HTC U11 Plus

JackDulouz

Heng I bought for my parents HTC10 and U11 last year.

Might have bought a U11+ for myself if it had came out before the Pixel 2 XL.

sephunr

Unfortunately, most shops don't have the battery in stock. But it's easy to get it shipped in cheap. I am have asked around, workmanship is about $30.

My Taiwan set just received the Oreo update. This should extend the life by a few more months.

Actually I'm not entirely sure it's a battery issue. I just suspect because I'm really quite poor in taking care of my phone battery with the way I always charge and watch videos at the same time.

I just updated to Oreo as well and calibrated the battery. Phone seems to run smoothly. Shall monitor further.

jyaisu

update on my Mate 10

12 hrs since last charge, 3hrs 12 min SOT, 53% left..

this is with dual SIM standby and BT on to my huawei watch 2..

awesome batt life.. HTC and go rot man.. haha..

wei, how can u come to HTC thread to trash HTC :super:

Anyway now that you had played with the phone, time to get Mate 10 Pro, then can you lend me this phone before you pass it to S? Hee..

coktky

Are we able to buy from Lazada Malaysia and deliver to Singapore?

I think not possible. Yea, you should have friend from Malaysia can help you.
actually I am go back KL almost every week this period. also very tempted to get one from pre-order, it will be delivered on 22-Jan.

xRenol

I think not possible. Yea, you should have friend from Malaysia can help you.
actually I am go back KL almost every week this period. also very tempted to get one from pre-order, it will be delivered on 22-Jan.

The price will be close to $1k right?

phiber

yes, RM3099

U11+ just had a price cut in China by almost $100..

http://m.cnmo.com/news/629343.html

And... it still not out in SG! Shows how important SG is as a market to HTC.

With this level of participation here, I don’t expect stellar after-sales support from them even if I do get their phone..

technolust

Sadly, htc has been like that in Singapore for some time Liao. I still remember the peak days when they had a store in the nex mall in Singapore .....

U11+ just had a price cut in China by almost $100..

http://m.cnmo.com/news/629343.html

And... it still not out in SG! Shows how important SG is as a market to HTC.

With this level of participation here, I don’t expect stellar after-sales support from them even if I do get their phone..

.enorC

If get the u11+ from Malaysia and carry over customs, will I have to pay GST?

Sadly, htc has been like that in Singapore for some time Liao. I still remember the peak days when they had a store in the nex mall in Singapore .....

*sighs heavily* I remember that was the time BEFORE the "open leg flooding" of Made-In-China and Owned-By-China smartphones, Motorola was then still owned by Google, and Thinkpads are then owned by IBM and not Lenovo. Now the "gallery stores" for HTC solo (like the one used to be at Nex) are all across the Causeway, FAR ACROSS, right at the State of Selangor, while the same mall here are now flooded with Huawei, Oppo and Samsung ones. Leaving a not-so-tiny store next to Sim Lim Square as the lone final fort that still sticks out with its huge U11 billboards (other than a "hidden" haunt for SAF/HomeTeam Regulars to purchase smartphones that can be allowed into Millitary Camps' Red Zone)...:sad:

newgs01

I settled for a Silver HK variant bought from a shop in KL for 2899. Shop provides one year warranty.

getsomedonuts

i hope that when this phone gets released, the telcos dont price it ridiculously on their plans. The U11 costs $298 now on Singtel Combo 3, whereas the S8 costs $268, and the G6 $168. The U11's price didn't drop much for a brand that not many people look to anymore, and I think it hurt its sale when you can get more "popular" devices for less

Note that both Samsung S8 and LG's G6 have upcoming devices in the horizon (Galaxy S9 and LG's G7) pretty much assured, hence the triggering of price drops over time, and they're considered "mass market" devices unlike the "niche" field HTC is finding itself into sadly (due to its unfortunate financial positioning), making it in the same group with the likes of Razer Phone; HMG Nokia's 2, 6 and 8; OnePlus 5; Sharp MS1 and Z2; and Google Pixel 2 Series. Not forgetting that when said phone tends to be "exclusive" to a certain or just two out of 3 telcos (HTC's U11 is only available with Singtel and M1 plans, Starhub users need to buy it at full price with a SIM-only plan) pricing tend to be a lot more stubborn than before, especially in a crazy-tough market where here HTC's lack of popularity stems more from circumstance ("open-leg" market) than choice these days. Coupled with the unfortunate scenario nowadays of people attracted to looks and sheeply herds over function, it does not help niche phone makers to sell their devices here in the hope of sizeable sales volume though...

