HTC Legend

aditzz

yes, you can. you can even use it as a wifi to connect to your wireless too.

steps:
1) go to setting
2) go to wireless and networks
3) enable your Mobile networks
4) enable Internet sharing

5) plug in your usb cable
6) drag down the notification bar (top)
7) select Internet sharing
8) Select last option (Internet sharing)
9) Click Done

Wait for your system to connect. If you have your wifi set on your phone, it will use your wifi instead of you data plan.

I am using mac. And it says I need to configure the connection of my Android phone. I need to fill the details on telephone number, username, and password before connecting...Still lost here :S

I tried to follow the instruction at HTC legend website...oso cannot.

ongksj

another option la.

some more legend works this way too, no wifi then use data plan.
no harm sharing more info here right?

kennyboy

another option la.

some more legend works this way too, no wifi then use data plan.
no harm sharing more info here right?
no no...i a bit dun understand ur post....tethering is confirm use phone network connection....what to do with wifi? Can clarify for me?

U know what is tethering right?

kennyboy

OK finally can connect using windows in my mac. thanks guys!
so the instructions work, just that it's Mac that causes the problem?

There are options to have wifi tethering with android, but iirc it requires rooting....wifi tethering should work on Mac just fine.

aditzz

The instruction works for windows. For mac I have to re-configure something. Dunno lah...maybe later I google again.

anyway, the mobile network works for only a short period of time!! T_T. Nvm...i think i'll try again some other time. thanks.

edward_elric

i got my legend about a week ago, and I've been experiencing problems with the video playback... the audio and video are out of sync quite slightly, but it's annoying for me cos i want to watch movies and music vids on it ): anyone got the same problem?

howwww T.T

brightside

where u guys get your accessories? like pouches or anything? for now im using my rudy project microfibre case to keep it.. :/

fabz87

i got my legend about a week ago, and I've been experiencing problems with the video playback... the audio and video are out of sync quite slightly, but it's annoying for me cos i want to watch movies and music vids on it ): anyone got the same problem?

howwww T.T

hey! i've got exactly the same problem..uploaded some converted mp4 vids over and there's a sync problem with the audio n video..how to fix this?

xypher

those using advanced task killer, how many MB of ram remains when you close every app? With APNdroid and ATK only running, i get 120~mb. but it fluctuates. sometimes 110+mb up to 125mb. normal right?

Jayish

those using advanced task killer, how many MB of ram remains when you close every app? With APNdroid and ATK only running, i get 120~mb. but it fluctuates. sometimes 110+mb up to 125mb. normal right?

160mb+ for me

xypher

:( what am i missing out here.. do you have alot of widgets?

managed to get it to 140+mb but some apps/services restart in the background shortly after that.

kenshinz

hey! i've got exactly the same problem..uploaded some converted mp4 vids over and there's a sync problem with the audio n video..how to fix this?

I suspect this is a common problem with the legend, but so far seems like not everyone in this forum has tried watching videos on the legend....

Anyway I've emailed HTC about it, lets see what standard reply they come out with

Kyuuen

I suspect this is a common problem with the legend, but so far seems like not everyone in this forum has tried watching videos on the legend....

Anyway I've emailed HTC about it, lets see what standard reply they come out with

I haven't try putting any video in mine, now I feel like testing it, what format should I use for video?

Slash31

May i know where you all users purchase your HTC Legend screen protector?couldn't find one anywhere unless i have to use the HTC Hero's one.Thanks.

edward_elric

i've actually emailed HTC alr and they asked me to do a hard reset:

"Video/audio Sync Problem I just received my phone out of the box just 5 days ago, and I have been trying to play videos on the default video player, as well as on YouTube. However, the audio and video do not seem to be synchronized and are off very slightly, and is very noticeable when I watch music videos especially. This happens no matter which format I change my video to (all compatible with Legend). I have searched around the Internet and found that users have been reporting the same problem. Is it a problem with individual handsets or with the OS? If so, will HTC be releasing a software fix for this anytime soon? Your response will be greatly appreciated, thank you!"

Response:
"Thank you for contacting HTC.

