoblock when you try to access netflix.com on your computer to sign up?

Actually if u are subscribed to a SmartDNS service like Unotelly(i believe you are since you recommend Apple TV & iTunes Credit), you can set the Smart DNS on your computer and that will bypass that geoblock too.

what do you mean by "contents and funds"?

pardon me if me no want to explain all the technicalities. selfish reason. :o

contents - tv shows and movies lah. u.s., u.k., canada, australia, france & germany. wish can have one online venue to get them all. dan we hv mda here. :s22: and different drms and formats from different venues. :s22::s22:

funds - credit cards and paypal restrictions. got money to throw at various venues and they all still don't wanna take. :s13:

asriznet

pardon me if me no want to explain all the technicalities. selfish reason. :o

contents - tv shows and movies lah. u.s., u.k., canada, australia, france & germany. wish can have one online venue to get them all. dan we hv mda here. :s22: and different drms and formats from different venues. :s22::s22:

funds - credit cards and paypal restrictions. got money to throw at various venues and they all still don't wanna take. :s13:

oh yeah lah, i'm very sure all this content providers wants to extend their service internationally but it's the gahmen here that's not allowing cos scared all the big telcos here no business.

till then we gotta find workaround to sign up for these services anyhow. sooner or later they will close in on the loopholes, for now, let's just enjoy it while we still can.

mgsten

oh yeah lah, i'm very sure all this content providers wants to extend their service internationally but it's the gahmen here that's not allowing cos scared all the big telcos here no business.

also if sinkies watch overseas contents, the local film/tv industry can close shop liao. no mda grant. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.