getsomedonuts

Note that both Samsung S8 and LG's G6 have upcoming devices in the horizon (Galaxy S9 and LG's G7) pretty much assured, hence the triggering of price drops over time, and they're considered "mass market" devices unlike the "niche" field HTC is finding itself into sadly (due to its unfortunate financial positioning), making it in the same group with the likes of Razer Phone; HMG Nokia's 2, 6 and 8; OnePlus 5; Sharp MS1 and Z2; and Google Pixel 2 Series. Not forgetting that when said phone tends to be "exclusive" to a certain or just two out of 3 telcos (HTC's U11 is only available with Singtel and M1 plans, Starhub users need to buy it at full price with a SIM-only plan) pricing tend to be a lot more stubborn than before, especially in a crazy-tough market where here HTC's lack of popularity stems more from circumstance ("open-leg" market) than choice these days. Coupled with the unfortunate scenario nowadays of people attracted to looks and sheeply herds over function, it does not help niche phone makers to sell their devices here in the hope of sizeable sales volume though...

I agree that telco exclusivity deals keep prices stubborn; but i think to say that the S8 and G6 prices have fallen because their successors are as good as certain is inaccurate. Prices of phones depreciate as they age due to the turover of the technology. Whether a succssor to the old model is on the line or not does not matter to the pricing imo. Besides, at this stage the G7 is as confirmed as the U12. And LG pretty much is finding itself in the same boat as HTC. Blaming the open market for HTC's current predicament isnt fair; such is the nature of business. Besides, it was the open market that brought HTC to our shores; just as they did Oppo, Huawei. HTC's failure is in that they didn't adapt, just look at the joke of a FB page they run here. Huawei, Oppo, and etc pages are so much more engaging. If like you said, consumers are attracted to looks over function, HTC wouldn't be facing a problem because they make phones as beautiful, if not more beautiful, than Samsung and Apple. But i am not here to discuss about what led to HTC's current predicament. What i was trying to say is that if HTC and the telcos continue to price the phones ridiculously, HTC won't gain much market share again. If the U11+ ends up being priced similarly to the S9, HTC can as good as kiss 98% of sales goodbye. I think what HTC needs to do, and to some extent LG as well, is to start adopting the mindset of a "new entrant". Be more agressive with marketing and pricing, similar to what Oppo and Huawei did when they first entered the market. I mean, dont forget, at one point Huawei was considered "niche" too.

jyaisu

23Q2HEW

Just got my U11+ translucent black over the weekend :)
Hubs bought it back from Taiwan as a surprise gift. It was a bit on the pricey side but he went to 3 different shops before he found a translucent black model, so at this point, price is not a concern anymore.

The phone looks great, the grip is better than U11 and somehow the phone feels faster than my U11. It's not as eye catching as the solar red, but the nfc coil looks so good.

A few gripes about the phone, first the screen has uneven lighting during certain times, normally it looks fine but when the Always on Display comes on in a dark room, the bottom right part of the screen is brighter than the left side. And during certain game startup, the bottom of the screen is brighter than the top. But it's not something I'm bothered with, just something which I noticed.

The other thing I am more concerned about is the way the phone heats up. Even since I've switched from Sony to HTC, I never really have any heating issue, but this phone heats up slightly when I'm playing Tsum Tsum and Pokemon Go. I can understand Pokemon Go, but Tsum Tsum too? It's not hot, just warm, but still it's a bit unsettling. *cross fingers* that a firmware update will resolve this issue.

Loving the phone right now though I'm missing my solar red :s22:

cruzzy

Thanks for sharing your first impression.I read mixed reviews regarding the screen brightness. Under direct sunlight, some said the display looks washed out but others said the screen can be used comfortably. Could you test it with auto brightness vs max brightness under direct sunlight and let us know your thoughts? Thanks.

23Q2HEW

Just got my U11+ translucent black over the weekend :)
Hubs bought it back from Taiwan as a surprise gift. It was a bit on the pricey side but he went to 3 different shops before he found a translucent black model, so at this point, price is not a concern anymore.

The phone looks great, the grip is better than U11 and somehow the phone feels faster than my U11. It's not as eye catching as the solar red, but the nfc coil looks so good.

A few gripes about the phone, first the screen has uneven lighting during certain times, normally it looks fine but when the Always on Display comes on in a dark room, the bottom right part of the screen is brighter than the left side. And during certain game startup, the bottom of the screen is brighter than the top. But it's not something I'm bothered with, just something which I noticed.

