Can Or Not
Maybe she is tired Liao… need some down period….
You want her to work 24 by 7 non stop?I have a family helper for 4 years . Initial role was to look after my nephew and housework. My nephew is 4 years old now and the helper is still here but :
(1) 4 years of tenure ship, we find that she got so comfortable that work standards drop
(2) don’t follow chores list created for her , and while we were flexible still, she sometimes completely missed out certain chores
(3) weekends when there’s outing , she refuses to go . So ended up she stays at home while the rest of the family is out . Don’t think she do anything while staying at home
We trust her . so morning , after sending nephew to school around 9am, she go for her marketing , and she will linger for breakfast and back only around 1030am
Afternoon she gets to nap for 1 hour and then continue the day
My brother is considering of changing her away . But as part of the family member at home , I felt quite conflicted as she indeed is a trustworthy and honest as a person . Just that her work quality is not as good as before
Should change?
Looks like a lot ish the SIL issue leh. Do you think your SIL ish reasonable?Went through 3 rounds of performance review in Jan 2023, June 2024 and Dec 2025. These are the times where my SIL accumulated issues with her are addressed.
The nap was given to her because last time she has to wake up every 2 hours to feed my newphew milk so has been inplaced since 4 years ago
Then Jan 2023 review is for - she didn’t do inventory count . Everytime until no more then say. My SIL prefers to start restocking up on the laundry detergent , cooking sauces etc when it’s about 30% left . So created checklist for her to count . Until now still same , sometimes want to use , then realise no more and no spare
Then June 2024 review is for the cleaning of the house. Everyday she is at home but the house can be quite dusty, toilet not clean . Clothes one week iron once . That kind of things. So review
Then Dec 2025 was when she said my SIL work from home , she doesn’t want to be home. She wants to take off . Because SIL kept nagging at her not doing this / that . Review again
How your boss treats you, you can replicate onto your helper. If you find that she's worth keeping, have a good talk with her.I have a family helper for 4 years . Initial role was to look after my nephew and housework. My nephew is 4 years old now and the helper is still here but :
(1) 4 years of tenure ship, we find that she got so comfortable that work standards drop
(2) don’t follow chores list created for her , and while we were flexible still, she sometimes completely missed out certain chores
(3) weekends when there’s outing , she refuses to go . So ended up she stays at home while the rest of the family is out . Don’t think she do anything while staying at home
We trust her . so morning , after sending nephew to school around 9am, she go for her marketing , and she will linger for breakfast and back only around 1030am
My brother is considering of changing her away . But as part of the family member at home , I felt quite conflicted as she indeed is a trustworthy and honest as a person . Just that her work quality is not as good as before
Should change?
So far 3 reviews . Sit down and discuss kind . Not scold etc . Wanted to find out what happen and seek solution . With all the flexibility , if she can reciprocate with better work - today also won’t come to this stageDo you think talking to her will help? Change also maybe 50/50. Can get better or worse
Looks like she got minimal things to do.Typically the helper wakes up at 730am . Help to make breakfast for newphew only as the adults are either going to work or eat outside with elderly friends . So she only make breakfast for newphew , bath him the send to school then come back after her marketing and breakfast around 11am.
Do housework until 2pm. She go sleep until 3 or sometimes 330pm.
Then do housework and prepare for dinner . No need to fetch newphew as SIL will pick .
Then she washes the dishes everything by 9pm. After that can rest already .
My parents like to go out to walk walk and exercises . I’m usually out at work or yoga class. My brother and his wife also working .
SIL can be quite picky which I agree. But I also noted that those wares already dry , helper also don’t keep and leave it there for 3-4 days
Stains on glass kitchen doors say cannot wipe away. My SIL use soap with water clean off .
My SIL unhappy with the helper , she don’t nag anymore nowadays . She just takeover and do . But then inside she unhappy .
Aiya it is more like the normal housework performance issue. This one ish either warn her first, if not just change.You not paying her salary, your decision is mootI have a family helper for 4 years . Initial role was to look after my nephew and housework. My nephew is 4 years old now and the helper is still here but :
Should change?
Just read this. LoL, it's clear ur SIL and maid doesnt get along.Went through 3 rounds of performance review in Jan 2023, June 2024 and Dec 2025. These are the times where my SIL accumulated issues with her are addressed.
The nap was given to her because last time she has to wake up every 2 hours to feed my newphew milk so has been inplaced since 4 years ago
Then Jan 2023 review is for - she didn’t do inventory count . Everytime until no more then say. My SIL prefers to start restocking up on the laundry detergent , cooking sauces etc when it’s about 30% left . So created checklist for her to count . Until now still same , sometimes want to use , then realise no more and no spare
Then June 2024 review is for the cleaning of the house. Everyday she is at home but the house can be quite dusty, toilet not clean . Clothes one week iron once . That kind of things. So review
Then Dec 2025 was when she said my SIL work from home , she doesn’t want to be home. She wants to take off . Because SIL kept nagging at her not doing this / that . Review again