Huangshan

touchme

2nd time there,...this time balls shrink twice...

l2CyL.jpg

EmDbR.jpg

Advice: From/Back to shanghai, take the overnight 12-hr sleeper train, Not coach.
Coach 6-7 hours non-stop, no eat, only 2 x 5 mins pee stops...skip lunch, hop on and suffer. Drivers and chinese passengers not human.

touchme

see spiralling stairwells all the way down and vertical ladder like climb up at the opposite side? (highlighted red) Round trip 12 hrs hike.
westseagorges.jpg

picture with person, is only halfway down to valley bottom.

alexljy

I will be going to Huangshan in December, but from Hangzhou instead of Shanghai.

Did you stay on the mountaintop? How's the hiking ah? I think max I can tahan about say 3-4hours. Can see much with that kind of stamina?

Hisashiburi

In dec, it would be very cold wouldn't it?
Winter and mountain top too...
At least it would not be crowded.
Huangshan in summer time is a madhouse.
The crowds there are as bad as mrt peak hour crowds.

Be prepared for lots, I mean, Lots of climbing up and down stairs.

Hisashiburi

Should stay at least one night on the mountain top so u could see the sunrise, sunset and sea of clouds.
Beautiful.

touchme

At least 2 nite stay up. .The new west sea opening, will take you the whole day 10 hrs leisure pace , chop peaceful, tourists groups won't hv time to go there. Gorgeous and thrilling.
As long as you continue walking, won't feel cold.
This time I went autumn, i find winter view nicest the last time I went. .

touchme

I will be going to Huangshan in December, but from Hangzhou instead of Shanghai.

Did you stay on the mountaintop? How's the hiking ah? I think max I can tahan about say 3-4hours. Can see much with that kind of stamina?
Just be sure to eat before coach. Don't be conned by ppl to tour foothills for a day. .Head straight for cablecar. via ecobus after coach. .
3-4 hrs is the time you hike from cable car to nearest hotel.
Go up from chiguange closer, steeper but faster and nicer.
Hike with a sense if keeping fit and for the views, then you will enjoy, else can be suffering.

Stayed up there 2nites, s$340/nite..locals get half px. cable cars closes at 4pm.

winter view is nicest with less vegetation.

Hisashiburi

While u r in the area, u can go see the bamboo forests made famous in Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon.
I think it is also in Anhui province.

If u are into tea, the region is famous for their local tea.
Several varieties including maofeng and houkui.

Huangshan, though not that high up, is very beautiful.
Looks like those scenes from Chinese paintings.

touchme

While u r in the area, u can go see the bamboo forests made famous in Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon.
I think it is also in Anhui province.

If u are into tea, the region is famous for their local tea.
Several varieties including maofeng and houkui.

Huangshan, though not that high up, is very beautiful.
Looks like those scenes from Chinese paintings.
acty i find the crouching tiger thingy not impressive. Felt it's a con by foothill community the last time we went there, esp when they charged exorbitantly for the day tour, and bought us to some village, eat junk porridge lunch for high price, then left us at the 2hr waterfall (also not impressive) hike without guidance, and the usual scam tea/souvenir shopping.

i skipped that this time. The whole community downhill will continue to frighten you with stories/costs/disadvantages of staying uphill.

alexljy

Ok, I booked one night up on the mountain le, 2nd night, I ll play by ear, reach there than see how, quite expensive, 1 night in Paiyunlou - 140 sgd, and the hotel dont look very good.

touchme

Ok, I booked one night up on the mountain le, 2nd night, I ll play by ear, reach there than see how, quite expensive, 1 night in Paiyunlou - 140 sgd, and the hotel dont look very good.
oh ya, there are more budget rooms, $140 2-3 stars room good enough, more worth. paiyumlou nearest from chiguange cable car.
ideally 1 day for west sea, 1 day for east sea, unless you wanna hike downhill at night.

johnsonheng

i stay at guangming ding.

from baihai i walk to guangming ding.

more than than my infantry days.
walk to have to sit down to rest.
2 ups straight upslope

touchme

i stay at guangming ding.

from baihai i walk to guangming ding.

more than than my infantry days.
walk to have to sit down to rest.
2 ups straight upslope

great, you won yrself this:
IMG_20121106_122959.jpg

IMG_20121106_122946.jpg

btw, the old yuping cable car stn to the east sea, has been demolished last year, and moved further east (most maps dun reflect, and using same name).
Kena sabo, walk more than 5 his with luggage to baiyun hotel.

touchme

for those hikers,no point try to save on the exorbitant food there, carrying your biscuits and Maggi mee up. Thou at rmb55 caipung (1 peanuts, 1vege, 1egg, 1 meat, canteen style),
IMG-20121106-WA0000.jpg

(chicken drumstick sap first)

you need the nourishment for the days climbs. Tsingtao 500ml beer still reasonable, rmb15, good after a hard days climb.

touchme

Really from beihai to GuangMing Ding, sibei tough

ya, that part shiong, test of determination and stamina.
picsay-1352190380.jpg

peihai onlower height, visually about 500m vertical height difference to bright hill. (pic acty from sihai)

view of peihai from the protruding rock, last few hundred meters to bright hill.

PANO_20121024_155948.jpg

sad that the plank cliff walk was closed when there this time.

johnsonheng

ya, that part shiong, test of determination and stamina.
picsay-1352190380.jpg

peihai onlower height, visually about 500m vertical height difference to bright hill. (pic acty from sihai)

view of peihai from the protruding rock, last few hundred meters to bright hill.

PANO_20121024_155948.jpg

sad that the plank cliff walk was closed when there this time.
i wait till i lie flat on the grass patch.

when i reach them around i got less than 1 hr till sun set.
sibei rush. and it quite cold on top
that time i went it around zero degree. got ice on top.

touchme

winter view bestest.

pity internet dun have Huangshan topolographic map with trekking routes..google earth terrain map also can't see hike routes.

hard to make out climbs from 2d maps.
go sihai walk whole day next time, exciting precarious experience.

johnsonheng

never want to go again, the nightmare of walking beihai to guangmingding.....

touchme

never want to go again, the nightmare of walking beihai to guangmingding.....
typical city guy..guess it's only for nature and fitness lovers.

EDIT: not canteen style,cookhouse style, S$11
IMG-20121106-WA0000.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.