The other thing I am more concerned about is the way the phone heats up. Even since I've switched from Sony to HTC, I never really have any heating issue, but this phone heats up slightly when I'm playing Tsum Tsum and Pokemon Go. I can understand Pokemon Go, but Tsum Tsum too? It's not hot, just warm, but still it's a bit unsettling. *cross fingers* that a firmware update will resolve this issue.

Loving the phone right now though I'm missing my solar red :s22:

I agree that telco exclusivity deals keep prices stubborn; but i think to say that the S8 and G6 prices have fallen because their successors are as good as certain is inaccurate.
Well, there are people who are following the developments knew from the outset once the release date (right here) is more or less confirmed is where the price drop will likely start (S9 and S9+ could be released as early as early March in South Korea, with global release following soon after), for LG the "price stubborness" could likely hold for a little while longer for both its flagships given the lack of certainty about their G7 as well as the V40 handsets, both expected to be given the SD845 treatment.
Prices of phones depreciate as they age due to the turover of the technology. Whether a succssor to the old model is on the line or not does not matter to the pricing imo. Besides, at this stage the G7 is as confirmed as the U12. And LG pretty much is finding itself in the same boat as HTC.
With ONE difference (and an extremely crucial one to boot): Financial Position. LG's Mobile Communications Division can actually withstand losses, thanks to its profit-making Premium Home Appliances and TV Divisions patching it up for the losses, HTC sadly only has the Vive Series VR Headset to complement it upon.
Blaming the open market for HTC's current predicament isnt fair; such is the nature of business. Besides, it was the open market that brought HTC to our shores; just as they did Oppo, Huawei. HTC's failure is in that they didn't adapt, just look at the joke of a FB page they run here. Huawei, Oppo, and etc pages are so much more engaging. If like you said, consumers are attracted to looks over function, HTC wouldn't be facing a problem because they make phones as beautiful, if not more beautiful, than Samsung and Apple.
I must admit, HTC Singapore needs a lot of work on its FB Page, if it can hire competent staff to manage it, which seems quite a huge ask for now given that the technical support location has to be shared with Xiaomi which is a pale shadow if its former glory right here, and goes some way in the adjustment of direction towards higher-end and higher-priced designs to turn around the financial bleeding that has blighted it by perceived mis-management, not helping was the refusal to (rightly) make its devices in Mainland China (HTC's sole manufacturing facility for the entirety of Greater Asia is in Taoyuan City, Taiwan, which joins the likes of LG and Sony to have close to ZERO Mada-in-China parts). Even business sense will tell you that bottom-line stability is still required for all parts to function properly, hence the Google Cash Infusion, and also as "gratitude" for giving hardware backing to Google Android Projects (like the Nexus Series).
And guess what, HTC can find itself a similar-predicament friend in Sony's Xperia Line of we-love-our-bezels smartphones (a magnet of bezel-hating brickbats everywhere, even outside Singapore it seems as well), which are marketed as more of a "portable camera with smartphone functions" than "smartphone with camera functions".
But i am not here to discuss about what led to HTC's current predicament. What i was trying to say is that if HTC and the telcos continue to price the phones ridiculously, HTC won't gain much market share again. If the U11+ ends up being priced similarly to the S9, HTC can as good as kiss 98% of sales goodbye. I think what HTC needs to do, and to some extent LG as well, is to start adopting the mindset of a "new entrant". Be more agressive with marketing and pricing, similar to what Oppo and Huawei did when they first entered the market.
Hmm... didn't I forget to tell you that the U11 Launch Price in Singapore (SGD998), was actually cheaper than the launch price of the same U11 across the Causeway (RM3,099), taking into account Currency Exchange between the Malaysian Ringgit and Singapore Dollar, which was higher at that time which meant that Malaysian U11 will sell at nearly SGD1.1k actually...
I mean, dont forget, at one point Huawei was considered "niche" too.
With a HUGE difference, Huawei and ZTE both have the backing of both political as well as geographical backyards, with the Achilles Heel of not being members of Google's PAX Agreement (that protects makers' IP from aggressive troll lawsuits), except when the IP Protection Regime isn't that "enforce-ably towards international standards" like ours which distinguishes between an "open market" and an "open-leg market" sadly. Another difference is that Huawei already had market share right here of a different kind way before their smartphones: Networking Equipment like USB LTE Modems and portable routers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.