With regards to your query, if like this, first you can try the hard reset on your hand phone to see if it can help.

Warning!
Your device will be set back to factory default settings. Please ensure any additional installed programs and/or user data have been backed up before a hard reset is performed.

To do the hard reset please kindly follow these steps:

In the home screen press Menu > Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset

It can help you to do the hare reset.

Thank you for your continuous support of our products and services. "

and obviously that failed, so i replied...:

"I did a hard reset but there seems to be no effect on the video/audio sync problem.. Could HTC please address the problem which I believe many users are facing with a software fix soon? Will be greatly appreciated, thank you!"

and finally:

"I am sorry to hear that. If like this would you mind provide me some information so we can feed back this problem to relevant department.

Please kindly in your phone home screen press Menu > Settings > About phone. And in this screen check the Kernel version and Build number.

Then in the Menu > Settings > About phone > Status. Check the phone IMEI number. "

yupp then i'm just waiting now, but doubt they'd do anything. i tried using realplayer converter and seems like it minimizes the sync problem just by a little bit, though not perfect ><

and screen protectors, you have to use the Hero's protector for now cos they haven't had one for Legend. it's extremely similar except that the top part near the speakers are not covered; since you need to be able to hear your friends while on the phone. pretty okay for me

EDIT: ohoh i found this on another forum!

"Thank you for contacting us.

In regards to your issue with the youtube sync, I can help you with that.

HTC has escalate this to the developers to come up witha soluction as soon as possible. We do not have any information yet when this hot fix will be available to be download in our web site. We are investigating if the issue is with the phone or with the rom version from the network and we will post the answer soon in the web site.

I trust that this resolves your query, please do not hesitate to contact us again if required.

Thank you for contacting HTC."

hope they get it out fast i need to watch my anime and snsd vidssss T.T

fabz87

i've actually emailed HTC alr and they asked me to do a hard reset:

"Video/audio Sync Problem I just received my phone out of the box just 5 days ago, and I have been trying to play videos on the default video player, as well as on YouTube. However, the audio and video do not seem to be synchronized and are off very slightly, and is very noticeable when I watch music videos especially. This happens no matter which format I change my video to (all compatible with Legend). I have searched around the Internet and found that users have been reporting the same problem. Is it a problem with individual handsets or with the OS? If so, will HTC be releasing a software fix for this anytime soon? Your response will be greatly appreciated, thank you!"

Response:
"Thank you for contacting HTC.

With regards to your query, if like this, first you can try the hard reset on your hand phone to see if it can help.

Warning!
Your device will be set back to factory default settings. Please ensure any additional installed programs and/or user data have been backed up before a hard reset is performed.

To do the hard reset please kindly follow these steps:

In the home screen press Menu > Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset

It can help you to do the hare reset.

Thank you for your continuous support of our products and services. "

and obviously that failed, so i replied...:

"I did a hard reset but there seems to be no effect on the video/audio sync problem.. Could HTC please address the problem which I believe many users are facing with a software fix soon? Will be greatly appreciated, thank you!"

and finally:

"I am sorry to hear that. If like this would you mind provide me some information so we can feed back this problem to relevant department.

Please kindly in your phone home screen press Menu > Settings > About phone. And in this screen check the Kernel version and Build number.

Then in the Menu > Settings > About phone > Status. Check the phone IMEI number. "

yupp then i'm just waiting now, but doubt they'd do anything. i tried using realplayer converter and seems like it minimizes the sync problem just by a little bit, though not perfect ><

and screen protectors, you have to use the Hero's protector for now cos they haven't had one for Legend. it's extremely similar except that the top part near the speakers are not covered; since you need to be able to hear your friends while on the phone. pretty okay for me

omg..seriously sucks! haha! hope they can give us a solution soon.

OKK77

:( what am i missing out here.. do you have alot of widgets?

managed to get it to 140+mb but some apps/services restart in the background shortly after that.

Don't use Task Killers. :s22:

Slash31

Oh gosh this is my first time using smartphones or htc.how do i view all my files?such as those i bluetooth to my phone one.Thanks.cant seem to find it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.